
States have issued driver licenses since Massachusetts and Missouri 
became the first states to do so in the early 1900s. States have 
historically determined the qualifications necessary to possess a non-
commercial driver license, such as minimum age, knowledge of 
traffic safety laws, and physical requirements. 
 
There are roughly 196 million persons licensed to operate vehicles in 
the United States, of which about 2.6 million are licensed to operate 
vehicles in Oregon. The state agency responsible for licensing drivers 
in Oregon is the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) 
of the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT). The DMV 
serves approximately 13,000 customers daily through 64 local offices 
and 3 dealer processing centers and answers 1.7 million customer 
phone calls annually. About 150,000 new driver licenses are issued 
annually in Oregon, with an additional 550,000 licenses renewed each 
year. 
 
The DMV securely maintains driver and vehicle records, most of 
which are considered public records. However, personal information 
is not disclosed upon a public information request. Most requesters 
are provided with records that have been “sanitized” of any personal 
information other than their own, with exceptions for attorneys, 
legitimate businesses, insurance companies, police, and other 
government agencies. The DMV responds to more than three million 
records requests annually. 
 
Getting a License 
Like most other states, Oregon has a graduated licensing system that 
allows younger drivers to progress through a series of two or more 
restricted permits or licenses to gain experience before qualifying for 
a full license. Oregon’s graduated licensing system was initiated in 
1989. Non-Commercial Class C driver licenses allow the holder to 
operate most vehicles, except for those requiring a commercial driver 
license (see below). Some vehicles, such as motorcycles and certain 
types of farm equipment, require a Class C license and an additional 
endorsement that can require passing additional tests (i.e., for 
motorcycles and mopeds) or entail restrictions on vehicle use (i.e., 
farm vehicles). 
 
The first level of license in Oregon is the Class C instruction permit 
that allows a driver who is at least 15 years old to operate vehicles, 
but with certain restrictions, most notably that the driver must be 
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 accompanied by driver who has held a valid 
license for at least 3 years and who is at least 21 
years old. The purpose of the instruction permit 
is to allow learning drivers to gain experience 
under the direct observation of an experienced 
driver. To qualify, applicants must pass a written 
examination. Instruction permits are valid for 24 
months after they are issued and may not be 
recognized in all other states. 
 
The second level of license in Oregon is the 
Class C provisional license that applies to drivers 
ages 16 and 17. To qualify, the individual must 
have held an instructional permit (from Oregon, 
another state, or the District of Columbia) for at 
least 6 months before applying; certify that they 
have had at least 50 hours of supervised driving 
experience; and either complete a traffic safety 
course that meets ODOT specifications or certify 
that they have a total of 100 supervised hours of 
driving.  
 
Drivers holding a provisional license are subject 
to certain restrictions, except when driving with 
an instructor as part of traffic safety education or 
with a parent or stepparent: 
 
• For the first 6 months – driver may not carry 

any passengers under 20 years of age who 
are not immediate family members 

• For the second 6 months – driver may not 
carry more than 3 passengers under 20 years 
of age who are not immediate family 
members 

• For the first year – driver may not drive 
between midnight and 5:00 AM, except 
between home and work, between home and 
a school event for which no other 
transportation is available, for employment 
purposes, or if driving with a licensed 
passenger who is at least 25 years of age 

 
Upon reaching 18 years of age, individuals may 
qualify for a standard Class C license. This 
license allows the bearer to operate cars and 
vehicles under 26,000 pounds, recreational 
vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and to tow 
other vehicles and trailers with certain weight 
restrictions. 

In order to successfully obtain a license, 
applicants must complete an application process 
that includes furnishing proof of age, identity, 
and Oregon residence address; providing a Social 
Security number (see below); successful 
completion of required knowledge, driving, and 
vision tests; and payment of applicable fees. 
Licenses are valid for a period of eight years. 
 
Fees for Class C non-commercial driver licenses 
are as follows:  
 
• Regular Class C license  $54.50 
• Instruction permit   $18 
 
The following endorsement fees apply in 
addition to the standard fee: 
 
• Motorcycle   $74 
• Farm   $26 
 
Commercial Driver Licenses 
A commercial driver license (CDL) is generally 
required to operate vehicles with a gross weight 
over 26,000 pounds, vehicles that transport 16 or 
more passengers (including the driver), or 
vehicles used to transport hazardous materials. 
Exceptions exist for personal-use recreational 
vehicles, certain farm vehicles (where the driver 
is operating within the limitations of a farm 
endorsement), and emergency vehicles operated 
by firefighters or emergency service workers. 
Only persons 18 and older may qualify for a 
CDL. Applicants must meet all of the 
qualifications for a standard driver license, as 
well as pass the CDL written knowledge and 
CDL driving tests (these tests are offered only in 
English). 
 
There are three different classes of commercial 
driver licenses:   
 
• Class A CDL:  allows the driver to operate 

any vehicle that tows trailers or other 
vehicles over 10,000 pounds, or any Class B 
or C vehicle 

• Class B CDL:  allows operation of single 
vehicles over 26,000 pounds towing trailers 
or vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less, or any 
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 Class C vehicle 
• Class C CDL:  allows operation of vehicles 

less than 26,000 pounds designed to carry 16 
or more passengers, those carrying 15 or 
fewer people including children to school, or 
vehicles carrying hazardous materials 

 
In addition to these classes, additional 
endorsements are required for hazardous 
materials, passengers, school buses, double/triple 
trailers, tankers, or vehicles equipped with air 
brakes. Each endorsement has written and/or 
driving tests. Some endorsements, such as 
operating a vehicle carrying hazardous materials 
and operating a school bus, require background 
checks.  
 
Commercial licenses were first regulated by the 
federal government following passage of the 
Commercial Motor Safety Act of 1986. The Act 
retained state issuance of commercial licenses, 
but set minimum licensing standards that states 
must meet when licensing drivers. States may 
exceed the minimum standards. In addition to 
state licensing requirements, the federal CDL 
program places requirements on drivers and their 
employers.  
 
The fee for a CDL is $70 for individuals who 
possess a valid non-commercial Oregon driver 
license, or $124.50 for drivers who are not 
otherwise licensed in Oregon. In both cases, 
CDLs are issued for a period of eight years. 
 
Suspension and Revocation 
Driver licenses and permits may be suspended or 
revoked by a court. In cases where an individual 
fails to appear in court or pay a fine for a traffic 
violation that occurred in Oregon or Washington, 
the court may suspend the driving privilege. In 
such cases, driving privileges are suspended until 
the DMV receives proof that the case has been 
cleared by the court or after ten years have 
elapsed, whichever comes first. The court also 
has the authority to suspend a driver license for 
failure to pay child support or to comply with a 
subpoena related to a child support or paternity 
proceeding. Failure to file a written accident 
report in cases where the accident resulted in 

injury, death, or property damage above $1,000 
can also result in suspension. A license can also 
be suspended under Oregon’s implied consent 
law for driving under the influence of intoxicants 
(DUII) or for failing to comply with a law 
enforcement officer who requests the driver take 
a breath, blood, or urine test for intoxicants. In 
such cases, the officer confiscates the driver 
license and issues a 30-day temporary permit; 
following expiration of the permit the suspension 
takes effect. The fee for reinstatement of a 
suspended license is $75. Individuals whose 
licenses have been suspended may also, in some 
cases, apply for hardship permits to allow them 
to drive to and from work, to seek medical 
treatment, or to participate in an alcohol 
rehabilitation program. 
 
Approximately 251,000 Oregon drivers had their 
licenses suspended or revoked in 2006. Some 
drivers may be unaware that their license has 
been suspended while continuing to operate their 
vehicle. The DMV is required to notify drivers 
by certified mail that their license has been 
suspended. 
 
At the other end of the spectrum, some 
individuals have been issued more than 20 
citations for driving while suspended, yet 
continue to drive and refuse to pay the required 
fines. According to the American Automobile 
Association (AAA), an estimated 66 percent of 
suspended drivers nationwide continue to drive 
without a valid license. A previous program, in 
operation from 1989-1993, allowed officers who 
stopped a driver operating a vehicle without a 
valid license to affix a ”zebra sticker” to the 
vehicle’s license plate over the registration 
sticker. A vehicle with an affixed zebra sticker 
could be stopped for any reason to determine 
whether the vehicle was being operated by a 
licensed driver.  
 
A number of proposals have been introduced 
recently to attempt to deal with the issue of 
problem drivers who continue to drive while 
their licenses are suspended. Some other states 
have such laws in effect. Examples include 
giving judges more flexibility in imposing fines, 
instituting escalating fines for repeat offenders, 
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 seizing license plates, and requiring new car 
owners to have a valid license prior to the vehicle 
purchase.   
 
Medical Reporting 
In 2001, the Legislative Assembly passed House 
Bill 3071 that was the product of a committee 
formed to study the effects of aging on driving 
ability. The Older Driver Advisory Committee 
developed a set of recommendations that 
reflected the belief that neither age alone nor the 
presence of various medical conditions can be 
used to determine the risk of being involved in a 
crash. Physicians and health care providers 
worked with the DMV to identify cognitive and 
functional impairments likely to affect a person’s 
ability to safely operate a vehicle and to 
designate physicians and health care providers 
that would be responsible for reporting such 
impairments. Examples of functional 
impairments that must be reported include vision, 
peripheral sensation, strength, flexibility, and 
motor planning and coordination. Cognitive 
impairments include attention, judgment and 
problem solving, reaction time, memory, and loss 
of consciousness or control. 
 
The medical reporting program created by House 
Bill 3071 was fully implemented in June 2004. 
There are four primary components: 
 
• Physicians and health care providers are 

required to notify the DMV of “severe and 
uncontrollable” conditions that they identify 
in their patients (medical information 
submitted is confidential) 

• Citizens may voluntarily report other people 
to the DMV 

• Individuals may voluntarily relinquish their 
own license 

• Drivers age 50 and older must be retested for 
visual acuity every 8 years 

 
During the first 2 years of the program, there 
were 3,236 reports made via the mandatory 
reporting program. Individuals reported ranged 
from ages 15 to 95, though 66 percent were age 
70 or older. In all, 73 percent of reports resulted 
in license suspension, and only 11 percent of 

those suspended later regained their driving 
privileges. The 2004 statistics for the voluntary 
reporting program included over 5,000 reports, 
most resulted in retesting and the majority of 
those tested retained or later regained their 
driving privileges. 
 
Biometric Data 
Senate Bill 640 (2005) created a new 
requirement for individuals applying for a new, 
renewed, or replacement driver license. 
Beginning on July 1, 2008, all licenses issued by 
the DMV will be required to include biometric 
data that can be used to verify whether the 
individual receiving the license has previously 
been issued a license under a different name or 
identity. Biometric data refers to unique physical 
characteristics that can be used to identify an 
individual. In the case of Oregon driver licenses, 
the data is in the form of a set of data points from 
physical facial characteristics, collected with the 
use of special camera equipment and 
accompanying software. 
 
Biometric photographs can be used in one of two 
ways. A person requesting a replacement 
photograph can have his or her biometric data 
checked against that in the DMV database to 
confirm whether they are the same person to 
whom the license was originally issued, known 
as a “one-to-one” check. A new applicant can 
also have their biometric data compared to all 
other individuals within the database to 
determine whether that person has been issued a 
license previously, which is known as a “one-to-
many” check. 
 
With the transition to biometric photographs, the 
DMV has also begun issuing all licenses from a 
central processing center.  Applicants are 
provided a paper temporary license when leaving 
a DMV office and are mailed their official 
license within a few days that will allow for the 
comparison of biometric data. 
 
Verification of Legal Presence 
The Legislative Assembly enacted Senate Bill 
1080 during the 2008 Special Legislative Session 
that created the statutory requirement that 
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applicants for all new, replacement, or renewed 
driver licenses provide the DMV with a 
document that includes their Social Security 
number (SSN), and that the DMV verify that 
number prior to a license being issued. The 
applicant’s SSN is then verified through the 
Social Security Online Verification (SSOLV) 
system to ensure that the applicant is, in fact, 
legally present within the United States. U.S 
citizens who do not have and are not eligible for 
a SSN must sign a release swearing that they are, 
to the best of their knowledge, ineligible. Senate 
Bill 1080 also outlined documents that may be 
used to prove identity and residence in Oregon. 
 
Individuals who are nonresidents but who are 
legally present (on a student visa, for example) 
may alternatively provide documentation that 
they are legally present in the United States. 
However, those who are legally present for a 
specified period of time are to be issued a 
“limited term” license that will expire upon the 
ending date of their legal stay, or eight years, 
whichever is less. Those whose length of stay is 
unspecified will be issued a one-year limited 
term license and must apply for renewal 
annually. Immigration documents will be verified 
by the Systematic Alien Verification for 
Entitlements (SAVE) system. However, there are 
currently no national systems that can be used to 
verify documents that may be used to 
demonstrate legal presence, such as passports. 
Until a national verification system becomes 
available, the DMV plans to train its staff to 
perform visual verification of such documents. 
 
Prior to the passage of Senate Bill 1080, Gov. 
Kulongoski issued Executive Order 07-22 that 
directed the DMV to institute emergency 
administrative rules to require applicants for 
license issuance, renewal, or replacement to 
provide a SSN prior to issuance of the license. 
The Executive Order stated that its purpose was 
to combat fraud and identity theft which, due to 
Oregon’s eight-year licensure cycle and 
permissive proof of identity requirements, had 
become problematic. The Executive Order took 
effect on February 4, 2008.  
 

Real ID Act 
The federal Real ID Act of 2005 outlined a set of 
minimum standards for state-issued driver 
licenses in order for those licenses to be used for 
boarding airplanes, entering federal buildings, or 
opening bank accounts in the United States. The 
rationale behind regulating drivers’ licenses 
bearing a person’s photograph is because they 
are the most typically used form of personal 
identification. The law is administered by the 
federal Department of Homeland Security, and 
outlines specific requirements for state-issued 
licenses, including: 
 
• Requiring that applicants provide a valid 

SSN and the issuing authority verify that 
number with the federal government – 
applicants who are not legal residents must 
provide documentation proving that they are 
legally present in the United States 

• Provision and verification of other 
documents demonstrating identity 

• Specifications on information that must 
appear on the card  

• Connectivity of databases to allow sharing of 
data between states and the federal 
government 

• Security requirements for DMV offices and 
employee background checks 

 
By 2011, federal agencies will not be allowed to 
accept as identification licenses issued by states 
that are not in compliance with the federal 
standards. States were required to apply for an 
extension to remain eligible for eventual 
implementation. Many states have expressed 
concerns about the security of personal 
information shared with other states and the 
federal government; the requirement to verify, 
scan, and retain documents; and the cost of 
implementation, based on the need to transition 
to new licenses. The National Governors 
Association estimated states will need to spend 
$11 billion within 5 years to comply with the 
law. 
 
Recently issued rule revisions to the Real ID Act 
clarified that persons born on or after December 
1964 need to obtain a compliant identification by 
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December 2014. Individuals born before 
December 1964 have until December 2017 to 
obtain a compliant identification. 
 
 
Staff and Agency Contacts 
Tom McClellan 
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division
503-945-5100 
 
Jack Evans 
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division
503-986-3644 
 
Patrick Brennan 
Legislative Committee Services
503-986-1674 
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