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Background Brief on … 
 

Sex Offenders 
 
 
As of April 2010, approximately 27 percent of the 
inmates incarcerated by the Oregon Department of 
Corrections (DOC) are imprisoned for a sex offense, 
amounting to 3,728 out of a total population of 14,347 
inmates. Also, as of December 2009, 3,918 offenders 
were on community supervision for a sexual 
offense. This number represents approximately 12 
percent felons on community supervision 
 
Sex Offenses 
The following is a list of the crimes defined as “sex 
crimes” in Oregon: 
• Rape in any degree 
• Sodomy in any degree 
• Unlawful sexual penetration in any degree 
• Sexual abuse in any degree 
• Incest with a child victim 
• Using a child in a display of sexually explicit 

conduct 
• Encouraging child sexual abuse in any degree 
• Transporting child pornography into the state 
• Paying for viewing a child’s sexually explicit 

conduct 
• Compelling prostitution 
• Promoting prostitution 
• Kidnapping I, if the victim was under 18 years of 

age 
• Kidnapping II, if the victim was under 18 years of 

age, except by a parent or person found to be within 
the jurisdiction of the juvenile court 

• Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor 
• Sexual misconduct, if the offender is at least 18 

years of age 
• Any attempt to commit the above crimes 
• Burglary when committed with intent to commit any 

of these sex crimes 
• Public indecency if person has a prior felony sex 

crime conviction 
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Sex Offender Registration 
Oregon law requires sex offender registration for 
life for persons who are: 
• Convicted in Oregon of one of the 

previously listed offenses or of similar 
offenses in another state 

• Found guilty, except by reason of insanity, 
of one of the previously listed offenses  

• Found to be within the jurisdiction of the 
juvenile court for having committed an act 
that, if committed by an adult, would be a 
sex crime 

• Paroled to or otherwise placed in this state 
after having been convicted of a sex crime 
or adjudicated in juvenile court for an act 
that if committed in this state would 
constitute a sex crime 

 
Relief from Registration 
An offender convicted of a sex offense as an 
adult may petition for relief from registration no 
earlier than ten years after the end of their 
supervision on probation, conditional release, 
parole, or post-prison supervision by filing a 
petition in the circuit court in the county in 
which they reside. The person can have only one 
conviction or juvenile court finding of a sex 
crime must not have been designated predatory, 
and the sex crime must have been a Class C 
felony or a misdemeanor.   
 
For those adjudicated delinquent of a sex crime 
(juveniles before a juvenile court), an offender 
may file a petition for relief from reporting as a 
sex offender two years after the end of the 
juvenile court’s jurisdiction over the person, but 
not later than five years after termination of 
jurisdiction. A sex offender who is relieved of his 
or her reporting requirements must send a copy of 
the court order to the Oregon State Police (OSP). 
 
Predatory Sex Offenders and 
Notification 
An agency can determine an offender to be 
predatory if the offender exhibits characteristics 
showing a tendency to victimize or injure others 
and has been convicted of Rape, Sodomy, 
Sexual Penetration, or Sexual Abuse in any 

degree or any attempts to commit those crimes. 
A risk assessment scale approved by the DOC 
must be used for determining whether an 
individual is to be classified as a predatory sex 
offender. Once an offender is designated as 
predatory, the supervising agency may notify 
anyone the agency deems appropriate that the 
offender is a predatory sex offender. 
 
For offenders not under supervision, law 
enforcement may conduct community 
notification if the offender was: 
• Designated as predatory, and notification 

was conducted while under supervision, and 
• The offender was under a high level of 

supervision, just prior to termination of 
supervision, or a police agency determines 
the person is a predatory sex offender and 
the person was not designated predatory 
because he or she was not under supervision 
in Oregon or for any other reason 

 
Public Release of Sex Offender 
Information 
The OSP operates a sex offender information 
telephone line through which the public can 
obtain information about specific offenders or 
information on offenders who live within a 
given area. For offenders who are on supervision 
for their sex crimes, the caller is referred to the 
supervising agency for information about the 
offender. A law enforcement agency may release 
any information necessary to protect the public 
from offenders who are not on supervision; 
victim information is not released. 
 
Recent Legislation 
House Bill 3511 (2006) increased the penalty for 
Rape I, Sodomy I, and Unlawful Sexual 
Penetration I where the victim is less than 12 
years of age from a minimum sentence of 100 
months in prison to a minimum of 25 years (300 
months) in prison. It also increased the penalty 
from a minimum of 90 months to a minimum of 
25 years for Kidnapping I when the victim is 
under 12 and the kidnapping is committed in 
furtherance of the commission or attempted 
commission of Rape I, Sodomy I, or Unlawful 
Sexual Penetration I.  
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The measure required that, upon release, the 
defendant be on life-time post-prison supervision. 
 
House Bill 2153 (2007) extended the statute of 
limitations to 25 years for Rape I and II, 
Sodomy I and II, and Sexual Abuse I provided 
that DNA evidence is available. The limitation 
applies only to offenses that, at the time of 
enactment, remain viable (i.e., they are not 
already barred by the existing statute of 
limitations). 
 
House Bill 2333 (2007) amended Oregon’s sex 
offender reporting requirements for the crimes 
of Rape III, Sodomy III, Sex Abuse III, 
Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, 
Sexual Misconduct, or the attempt versions of 
any of these crimes. It no longer requires a 
person to have to report as a sex offender if each 
of the following is true: 
• the offender is less than five years older than 

the victim 
• the victim’s lack of consent was solely due 

to age 
• the victim was at least 14 years of age, and 
• at the time of the offense, the person had no 

prior adult or juvenile conviction for an sex 
offense as listed in ORS 181.594(4) 

 
House Bill 2843 (2007) created the crime of 
furnishing sexually explicit material to a child 
and the crime of luring a minor. 
 
House Bill 3515 (2007) created the crimes of 
online sexual corruption of a child in the first 
and second degrees. 
 
House Bill 2476 (2009) made sex abuse 
committed by a victim’s coach Sex Abuse II 
rather than Sex Abuse III when the victim is 
under 18 and the coach is over 21. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Staff and Agency Contacts 
Oregon State Police - Sex Offender Registration 
503-378-3720 ext. 44429 
 
Bill Taylor 
Judiciary Committee Counsel 
Legislative Committee Services 
503-986-1694 
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