Oregon State Seal


Office of the Senate President


900 Court St., N.E., Room S-201

Salem OR  97301




News Release


Contact:    Robin Maxey                                                                  January 14, 2013

                   (503) 986-1605   



Young Oregonians Help Senate

Open 77th Legislative Assembly


(SALEM) – The Senate opened the 2013 Legislative Session Monday with the help of more than 70 Oregonians all of whom are all still too young to vote.


Eight elementary school students served as escorts for Senate President Peter Courtney, Senate President Pro Tempore Ginny Burdick and Supreme Court Chief Justice Thomas A. Balmer.  The Fourth-Grade Choir from Philander Lee Elementary in Canby performed the state song, Oregon, My Oregon; and the Girls Ensemble from Crosshill Christian School in Turner  performed America the Beautiful. Bryanna West, a member of the Symphonic Choir at South Salem High School, opened the ceremonies by singing The Star Spangled Banner.


Monday’s ceremonies included the swearing in of newly elected and re-elected senators. In addition, Courtney (D-Salem/Gervais/Woodburn) was elected to a record sixth term as Senate President and Burdick (D-Portland) was chosen for a second term as President Pro Tempore. Robert Taylor of Portland was elected by the full membership to continue to serve as Secretary of the Senate.


Courtney was escorted by first-grader Alexander Torrent and second-grader Kate Westfall, both of Candalaria Elementary School in Salem. Burdick’s escorts were third-grader Pearl Waubanaseum and first grader Joey Waubenaseum, both from Chief Joseph School. Chief Justice Balmer was escorted by Paulina and Geovanny Estrada of Auburn Elementary in Salem; Omar Garcia of Stayton Elementary; and Isabella Venegas of Henry Hill Elementary of Independence.


Members of the Fourth Grade Choir from Philander Lee Elementary are Ismerai Amaral, Amayrany Asuncion, Benjamin Balley, Jayden Bauder, Isaac Bengston, Kaden Boyd, Gabrielle Cooper, Owen Delozier, Dominic Denbo, Havlyn Ehrich, Michelle Fuentes, Thomas Gardner, Katrina Garrett, Elise Green, Amy Gregg, Quinlan Hanlon, Steven Hawkins, Joshua Haynes, Keyla Hernandez, Eric Lopez-Cruz, Alexander Martinez Vega, Thalia Martinez, Jessica Matthias, Jose Mejia, Giancarlo Mendoza, Caden Millar, Matthew Morris, Sidhdi Patel, Caden Peterson, Asa Purdue-Robertson, Joshua Ramos, Mireya Ramos, Sophia Reed, Nyla Rollins, Avery Rose, Zachery Ross, Taylor Rust, Kaden Sander, Payton Shelstad, Ellie Shorter, Blake Smith, Thomas Tallan, Brookelynn Tiemann, Lana Winchester, Amber Winter and Jose Flores Zamora.


Members of the Girls Ensemble from Crosshill Christian School are Madeline Bahner, Mallory Bahner, Erin Blackburn, Emily Hatcher, Lindy Hatcher, Maddie Kumpula, Kessi Miller, Tia Morgan, Christina Rishel, Taryn Robison, Ellie Schanz, Sadie Sproul and Jackie Stuart.