December 15, 2010
Geoff Sugerman – 503-510-3704
Michael Cox – 503-929-6404
House Democrats Round Out Leadership Team
Rep. Kotek chosen as Co-Speaker Pro Tem Designee
SALEM – Oregon House Democrats yesterday unanimously elected Representative Tina Kotek (D-N & NE Portland) to be their Speaker Pro Tem or Co-Speaker Pro Tem Nominee for the Oregon House of Representatives, according to House Democratic Leader Dave Hunt (D-Clackamas County). 
Representative Tobias Read (D-Beaverton) was elected as Democratic Whip and Representative Sara Gelser (D-Corvallis) was elected as Deputy Democratic Whip.
“I am honored to have been chosen by my colleagues for Speaker Pro Tem of the Oregon House,” said Kotek. “Over the past several sessions, I have worked hard to develop good relationships with all of our members, especially in the areas of healthy food and health care for our children. In an evenly divided chamber, our abilities to work together become more important than ever. I am gratified by the support shown by my colleagues.”
The House Democrats' elected leadership team is now as follows:
Speaker or Co-Speaker Nominee: Rep. Arnie Roblan (D-Coos Bay)*
Democratic Leader: Rep. Dave Hunt (D-Clackamas County)
Speaker Pro Tem or Co-Speaker Pro Tem Nominee: Rep. Tina Kotek (D-N/NE Portland)*
Democratic Whip: Rep. Tobias Read (D-Beaverton)
Deputy Democratic Whip: Rep. Sara Gelser (D-Corvallis)
Assistant Democratic Leaders: Rep. Jules Bailey (D-SE Portland), Rep. Phil Barnhart (D-Central Lane & Linn Counties); Rep. Val Hoyle (W. Eugene and Junction City); and Rep. Jefferson Smith (D-E. Portland).    
“As we move forward in organizing this precedent-setting session for the Oregon House, strong leadership is essential. Our Democratic leadership team is now fully in place and we are ready to tackle the policy and budgetary challenges that will rebuild Oregon’s jobs, schools, health care, public safety, infrastructure, and livability,” said Hunt. 
*   All nominees for Speaker or Speaker Pro Tem will not become official until elected by 31 or more House members on January 10, 2011.
House Democrats Round Out Leadership Team