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The Oregon Liquor Control Commission
(OLCC) oversees the sale of alcoholic
beverages and recreational marijuana to allow
access to responsible adults while protecting
Oregon’s public health, safety and community
livability. The OLCC was
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commissioner is from the food and beverage
industry. Commissioners provide policy
direction for the OLCC and make decisions
regarding liquor licenses, marijuana licenses,
agency rules, contested case hearings and the
appointment of liquor store
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COMMISSION AND AGENCY

The OLCC is overseen by five citizen
commissioners who are appointed to four-year
terms by the Governor and subject to Senate
confirmation. Each commissioner represents
one of the congressional districts, and one
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There are also licenses for
alcohol sales at special events and permits for
serving alcoholic beverages.

The type of license an individual or business
needs to obtain depends on the types of
activities they will perform and where the
business is physically located. For instance,
out-ofsstate businesses who want to deliver
beer, wine or cider directly to a resident of
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http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/LIC/docs/license_types.pdf

Oregon must apply for a direct shipper
permit, while Oregon-based businesses would
qualify for shipping to residents through the
off-premises sales license. Likewise, while a
caterer or private club receive the same
privileges as a bar or restaurant under a full
on-premises sales license to serve distilled
spirits, each business type must meet specific
criteria to obtain the license.

Annual license fees range from $100
(Distillery, Warehouse, Off-premises) to $500
(Brewery) and annual license applications are
subject to a nonrefundable $150 processing
fee. Special event licenses for wineries
(includes Grower Sales Privilege), brew pubs
and distilleries are $10 per day. Temporary
Sales Licenses that are not connected to an
annual license are $50 per day. This includes
events such as festivals, rodeos, fundraisers,
concerts, etc. Businesses that hold an annual
liquor license can apply for a Temporary Use
of an Annual License at no charge. The
OLCC issues approximately 8,800 licenses for
special events each year.

Prior to issuing an annual liquor license
related to the sale of alcoholic beverages, the
OLCC posts public notices on the building or
property for a new outlet that is to be licensed
and notifies neighborhood associations. Staff
also notify schools, hospitals, churches and
drug and alcohol treatment centers, among
other entities, located within either 500 feet
or 1,500 feet of the proposed location,
depending on whether the location is in an
urban or rural area. In addition to receiving
public comments, the local governing body
can also make a recommendation to the
OLCC regarding licensure. The applicant(s)
and the proposed location are investigated by
an OLCC investigator who makes a
recommendation based on application
materials, law, case history and OLCC policy.
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OLCC staff have the authority to grant most
liquor licenses, but the OLCC commissioners
must review an application when there is a
negative local government recommendation
or significant public opposition. A license can
be suspended or revoked for actions such as
selling alcohol to minors or visibly intoxicated
patrons; or for a history of serious and
persistent problems involving disturbances,
unlawful activities or noise either on the
premises or involving patrons in the
immediate vicinity of the premises.

The liquor licensing division employs 20
license investigators, including 11 who work
in field offices. Several field office regulatory
inspectors perform licensing duties in
addition to their dayto-day compliance
activities.

ALCOHOL SERVER PERMITS AND
EDUCATION
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Service permits are required for servers (i.e.,
waitstaff or bartenders) who work for a
business that allows customers to drink
alcohol on the premises; managers who
directly supervise servers who mix, serve or sell
alcohol to customers for drinking at their
premises; owners who mix, serve or sell
alcohol or manage services at that business
and any person who fills growlers.

Applicants must be at least 18 years old and
pass an alcohol server education course.
Oregon was the first state in the country to
require all alcohol servers to be trained. The
purpose of the course is to enhance public
health and safety by developing the knowledge
and skills that support responsible alcohol
service. More than 41,000 people take the
course each year; course providers charge each
student $10 to $35. There is also a $23 service
permit fee owed to the OLCC upon

UPDATED: SEPTEMBER 2016



application. Employers are allowed to pay the
fees for their employees.

There are more than 150,000 active service
permit holders. Alcohol server permits are
valid for five years. A person can serve alcohol
while their service permit application is being
processed by the OLCC, but they must take
the server education class within 45 days of
submitting the application.

The OLCC administers the server course by
certifying private trainers and community
colleges to teach the classes; it is also
responsible for designing, reviewing and
updating the model curriculum and test
grading.

The OLCC may deny service permits to
individuals who have felony drug convictions,
certain types of felony crime-ofviolence
convictions, diversions or convictions for
driving under the influence of intoxicants
(DUII) or furnishing alcohol to minors.

PUBLIC SAFETY PROGRAM

The OLCC places emphasis on addressing
alcohol sales to minors and visibly intoxicated
people. The OLCC’s Public Safety Services
Program  regulates the  manufacture,
distribution and sale of alcoholic beverages,
and provides education to licensees and
service-permit holders. Forty-four regulatory
inspectors deal with issues including over-
service of alcohol, alcohol service-permit
violations, problem premises, community
livability issues and the sale and/or service to
minors.

Staff try to balance community and licensee
concerns in partnership with diverse groups
such as local governments, law enforcement
and neighborhood associations to provide
service to all Oregonians while promoting
responsible sales and service of alcohol.
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Several programs are available to help licensed
businesses be successful. OLCC retail
licensees may choose to join the voluntary
Responsible Vendor Program (RVP), the
purpose of which is to reduce underage
drinking, encourage participants to adopt best
practices in preventing sales to minors and
provide licensees an incentive to give their
employees on-going training in responsible
alcohol sales and service. Licensees who join
the RVP and follow all of the requirements are
eligible for reduced sanctions if their
employees sell alcohol to a minor or fail to
properly check ID.

Participants in the RVP are required to
provide responsible alcohol sales training and
quarterly refresher training sessions to
employees; adopt house policies on alcohol
sales and ID checks; accept only certain forms
of ID for alcohol sales; post signs regarding ID
checks and keep records verifying compliance.

The OLCC also offers the First Call program,
which is designed to help new licensees be
successful in their operation and maintain an
excellent record of compliance with liquor
laws. An OLCC staff person visits newly
licensed businesses within 90 days of issuing
the license. Staff reviews common violations
and offer suggestions on how to avoid them.
This is an opportunity for new licensees to ask
questions of their regulatory inspector and
develop a relationship prior to any
enforcement issues.

A free 1D checking class is available at all
regional offices for anyone in the alcohol
service industry. The class offers in-depth
education on how to identify fake ID and best
practices on verifying identification.

LIQUOR AGENTS AND STORES
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The OLCC sells distilled spirits through 248

retail liquor stores that are independently
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owned and operated by individuals or
corporations; however, the OLCC recently
approved 14 additional locations in the
Portland tri-county area through an open
recruitment process. In the 2017-19
biennium, the OLCC expects to expand the
number of locations throughout the state to
total 310. The next areas for expansion are
Linn, Benton and Lane counties.

Agents are selected by the OLCC through a
competitive  application  process,  with
openings occurring when an operator resigns
or retires, if a contract is terminated, if the
OLCC establishes a new location, or if
proposals for specific areas are sought through
an open recruitment process.

Applicants are evaluated by a number of
criteria, such as their level of retail business
experience, ability to operate the store on a
full-time basis and adequate finances to
manage and operate the store. They also are
evaluated for their criminal history. A person
is prohibited from being a liquor store
operator if they or anyone in their household
or immediate family has a financial interest or
business connection with the distilled spirits
industry; or if they are a licensee or a director,
officer or substantial stock holder in a
business licensed by the OLCC. However, the
owner of a non-exclusive liquor store (defined
below) can also hold an off-premises sales
license.

Agents are independent contractors, not state
employees. Total compensation to agents is set
through the budget process by the legislature;
the formula for distributing compensation to
agents is determined by the OLCC. Agents
pay most operating expenses, including rent,
staffing and their own salaries and benefits.

Of the 248 stores, 126 operate as exclusive
liquor stores, in which their primary function
is to sell liquor but they are allowed to sell
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specified items such as glassware, mixers and
tobacco products. There are currently 122
non-exclusive liquor stores which operate in
conjunction with other businesses like
pharmacies and general stores that typically
serve smaller communities. Several exclusive
stores in urban areas have chosen to convert
to the non-exclusive model, allowing them to
sell beer and wine. There are 59 liquor stores
located within a grocery or convenience store.
Eight of the 14 new locations in the Portland
tri-county area will be located in grocery or
convenience stores.

An Oregon distiller is allowed to sell bottles of
their own product at their tasting rooms if
they have a Distillery Retail Outlet Agent
Agreement with the OLCC. There are
currently 88 such agreements. An Oregon
distillery can conduct tastings at up to five
locations they lease or own in addition to the
tasting room at the distillery.

DISTILLED SPIRITS
DISTRIBUTION
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The OLCC oversees the distribution and sale
of distilled spirits in the state. The program
centrally warehouses and distributes distilled
spirits to Oregon’s 248 liquor stores.

The purchasing division works closely with
retail services staff and retail liquor stores to
provide a wide variety of products. In addition
to the 2,000 regularly stocked items,
customers in 2015 special ordered over 1,900
additional products through their local liquor
store.

The distribution center receives, stores and
distributes the spirits to liquor stores.
Restaurants and bars do not purchase distilled
spirits from the distribution center but are
required to buy from a retail store, which may
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provide a five percent discount on such
transactions.

These products are securely stored in the
distribution center until they are ordered by
liquor stores. Suppliers own most of the
product inventoried in the center, valued at
$40.1 million; the state pays for the inventory
when it is shipped to a retail store. The state
has approximately $1 million in state-owned
inventory.

The distribution center is comprised of a
124,000-sg-ft warehouse for shipping products
and an additional 107,000-sg-ft warehouse for
bulk storage. With the recent addition of
conveyors and sorting software, the center’s
capacity to ship product has grown from 1,100
to 1,800 cases per hour. With the old system,
workers would prepare orders in sequence and
ship them out one door at a time. With the
new system, workers prepare multiple orders
at the same time, and products are
automatically sorted on the conveyor to be
shipped out of four doors. In 2015, over 3
million cases were shipped.

REVENUE SOURCES AND
DISTRIBUTION
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projected to generate $33.8 million in
additional gross revenue in the 2015-2017
biennium.

After subtracting the cost of purchasing liquor
from distilleries, freight, liquor agent
compensation and other expenditures related
to OLCC operations, an estimated $467
million will be distributed during the 2015-

2017 biennium as follows:

General Fund (with surcharge) 57%
Cities 18%
Counties 9%
City revenue sharing 12%
Mental Health, Alcoholism

and Drug Services 4%
Oregon Wine Board <1%

OLCC staff are responsible for tax collection
and auditing for the privilege tax on wine,
cider and malt beverages. The OLCC also
collects the grape tonnage tax for the Oregon

Wine Board.

STAFF CONTACT

The OLCC is an “other funds” agency that
receives no General Fund support. The
alcohol program is financed entirely from
sales of distilled spirits; a privilege tax on beer,
wine and cider; license fees; and
miscellaneous  revenues including fines
received from administrative sanctions. The
recreational marijuana program is funded
solely from recreational marijuana license fees
and fines.

A 50-cent surcharge per bottle on distilled
spirit products was imposed in April 2009 and
has since been renewed by the OLCC in each
subsequent biennium. The surcharge is
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Please note that the Legislative Policy and Research
Office provides centralized, nonpartisan research
and issue analysis for Oregon’s legislative branch.
The Legislative Policy and Research Office does not
provide legal advice. Background Briefs contain
general information that is current as of the date of
publication. Subsequent action by the legislative,
executive or judicial branches may affect accuracy.
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