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Background

The Oregon Death with Dignity Act allows an adult, who is an Oregon
resident and is suffering from a terminal disease that will cause death
within six months, to terminate his or her life through the use of
medication. To do so, the person must express voluntarily his or her
wish to die, must make a written request for the medication, and be
found by the person’s attending physician and consulting physician to
be suffering from a terminal disease. No less than 15 days must elapse
between the patient’s initial oral request and the writing of the
prescription for the medication and no less than 48 hours must elapse
between the patient’s written request and the writing of the
prescription.

The Act states that ending one’s life in accordance with its provisions
does not constitute suicide. The Act specifically prohibits euthanasia.
A physician or person other than the patient cannot directly administer
the medication to end the patient’s life; only the patient can do this.
The Act prohibits subjecting to criminal or civil liability or
professional censure any person who in good faith compliance with the
Act assists a patient to end his or her life. The Act prohibits an
insurance company from requiring an insured to use the Act or for
penalizing a person if the person does so.

History

The citizens of Oregon enacted the Oregon Death with Dignity Act in
November of 1994 by a margin of 51 percent to 49 percent. A legal
injunction delayed initial implementation of the Act until October 27,
1997, when the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals lifted the injunction.
The 1995 Legislature referred Ballot Measure 51 (authorized by House
Bill 2954) to voters on the November 1997 ballot, which would have
repealed the Death with Dignity Act. Oregon voters chose to retain
the Act by a margin of 60 percent to 40 percent. Oregon is the only
state in the union that allows physician-assisted suicide.

How many Oregonians have used the Act?

According to the Health Division, the number of Oregonians requesting a
prescription and then using the prescription to end their lives is as
follows:

Background Brief « Legislative Committee Services * Page 1 of 2



Physician Assisted Suicide ¢ May 2004

o November and December 1997 - ten persons
received a prescription and 8 used it.

e 1998 (first full year) - 23 persons received a
prescription and 15 used it.

e 1999 — 33 persons received a prescription
and 27 used it.

e 2000 — 39 persons received a prescription
and 27 used it.

e 2001 - 44 persons received a prescription
and 21 persons used it.

e 2002 - 58 persons received a prescription
and 38 used it.

e 2003- 67 persons received a prescription and
42 used it.*

The average age of those who used a prescription
under the Act was 70. Most patients choosing to end
their lives in this manner suffered from terminal
cancer.

Reasons for Using the Act

Physicians and families reported that patients have
several reasons for requesting lethal medication.
These include concerns about losing autonomy,
losing control of bodily functions, a decreasing
ability to participate in activities that make life
enjoyable, and physical suffering. Also, many family
members added that patients wanted to control the
manner and time of their death.

Who Cannot Use the Act

In order to make a request for a prescription under
the Act, a patient must be “capable.” This means the
patient has the ability to make and communicate
health care decisions to health care providers. In
order to receive the prescription, the patient must be
able to make an “informed decision.” This means that
the patient is able to make a decision to request and
obtain a prescription to end his or her life that is
based on an appreciation of the relevant facts,
including the person’s medical illness and how long
he or she has to live. A person who is suffering from
Alzheimer’s, dementia or, for some other reason is
mentally deficient, probably is incapable of making a
health care decision and thus not eligible to use the
Act.

! The Office of Disease Prevention and Epidemiology,
Department of Human Services.

Current Litigation

In November of 2001, the Attorney General of the
United States, John Ashcroft, citing his authority
under the Controlled Substances Act, issued a
directive in which he declared that controlled
substances may not be dispensed to assist suicide.
The decision would render a physician’s right to
dispense controlled substances inconsistent with
public policy and subject those who did so to
suspension or revocation. Since a doctor cannot
effectively practice medicine without the right to
dispense medication containing a controlled
substance, this would make it impossible for a doctor
to issue a prescription under the Oregon Death with
Dignity Act.

Oregon Attorney General, Hardy Myers, challenged
the Ashcroft directive and obtained from federal
district court judge, Robert Jones, on April 17, 2002,
a permanent injunction preventing Attorney General
Ashcroft from enforcing his directive. The United
States Department of Justice has appealed this
decision to the 9" Circuit Court of Appeals. On May
26, 2004, the 9" Circuit Court of Appeals upheld
Oregon’s landmark physician-assisted-suicide law.
The U.S. Justice Department could ask a larger panel
of 11 circuit judges to review the case or appeal to
the U.S. Supreme Court.
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