

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICANTS (DUII) Background Brief

BACKGROUND

In Oregon, it is against the law for a person to drive a vehicle if the driver has a certain amount of alcohol in their bloodstream or is under the influence of any combination of alcohol, inhalants or controlled substances. This is called "driving under the influence of intoxicants", or DUII.¹

According to the 2015 Oregon Annual Uniform Crime Report, there were over 9,000 DUII offenses in Oregon and 7,987 arrests for DUII that vear.² Of those arrests, 10 percent had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of less than .08 percent, 60 percent had a BAC over .08 percent, 10 percent refused to give a breath or blood sample and nearly 20 percent were intoxicated due to drugs or an unknown intoxicant. Less

than one percent of those arrested were under the legal drinking age.

In 2015, 155 motor vehicle accident fatalities involved a measurable BAC.³

to one

BACKGROUND

CONTENTS

DUII CONVICTION

SUSPENSION

DIVERSION

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES

STAFF CONTACT

DUII CONVICTION

Every DUII conviction carries a mandatory 48-hour imprisonment term or requires community service hours.

First or second DUII convictions are Class A misdemeanors and may carry a sentence of up to one year in jail. A third conviction for DUII

within a ten-year time period is a Class C felony. Any subsequent DUII convictions are treated as a Class C felony, punishable by mandatory minimum incarceration of 90 days. However, for an offender with a juvenile record of DUII, the fourth total DUII, including juvenile offenses, will result in felony DUII.

Courts must impose a minimum fine of \$1,000 for first convictions and \$1,500 for second convictions. For

third or subsequent convictions, the fine is a minimum of \$2,000 if the person is not sentenced to jail time.

Certain circumstances will result in an increased fine. For example, if a person's BAC

³ United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2011-2015 Traffic Safety Facts.

¹ See ORS Chapter 813.

² <u>State of Oregon Report of Criminal Offenses and</u> <u>Arrests (2015).</u> Oregon Uniform Crime Reporting Program.



was over 0.15 percent, the minimum fine is \$2,000. Where a person drives a motor vehicle and has a passenger who is under the age of 18 and at least three years younger than the driver, the fine may be up to \$10,000.

Courts may also impose other requirements on a person convicted of DUII, including a screening interview and attendance at a treatment program or victim impact program. Proof of completion of a treatment program is required for reinstatement of driving privileges through the Oregon Department of Transportation. If unable to complete the program, the person may petition the court to show that the person has taken sufficient steps toward completion. Alternatively, the person can wait 15 vears before seeking reinstatement.

SUSPENSION

Sanctions other than jail or fines may be imposed. In Oregon, motorists grant implied consent to have their breath and urine tested alcohol, controlled substances for or inhalants, upon police officers' reasonable beliefs that motorists were driving while intoxicated. Police officers requesting a urine test must be certified by the Board of Public Safety Standards and Training and have completed specific training on recognition of drug impaired driving. Additionally, drivers give implied consent to submit to a field sobriety test.

If a person refuses to take a test, or if a breath test reveals a BAC of over .08 percent, the person's driving privileges are suspended. Suspension of driving privileges is independent of the DUII charge.

• For individuals who refuse to take the test, the base period of suspension is one year,

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICANTS (DUII)

but may be from three months to three years, depending on circumstances. Refusal also results in a minimum fine of \$500, with a maximum of \$1,000.

- For individuals who fail the breath test, suspension is for 90 days, unless other circumstances exist. Hardship permits for limited driving privileges may be given after 30 days.
- For a felony conviction of DUII or third misdemeanor conviction of DUII, driving privileges are revoked.

Suspension periods may be increased if the person is actively participating in a diversion program, has had a prior suspension or has prior convictions for DUII.

DIVERSION

In Oregon, an offender may be eligible to enter a diversion program for DUII. A diversion program directs an offender away from traditional criminal prosecution and into an alternative format. Successful completion of a diversion program often results in the charges against the defendant being dismissed. The period of the diversion program must be at least one year from the date the court allowed the petition.

Diversion is not available to all DUII defendants. Disqualifications for diversion include:

- Pending DUII charges in Oregon or in another jurisdiction;
- DUII conviction in the past 15 years;
- Conviction of felony DUII at any time;
- Current participation in a diversion program or drug rehabilitation program;



- Conviction within the last 15 years for aggravated vehicular homicide, murder, manslaughter, criminally negligent homicide or assault that resulted from operating a motor vehicle;
- Holding a commercial driver license;
- Operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense;
- Killing or physically injuring another in a motor vehicle accident involving the DUII offense; or
- Failing to appear at arraignment.

In order to participate in diversion, the defendant must agree to several stipulations and adhere to certain requirements. The defendant must:

- Plead guilty or no contest;
- Agree to undergo a complete drug and alcohol evaluation;
- Agree to complete a treatment program;
- Refrain from using intoxicants and comply with laws designed to discourage use of intoxicants;
- Keep the court advised on the defendant's current mailing address;
- Pay all fees and restitution, if ordered;
- Waive all former jeopardy rights in any subsequent action based on the same criminal episode; and
- Swear that the defendant meets all of the eligibility criteria.

The defendant must also install and use an ignition interlock device on any vehicle the defendant operates during diversion.

Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII)

Diversion program fees include a \$490 filing fee (as of January 2014), a \$150 fee paid to the agency or organization providing the evaluation, and any fees for a court-appointed attorney. Courts may also require defendants to attend a victim impact treatment session, and may charge a fee for the program. Fees may be waived or deferred for indigent defendants. Courts may require the defendant in diversion to pay restitution for damage caused by the offense.

If the defendant is eligible for a diversion program and has filed for diversion, the court must determine whether to allow or deny the petition. The court must consider whether the diversion will benefit the defendant and community. Other factors the court may take into consideration are whether:

- The defendant had early recognition that drug or alcohol treatment would be beneficial;
- It is likely that the defendant will cooperate with the evaluation and treatment program;
- The defendant will observe the restrictions of the program (refraining from use of intoxicants, installation of ignition interlock device, etc.); and
- There were passengers in the vehicle who were under 18 years of age and three or more years younger than the defendant.

If the defendant is not eligible for diversion or the court denies the petition, the offense proceedings against the defendant will continue, but the guilty plea or no contest plea will not be used in the proceeding.

If the court allows the petition, the court will accept the guilty or no contest plea, but



Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII)

withholds entry of judgment of conviction until the defendant either completes diversion or the agreement is terminated. The defendant can request an extension of the diversion period.

Should the defendant fail to comply with the terms of the diversion agreement, the court enters the guilty or no contest plea, enters a judgment of conviction, and sentences the defendant.

A defendant who successfully adheres to the agreement and completes diversion may petition to dismiss the DUII charge with prejudice. The court may dismiss the matter if the defendant has not filed the motion and six months have passed since the defendant completed the diversion.

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES

Instillation of an ignition interlock device (IID) is required on any vehicle operated by a person convicted of DUII and driving with a hardship license, and on most DUII diversion participants. An IID is an electronic device that is fitted to a vehicle. The driver of the vehicle blows into a tube connected to the device, which analyzes the contents of the breath for alcohol. The alcohol content is recorded. If the result is over a set amount, often 0.02 percent, the vehicle will record a "failure" and will not start. Some devices require the driver to breath into the device while the vehicle is running but stopped. Some devices are equipped with cameras and anti-tampering measures. The Oregon Department of Transportation maintains a list of approved IID devices.⁴ The driver is responsible for all fees and payment associated with installing and maintaining the IID.

For a defendant in diversion, the IID must be equipped for the period of the diversion agreement. A defendant in diversion may apply, however, for removal of the IID upon showing six months of device use without a negative report and compliance with all other diversion requirements.⁵ For first time offenders, IIDs must be installed before hardship permits are granted and must be equipped for one year after the end of the suspension or revocation. For second and subsequent offenders, the IID must be equipped for two years after the ending date of the license suspension. In instances where an offender has been convicted of DUII and another crime that results in death or severe injury to another, the IID must be installed for five years after the end of the suspension or revocation.

STAFF CONTACT

Channa Newell Legislative Policy and Research Office 503-986-1525 <u>channa.newell@oregonlegislature.gov</u>

Please note that the Legislative Policy and Research Office provides centralized, nonpartisan research and issue analysis for Oregon's legislative branch. The Legislative Policy and Research Office does not

⁴ List of approved devices:

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/iid_appr oved_devices.pdf.

⁵ See ORS 813.645



Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII)

provide legal advice. Background Briefs contain general information that is current as of the date of publication. Subsequent action by the legislative, executive or judicial branches may affect accuracy.