Sign In

History of the Oregon House


 Members taking the oath of office, House Chamber 1895

 Photo courtesy of the Oregon State Library

20080011120 Interior of House Chamber pre 1920.jpg 

Members on the floor of the House Chamber circa 1920.

Photo courtesy of the Oregon State Library


                  House Chamber circa 1947

20080011120 Interior of House Chamber pre 1920.jpg

      House Chamber in the old Capitol pre-1920

            Photo courtesy of the Oregon State Library 


             Historical Mural in the House Chamber 



                 History of the names over the House Chamber 




The Chief Clerks
of the House

 W. F. Drager, Chief Clerk 1905-1943.jpg

   W.F. Drager, the longest serving Chief Clerk


Last NameFirst NameYear(s)Title
HuberN.H.1846Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
CookeCalvin W.1847Chief Clerk-H (Provisional)
T'VaultWilliam G.1848Chief Clerk-H (Provisional)
T'VaultWilliam G.1849Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
SavageG.W.1850SSChief Clerk-H (Territorial)
BushAsahel1850,  1851Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
HardingBenjamin F.1851Chief Clerk-H
WhiteRichard J.1851,   1852Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
McCrakenJohn1853Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
GenoisB.1854Council-Chief Clerk
BealeThomas W.1855Council-Chief Clerk
GreggJ.T.1855ssChief Clerk-H
DadeD.C.1856Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
HandCharles1857Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
PyleJames M.1858Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
TerryChester1858,  1859Chief Clerk-H (Territorial)
PattonT.M.1860Chief Clerk-H
PyleJames M.1864, 1865, 1866Chief Clerk-H (State)
PattonT.M.1866Chief Clerk-H
HowlettL.S.1885Chief Clerk-H
JenningsA.C.1887Chief Clerk-H
GreggJ.T.1889Chief Clerk-H
HaysR.R.1891Chief Clerk-H
ShermanD.1893Chief Clerk-H
MoodyR.E.1895Chief Clerk-H
JenningsA.C.1899, 1901, 1903Chief Clerk-H
ThompsonW. Lair1905, 1907Chief Clerk-H
DragerW.F.1909, 1911, 1913, 1915, 1917, 1919, 1921, 1923, 1925, 1929, 1931, 1933, 1935, 1937, 1939, 1941, 1943Chief Clerk-H
BuffClaribel1945, 1947, 1949, 1951, 1953Chief Clerk-H
Bynon LowEdith1955, 1957Chief Clerk-H
RenfroRuth1959Chief Clerk-H
RobertsFrank L.1961Chief Clerk-H
EdwardsCecil L.1963Chief Clerk-H
HuntWinton1965, 1967, 1969, 1971Chief Clerk-H
MohrFred J.1973Chief Clerk-H
HuntWinton1975, 1977, 1979, 1981Chief Clerk-H
AikenAnn1983Chief Clerk-H

1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999,

2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013,

Chief Clerk-H





Chief Clerk-H