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Congress enacted the unemployment 
insurance (UI) program as part of the Social 
Security Act (SSA) in 1935, in response to the 
Great Depression. The program is a federal-
state partnership with 
oversight from the U.S. 
Department of Labor. The 
SSA provides grants to states 
with UI laws that meet federal 
requirements for 
administrating the UI 
program and overseeing the 
payment of benefits. UI 
benefits replace part of the 
income lost when workers 
become unemployed through 
no fault of their own. It  
provides a means for 
unemployed workers to 
maintain some level of 
consumer demand in hard 
times, and it is UI that has 
been credited as one reason 
the nation has avoided deep 
depressions since the 1930s. 

BENEFIT ELIGIBILITY 

UI eligibility and benefits for a worker are set 
by state law. The minimum weekly benefit is 
currently $138 and the maximum weekly 
benefit is $590. Eligibility and the weekly 
benefit amount are based on the recipient’s 
work record for a prior 12-month period 
known as the Base Year. In order to qualify, 
an individual’s total base period wages must 
be at least 150 percent of wages earned during 

the highest quarter in the base period and 
include at least $1,000 of wages earned in 
subject employment or the individual must 
have worked 500 hours in subject 

employment. A claimant’s 
benefit year lasts for 52 weeks 
starting with the first week of 
filing, and the claimant is 
eligible to receive up to 26 
weeks of benefits during that 
time period. Additional weeks 
of benefits are available if state 
or federal extensions apply. 
These extensions are usually 
because of very high 
unemployment rates and must 
be authorized through 
legislation from Congress or 
the Oregon Legislative 
Assembly. Oregon statute 
(ORS 657.321 to 657.329) 
provides up to 20 additional 
weeks of benefits during 
periods of high 
unemployment. Oregon law 

also provides for up to 26 additional weeks of 
benefits if someone is unemployed due to a 
labor lockout. 

The Oregon Employment Department’s 
(OED) website provides an estimator of how 
much a claimant can receive on a new UI 
claim. 
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UNEMPLOYMENT CLAIMS 

PROCESS 

To obtain benefits, an unemployed worker 
must file a claim with OED through the 
statewide UI contact center or online. 
Claimants must show that they are 
unemployed through no fault of their own 
and are able to work, available for work and 
actively seeking work. Claimants must also 
provide accurate information on past 
employment for all employers within the 
previous two years.  

Benefits start one week after the first week of 
the claim in which the worker meets all 
eligibility requirements, called the “waiting 
week,” and are thereafter claimed one 
calendar week at a time. Unless exempted1, 
claimants are required to register with a 
WorkSource Oregon office where OED and 
partner staff help claimants find new jobs. 
Claimants are matched with potential 
employers by looking at the job listings as well 
as the claimant’s work history and other 
information. Job listings are updated every 
two hours and are available through both 
iMatchSkills and OED’s website. Claimants 
may file a claim each week that they are able, 
available, seeking and willing to accept 
suitable work.  

Benefits may not be received if a claimant 
voluntarily left work without good cause, was 
discharged or suspended from work for 
misconduct connected with work, failed to 
accept suitable work when offered or failed to 
apply for suitable work when referred to a job 
by OED. In these situations, people cannot 
receive benefits until they requalify, typically 

                                                 
1 Claimants who are scheduled to return to work 
within four weeks, or who are limited to seeking work 
through their union hiring hall.   

by earning at least four times their weekly 
benefit amount. 

Benefits may be denied on a week-to-week 
basis if a claimant is not able, available or 
seeking work, or fails to register and use 
iMatchSkills or does not claim benefits. 
Claimants must also inform OED if they were 
away from their permanent residence for more 
than three days in the prior week; benefits can 
be received if they were looking for work and 
were willing, ready and able to take a job in 
the other area. If the reason for leaving the 
claimant’s labor market was for other reasons, 
such as a vacation, they may not be eligible for 
benefits for that week.  

There are a number of situations that can 
affect week-to-week eligibility, and/or the 
benefit amount. For example, claimants who 
receive retirement pay may have their weekly 
benefits reduced. Eligibility for claimants who 
attend school depends on the amount of time 
that they are looking for and accepting work 
and their willingness to and ability to accept 
work while in school. Claimants who are 
working part-time can receive reduced benefits 
as long as they are following the eligibility 
criteria and are earning less than their 
established weekly benefit amount.  

Self-employed individuals may be eligible for 
benefits if they were self-employed and also 
worked as an employee of one or more other 
employers or were employed by their own 
incorporated business. Claimants can be self-
employed and receive benefits depending on a 
number of factors, such as the type and size of 
their business, the amount of time spent on 
the business and whether they are willing and 

https://empportal.emp.state.or.us/mprod_imscod_dad/!pkg_startup.proc_new_home
http://www.emp.state.or.us/jobs/
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able to drop self-employment for full-time 
work. 

In all circumstances, when a claimant is 
working full-time or earning more than the 
weekly benefit amount, they are no longer 
eligible for benefits. When OED reduces or 
denies benefits, the claimant is notified in 
writing via a written notice (Administrative 
Decision). If the claimant does not agree with 
the decision, they have the right to have it 
reviewed through a hearing. Employers have 
the same right if a written decision allows 
benefits to be issued. Hearings are conducted 
by administrative law judges from the Office 
of Administrative Hearings and people are 
given an opportunity, usually over the 
telephone, to provide information related to 
whether the person should receive benefits. In 
most circumstances, claimants and employers 
who disagree with the administrative law 
judge’s decision can further appeal to the 
Employment Appeals Board. Claimants who 
are found to have intentionally withheld or 
misrepresented facts to obtain benefits can be 
penalized for up to 52 unpaid weeks, and are 
required to pay back the benefits and face 
other penalties that could include a jail 
sentence. 

UI benefits are fully taxable income, and can 
be received either through direct deposit or a 
ReliaCard Visa debit account. 

SPECIAL UNEMPLOYMENT 

PROGRAMS 

The Work Share Program provides an 
alternative to employers who are facing the 
prospect of laying off employees by providing 
partial unemployment benefits to supplement 
the reduced wages of qualified employees 
whose work hours are reduced. Employers 
apply for the program by completing a written 

plan that includes information on the 
employees with reduced work hours and who 
are authorized to receive Work Share benefits 
and a statement that the employee’s work 
hours and wages will be reduced 20 to 40 
percent per week. In turn, each employee 
must have worked full-time for six months, or 
part-time for 12 months, before receiving 
Work Share benefits. 

The Self-Employment Assistance Program is 
an option for claimants who have been 
identified, via a computerized mathematical 
formula, as likely to run out of benefits before 
returning to work. Qualifications for the 
program also include having a viable business 
idea, the willingness to work full-time in 
developing the business and the ability to 
obtain financial backing needed to start and 
sustain the business until it is self-supported. 
Enrolled claimants can attend self-
employment counseling and training 
programs and engage in self-employment 
activities on a full-time basis and are required 
to complete both a written business plan and 
a market feasibility study. OED partners with 
Small Business Development Centers to make 
training and guidance on entrepreneurship 
available to people participating in the Self-
Employment Assistance program. 

Individuals can also receive benefits if their 
unemployment was the direct result of a major 
disaster (Disaster Unemployment Assistance) 
or from foreign trade entering U.S. markets or 
production being shifted to other foreign 
countries (Trade Act Program). Also, eligible 
dislocated workers can be certified by OED to 
attend school and receive benefits at the same 
time; the Training Unemployment Insurance 
program does not pay for training but waives 
the availability and work search requirements 
while the claimant attends school full-time.  
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Most of these programs are financed by federal 
funding or administered with collaborative 
efforts with other organizations. 

SOURCE OF BENEFIT PAYMENTS 

UI benefits are paid out of the 
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. The 
fund is financed by employer payroll taxes that 
are set according to an annual self-adjusting 
rate schedule. The UI Trust Fund maintains a 
balance based on statutory requirements tied 
to the solvency of the fund, and no 
contributions are from employee wages. 
Oregon is nationally recognized as having a 
solvent UI Trust Fund and was one of the few 
that remained solvent during the Great 
Recession. 

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES 

OED defines a subject employer as an 
employing unit2 that pays wages of at least 
$1,000 to employees in a calendar quarter or 
employs one or more individuals in each of 18 
separate weeks during any calendar year. An 
agricultural employer is considered a subject 
employer if they pay at least $20,000 cash 
wages in a calendar quarter or have 10 or more 
employees on 20 days, with each day being in 
a separate calendar week during a calendar 
year. Employers who employ domestic 
workers in a private home, local college club 
or local fraternity or sorority chapter must 
have paid at least $1,000 in cash wages in a 
calendar quarter. There are a number of 
groups that are statutorily exempt from being 
considered a subject employer. 

An employee is any individual who performs 
services for another person or organization 
under the direction and control of that person 

                                                 
2 Individual or organization that has at least one 
individual performing services for it. 

or organization. This includes contract, casual 
temporary labor and cottage industry 
homeworkers as well as minors and aliens. 
Some types of services are not covered, such as 
for members of a limited liability company 
(LLC) or partnership, or by an independent 
contractor, although in some cases, business 
can elect to have these non-covered services 
covered by the UI system.   

Oregon employers provide the funds to pay 
UI benefits. The method of payment varies 
depending on the employer type. Most 
employers pay a quarterly tax to the State of 
Oregon. State and federal government 
employers reimburse the state for benefits 
paid to former employees. Local governments, 
Native American tribes and nonprofit 
employers can choose to pay the tax or 
reimburse the state for paid benefits. Funding 
for administration of the UI program comes 
from a federal tax that is assessed on all for-
profit employers and paid to the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS). 

All employers must register with the OED by 
completing and sending a Combined 
Employer’s Registration Form to the Oregon 
Department of Revenue (DOR). Employers 
must also post in the workplace a notice about 
UI benefits, keep adequate payroll records, 
pay taxes or reimbursements when due, file 
the required quarterly or annual tax forms on 
time with complete information and inform 
OED and DOR of any changes to the 
organization or its status. The OED works 
with other agencies that also deal with 
employer and employee-related issues as part 
of the statutorily created Interagency 
Compliance Network. 
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Employers pay UI tax on an annual rate 
schedule. New employers are assigned a “base 
rate” until they qualify for an “experience 
rate,” which is typically after three years. In 
2016, the base tax rate is 2.6 percent of taxable 
payroll, and the experience rate ranges from 
1.2 to 5.4 percent, calculated on each 
employee’s first $36,900 of wages. Wages paid 
above the taxable wage base are called “excess 
wages,” which the employer reports but is not 
subject to the unemployment tax. Wages 
include all cash and non-cash remuneration 
for employment. For agricultural and 
domestic employment, only paid cash wages 
must be reported. 

The statutory formula for establishing the 
annual rate schedule is tied to the solvency of 
the UI Trust Fund, which is set in such a way 
to finance benefits over a period of business 
cycles while remaining solvent. There are eight 
tax schedules set in statute. Each September, 
OED determines which tax schedule will go 
into effect for the following calendar year, and 
notices are mailed to employers in November 
on the upcoming year’s tax schedule. 

In addition to state unemployment taxes, 
most employers also pay a federal tax 
according to the Federal Unemployment Tax 
Act (FUTA). The FUTA tax rate is 6 percent 
on the first $7,000 of an employee’s wages. In 
general, employers can take a credit against 
the FUTA tax for amounts paid into state 
unemployment funds as long as state UI laws 
are consistent with federal requirements. The 
maximum allowable credit is 5.4 percent, 
resulting in a net payable FUTA tax rate of 0.6 
percent on the first $7,000 for each employee. 
These funds are collected by the IRS to fund 
some of the administrative costs of OED and 
UI programs throughout the country. 

The OED also administers a number of 
programs for employers, such as seminars and 

events regarding employer issues, and the 
Work Opportunity Tax Credit, which 
provides incentives for private-sector 
businesses to hire individuals who have 
consistently faced significant barriers to 
employment. 

WORKSOURCE OREGON 

Beyond administering the UI benefits 
program, the Employment Department 
collaborates with state agencies and private 
partners to operate WorkSource Oregon, a 
comprehensive workforce resource for 
connecting businesses with skilled workers 
and providing training, information and 
business incentives. At the core of 
WorkSource Oregon are the 37 local centers 
that help workers prepare for and find suitable 
employment, and help employers connect 
with qualified job applicants. 
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