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Background Brief on … 

 

Unemployment 

Insurance 
 

 

Congress enacted the unemployment insurance (UI) 

program as part of the Social Security Act (SSA) in 

1935, as a response to the Great Depression. The 

program is a federal-state partnership with oversight 

from the U.S. Department of Labor. The SSA provides 

grants to states with UI laws that adhere to federal 

requirements for the purpose of administering the UI 

program and overseeing the payment of benefits. UI 

benefits replace part of the income lost when workers 

become unemployed through no fault of their own. 

Because UI provides a means for unemployed workers 

to maintain some level of consumer demand in hard 

times, UI has been credited as one reason the nation has 

avoided deep depressions since the 1930s. 

 

Benefit Eligibility 
Eligibility and benefits for a worker are set by state law. 

The minimum weekly benefit is currently $128 and the 

maximum weekly benefit is $549. Claims and the 

weekly benefit amount is based on the recipient’s work 

record for a 12-month period known as the Base Year, 

which is comprised of the first four of the last five 

calendar quarters completed at the time an initial claim is 

filed. In order to qualify, an individual’s total base 

period wages must be at least 150 percent of wages 

earned during the highest quarter in the base period and 

include at least $1,000 of wages earned in subject 

employment, or the individual must have worked 500 

hours in subject employment. Claimants who do not 

have enough wages or hours to qualify for UI benefits 

under the regular base year may qualify by using an 

Alternative Base Year, in which wages and hours during 

the most recent four completed calendar quarters are 

used. A claimant’s benefit year lasts for 52 weeks 

starting with the first week of filing, and the claimant is 

eligible to receive up to 26 weeks of benefits during that 

time period unless Oregon has received a benefit 

extension, either an extended benefit period, established 
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either through enacted legislation from Congress 

or the Oregon Legislature. Oregon statute (ORS 

657.321 to 657.329) provides up to 20 additional 

weeks of benefits during periods of high 

unemployment. If a claimant is eligible for an 

extension, the Employment Department will 

send an advisory letter.   

 

The Employment Department’s website 

provides an estimator of how much a claimant 

can receive on a new UI claim. 

 

Unemployment Claims Process 
To obtain benefits, an unemployed worker must 

file a claim with the Employment Department 

through the statewide UI call center or online. 

Claimants must show that they are unemployed 

through no fault of their own and are able to 

work, available for work, and actively seeking 

work. Claimants must also provide accurate 

information on past employment for all 

employers within the previous two years.  

 

Benefits start one week after the first week of 

the claim in which the worker meets all 

eligibility requirements, called the “waiting 

week,” and are thereafter claimed one calendar 

week at a time. Unless exempted
1
, claimants are 

required to register with a WorkSource Oregon 

office where Employment Department and 

partner staff help claimants find new jobs.  

Employment Department staff matches 

claimants with potential employers by looking at 

the job listings they maintain as well as the 

claimant’s work history and other information.  

Job listings are updated every two hours and are 

available at both iMatchSkills and the agency 

website. Claimants are also required to claim 

each week that they are able, available, seeking, 

and willing to accept suitable work.  

 

Benefits may not be received if a claimant 

voluntarily left work without good cause, was 

discharged or suspended from work for 

misconduct connected with work, fails to accept 

suitable work when offered, or fails to apply for 

                                                 
1 Claimants who are scheduled to return to work within 

four weeks, or who are limited to seeking work through 

their union hiring hall.   

suitable work when referred to a job by the 

Employment Department.  

 

Benefits may be denied on a week-to-week basis 

if a claimant is not able, available, or seeking 

work, or fails to register and use iMatchSkills, or 

does not claim benefits. Claimants must also 

inform the Employment Department if they were 

away from their permanent residence for more 

than three days in the prior week; benefits can be 

received if they were looking for work and were 

willing, ready, and able to take a job in the other 

area. If the reason for leaving the claimant’s 

labor market was for other reasons, such as a 

vacation, they may not be eligible for benefits 

for that week.  

 

There are a number of situations that can affect 

week-to-week eligibility, and/or the benefit 

amount. For example, claimants who receive 

retirement pay may have their weekly benefits 

reduced by a prorated weekly share of retirement 

pay, if the payment(s) are received from any 

retirement plan maintained or contributed to by 

their base period employer(s). Claimants who 

attend school may be disqualified for weeks 

depending on the amount of time that they are 

looking for and accepting work. Claimants who 

are working part-time can receive reduced 

benefits as long as they are following the 

eligibility criteria and are earning less than their 

established weekly benefit amount.  

 

Self-employed individuals may be eligible for 

benefits if they were self-employed and also 

worked as an employee of one or more other 

employers, or were employed by their own 

incorporated business. Claimants can be self-

employed and receive benefits depending on a 

number of factors, such as the type and size of 

their business, the amount of time spent on the 

business, and whether they are willing and able 

to drop self-employment for full-time work. 

 

In all circumstances, when a claimant is working 

full-time or earning more than the weekly 

benefit amount, they are no longer eligible for 

benefits. When the Employment Department 

reduces or denies benefits, the claimant is 

notified in writing via a written notice 

http://findit.emp.state.or.us/ocs/estimator/
http://findit.emp.state.or.us/list/wcl-list.cfm
http://www.workinginoregon.org/ocs
http://www.emp.state.or.us/jobs/
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(Administrative Decision). If the claimant does 

not agree with the Department’s decision, they 

have the right to have the decision reviewed 

through a hearing. Employers have the same 

right if a written decision allows benefits to be 

issued. Hearings are conducted by 

administrative law judges from the Office of 

Administrative Hearings and people are given an 

opportunity, usually over the telephone, to 

provide information related to whether the 

person should receive benefits.  In most 

circumstances, claimants and employers who 

disagree with the administrative law judge’s 

decision can further appeal to the Employment 

Appeals Board.  Claimants who are found to 

have intentionally withheld or misrepresented 

facts to obtain benefits can be penalized for up 

to 52 unpaid weeks, and are required to pay back 

the benefits and face other penalties that could 

include a jail sentence. 

 

UI benefits are fully taxable income, and can be 

received either through direct deposit or a 

ReliaCard Visa debit account. 

 

Special Unemployment Programs 
The Work Share Program provides an 

alternative to employers who are facing the 

prospect of laying off employees by providing 

partial unemployment benefits to supplement the 

reduced wages of qualified employees. 

Employers apply for the program by completing 

a written plan that includes information on the 

employees with reduced work hours and who are 

authorized to receive Work Share benefits, a 

statement that the employees’ work hours and 

wages will be reduced 20 to 40 percent per 

week, and that the employees’ normal work 

week is less than 40 hours. In turn, each 

employee must have worked full-time for six 

months or part-time for 12 months before the 

Work Share plan is submitted. 

 

The Self Employment Assistance Program is an 

option for claimants who have been identified, 

via a computerized mathematical formula, as 

likely to run out of benefits before returning to 

work. Qualifications for the program also 

include having a viable business idea, the 

willingness to work full-time in developing the 

business, and the ability to obtain financial 

backing needed to start and sustain the business 

until it is self-supported. Enrolled claimants can 

attend self-employment counseling and training 

programs and engage in self-employment 

activities on a full-time basis, and are required to 

complete both a written business plan and a 

market feasibility study. The Employment 

Department partners with Small Business 

Development Centers to make training and 

guidance on entrepreneurship available to people 

participating in the Self Employment Assistance 

program. 

 

Individuals can also receive benefits if their 

unemployment was caused as a direct result of a 

major disaster (Disaster Unemployment 

Assistance) or from foreign trade entering U.S. 

markets or production being shifted to other 

foreign countries (Trade Act Program). Also, 

eligible dislocated workers can be certified by 

the Employment Department to attend school 

and receive benefits at the same time; the 

Training Unemployment Insurance program 

does not pay for training but waives the 

availability and work search requirements while 

the claimant attends school full-time.  

 

Most of these programs are financed by federal 

funding or administered with collaborative 

efforts with other organizations. 

 

Source of Benefit Payments 
UI benefits are paid out of the Unemployment 

Insurance Trust Fund. The fund is financed by 

employer payroll taxes that are set according to 

an annual self-adjusting rate schedule. The UI 

Trust Fund maintains a balance based on 

statutory requirements tied to the solvency of the 

fund, and no contributions are from employee 

wages. Oregon is one of the few states in the 

country that requires a solvent UI Trust Fund.  

 

Employer Responsibilities 
The Employment Department defines a subject 

employer as an employing unit
2
 that pays wages 

of at least $1,000 to employees in a calendar 

                                                 
2
 Individual or organization that has at least one 

individual performing services for it. 

http://www.oregon.gov/employ/ui/employer/Pages/work_share_updated.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/ES/SEEKER/Pages/self_employment_assistance.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/UI/pages/ui_special_programs.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/UI/pages/ui_special_programs.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/employ/es/bus/Pages/tra_benefits_services.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/UI/pages/ui_special_programs.aspx
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quarter or employs one or more individuals in 

each of 18 separate weeks during any calendar 

year. An agricultural employer is considered a 

subject employer if they pay at least $20,000 

cash wages in a calendar quarter or have 10 or 

more employees on 20 days, with each day 

being in a separate calendar week during a 

calendar year. Employers who employ domestic 

workers in a private home, local college club, or 

local fraternity or sorority chapter must have 

paid at least $1,000 in cash wages in a calendar 

quarter. There are a number of groups that are 

statutorily exempt from being considered a 

subject employer. 

 

An employee is any individual who performs 

services for another person or organization 

under the direction and control of that person or 

organization. This includes contract, casual 

temporary labor, and cottage industry 

homeworkers as well as minors and aliens. 

Some types of services are not covered, such as 

for members of a limited liability company 

(LLC) or partnership, or by an independent 

contractor, although in some cases, business can 

elect to have these non-covered services covered 

by the UI system.   

 

Oregon employers provide the funds to pay UI 

benefits. The method of payment varies 

depending on the employer type. Private for-

profit employers pay a quarterly tax to the State 

of Oregon, while state and federal agencies 

reimburse the state for benefits paid to former 

employees. Local governments, Native 

American tribes, and nonprofit employers can 

choose to pay the tax or reimburse the state for 

paid benefits. Funding for administration of the 

UI program comes from a federal tax that is 

assessed on all for-profit employers and paid to 

the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 

 

All employers must register with the 

Employment Department by completing and 

sending a Combined Employer's Registration 

Form to the Oregon Department of Revenue. 

Employers must also post in the workplace a 

notice about UI benefits, keep adequate payroll 

records, pay taxes or reimbursements when due, 

file the required quarterly or annual tax forms on 

time with complete information, and inform the 

Employment Department and the Department of 

Revenue of any changes to the organization or 

its status. The Employment Department works 

with other agencies that also deal with employer 

and employee related issues as part of the 

statutorily created Interagency Compliance 

Network. 

 

Employers pay UI tax on an annual rate 

schedule. New employers are assigned a “base 

rate” until they qualify for an “experience rate,” 

which is typically after three years. In 2014, the 

base tax rate is 3.1 percent of taxable payroll, 

and the experience rate ranges from 1.8 to 5.4 

percent, calculated on each employee's first 

$35,000 of wages.  

 

Wages paid above the taxable wage base are 

called “excess wages,” in which the employer 

reports but does not pay the unemployment tax. 

Wages include all cash and non-cash 

remuneration for employment. For agricultural 

and domestic employment, only paid cash wages 

must be reported. 

 

The statutory formula for establishing the annual 

rate schedule is tied to the solvency of the 

Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund, which is 

set in such a way to finance benefits over a 

period of business cycles while remaining 

solvent. There are eight tax schedules set in 

statute. Each September, the Employment 

Department determines which tax schedule will 

go into effect for the following calendar year, 

and notices are mailed to employers in 

November on the upcoming year’s tax schedule. 

 

In addition to state unemployment taxes, most 

employers also pay a federal tax according to the 

Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). The 

FUTA tax rate is 6 percent on the first $7,000 of 

an employee’s wages. In general, employers can 

take a credit against the FUTA tax for amounts 

paid into state unemployment funds as long as 

state UI laws are consistent with federal 

requirements. The maximum allowable credit is 

5.4 percent, resulting in a net payable FUTA tax 

rate of 0.6 percent on the first $7,000 for each 

employee. These funds are collected by the IRS 
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to fund some of the administrative costs of the 

Employment Department and UI programs 

throughout the country. 

 

The Employment Department also administers a 

number of programs for employers, such as 

seminars and events regarding employer issues, 

and two types of tax credits that provide 

incentives for private-sector businesses to hire 

individuals who have consistently faced 

significant barriers to employment (Work 

Opportunity Tax Credit), and for dependent care 

assistance for employees (Dependent Care Tax 

Credit). 

 

WorkSource Oregon 
Beyond administering the UI benefits program, 

the Employment Department collaborates with 

state agencies and private partners to operate 

WorkSource Oregon, a comprehensive resource 

for connecting businesses and workers with 

resources needed to succeed. A primary resource 

is local WorkSource Centers that help workers 

find suitable employment, and connect 

employers to qualified job applicants. 
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Committee Services provides centralized, non-

partisan research and issue analysis for the 

Legislative Branch. Committee Services does not 

provide legal advice. Background Briefs are intended 

to give the reader a general understanding of a 

subject, and are based on information which is 

current as of the date of publication. Legislative, 

executive, and judicial actions subsequent to 

publication may affect the timeliness of the 

information. 

http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/ES/BUS/Pages/tax_incentive_programs.aspx
http://www.worksourceoregon.org/home/worksourcecenters
mailto:jan.nordlund@state.or.us
http://www.employment.oregon.gov/
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/TAX/index.shtml
http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/TAX/index.shtml

