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Background Brief on… 
 

Sex Offenders 
      

Prepared by:  Bill Taylor 
         
Background 
Twenty-eight percent of the inmates incarcerated by Oregon’s 
Department of Corrections (DOC) and Oregon Youth 
Authority (OYA) are imprisoned for rape, sodomy, or sexual 
abuse.  As of December 1, 2003, the DOC supervised 1,760 
people who were out of custody on parole or post-prison 
supervision who had been in prison for rape, sodomy, or sexual 
abuse.  Sex offender laws are aimed at protecting the 
community from this segment of the population. 
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Sex Offenses 
The following is a list of the crimes defined as “sex crimes” in 
Oregon: 

• Rape in any degree 
• Sodomy in any degree 
• Unlawful sexual penetration in any degree 
• Sexual abuse in any degree 
• Incest with a child victim 
• Using a child in a display of sexually explicit 

conduct 
• Encouraging child sexual abuse in any degree 
• Transporting child pornography into the state 
• Paying for viewing a child’s sexually explicit 

conduct 
• Compelling prostitution 
• Promoting prostitution 
• Kidnapping I, if the victim was under 18 years of 

age 
• Kidnapping II, if the victim was under 18 years of 

age, except by a parent or person found to be within 
the jurisdiction of the juvenile court 

• Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor 
• Sexual misconduct, if the offender is at least 18 

years of age 
• Any attempt to commit the above crimes 
• Burglary when committed with intent to commit 

any of these sex crimes 
• Public indecency if person has a prior felony sex 

crime conviction 
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Sex Offender Registration 
Oregon law requires sex offender registration for life for 
persons who are: 
• Convicted in Oregon of one of the offenses listed 

above 
• Found guilty, except for insanity, of one of the 

offenses listed above 
• Found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile 

court for having committed an act that, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a sex crime 

• Paroled to or otherwise placed in this state after 
having been convicted of a sex crime or adjudicated 
in juvenile court for an act that if committed in this 
state would constitute a sex crime. 

 
Relief from Registration 
Juvenile sex offenders adjudicated prior to January 1, 
2002 and adult sex offenders may petition for relief 
from registration no earlier than ten years after the end 
of their supervision on probation, conditional release, 
parole, or post-prison supervision by filing a petition in 
the circuit court in the county in which they reside.  The 
person can have only one conviction or juvenile court 
finding of a sex crime, must not have been designated 
predatory, and the sex crime must have been a Class C 
felony or a misdemeanor.  Juveniles adjudicated on or 
after January 1, 2002 must file for relief to the juvenile 
court in which they were adjudicated no later than 90 
days after termination of juvenile court jurisdiction.  
Burden of proof in these cases lies with the state. 
 
Predatory Sex Offenders and Notification 
An agency can determine an offender to be predatory if 
the offender exhibits characteristics showing a tendency 
to victimize or injure others and has been convicted of 
Rape, Sodomy, Sexual Penetration or Sexual Abuse in 
any degree or any attempts to commit those crimes. A 
risk assessment scale approved by the DOC must be 
used for determining whether an individual is to be 
classified as a predatory sex offender.  Once an offender 
is designated as predatory, the supervising agency may 
notify anyone the agency deems appropriate that the 
offender is a predatory sex offender. 
 

For offenders not under supervision, law enforcement 
may conduct community notification if the offender 
was: 
• Designated as predatory, and notification was 

conducted while under supervision; and 
• The offender was under a high level of supervision, 

just prior to termination of supervision; or 
• A police agency determines the person is a 

predatory sex offender and the person was not 
designated predatory because he or she was not 
under supervision in Oregon or for any other reason 

 
Public Release of Sex Offender Information 
The Oregon State Police (OSP) operate a sex offender 
information telephone line, 503-378-3720 x4429, 
through which the public can obtain information about 
specific offenders, or information on offenders who live 
within a given area.  For offenders who are on 
supervision for their sex crimes, the OSP refers the 
caller to the supervising agency for information about 
the offender.  A law enforcement agency may release 
any information necessary to protect the public from 
offenders who are not on supervision; victim 
information will not be released. 
 
Recent Legislation 
HB 2756 (2003) modified the sex offender registration 
requirements for individuals whose requirement to report 
is based on a juvenile court adjudication.  The bill allows 
a person to file a petition for relief from reporting as a 
sex offender two years after the end of the juvenile 
court’s jurisdiction over the person, but not later than five 
years after termination of jurisdiction.  If a person files 
no later than three years after the end of the juvenile 
court’s jurisdiction, the state has the burden of proving 
that the person is not rehabilitated and continues to pose a 
threat; if the person files more than 3 years after 
termination, then the person bears the burden of proof.     
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