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OVERVIEW 

Oregon established its sex offender registry in 
1989 for the purpose of assisting law 
enforcement in the prevention of future sex 
crimes. Currently, there are more than 28,000 
offenders registered in the state. Registration 
is required for those convicted of specific sex 
crimes. The Oregon State 
Police (OSP) maintains a 
database of all registered sex 
offenders and a publicly 
accessible website with 
information on high risk 
offenders.  

In 2015, 1,408 new sex 
offenders registered with OSP. 
An additional 27,281 
offenders maintained their 
registration, for a total of 
28,689 offenders. According 
to the Crime Victim’s Center 
and the United States Census, 
Oregon has the highest 
percentage of registered sex 
offenders in the nation.  

Oregon has developed a system for providing 
reporting relief to some low risk offenders 
while maintaining on-going reporting 
requirements for high and medium risk 
offenders. Additionally, Oregon allows 
juvenile sex offenders to request a hearing 
prior to reporting to determine whether to 
grant relief from the reporting requirement.  

WHO MUST REGISTER AND 

REPORT  

All persons convicted of a registerable offense 
have an obligation to register and report as a 
sex offender. Persons found guilty except for 
insanity or convicted in another state are also 

required to register. 
Registerable offenses are 
found in ORS 163A.005(5). 
They are: 

 Rape in any degree; 

 Sodomy in any degree; 

 Unlawful sexual 
penetration in any 
degree; 

 Sexual abuse in any 
degree; 

 Incest with a child 
victim; 

 Using a child in a 
display of sexually 
explicit conduct; 

 Encouraging child sexual abuse in any 
degree; 

 Transporting child pornography into 
the state; 

 Paying for viewing a child’s sexually 
explicit conduct; 

 Compelling prostitution; 

 Promoting prostitution; 
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 Kidnapping in the first degree if the 
victim was under 18 years of age; 

 Contributing to the sexual 
delinquency of a minor; 

 Sexual misconduct if the offender is at 
least 18 years of age; 

 Possession of materials depicting 
sexually explicit conduct of a child in 
the first degree; 

 Kidnapping in the second degree if the 
victim was under 18 years of age, 
except by a parent or by a person 
found to be within the jurisdiction of 
the juvenile court; 

 Online sexual corruption of a child in 
any degree if the offender reasonably 
believed the child to be more than five 
years younger than the offender; 

 Certain instances of luring a minor; 

 Sexual assault of an animal; 

 Public indecency or private indecency, 
if the person has a prior conviction of 
certain crimes; 

 Trafficking in persons; 

 Purchasing sex with a minor; 

 Invasion of personal privacy in the 
first degree; 

 Attempt to commit any of the crimes 
listed above; 

 Burglary, when committed with intent 
to commit any of the offenses listed 
above; or 

 Criminal conspiracy if the offender 
agrees with one or more persons to 
engage in or cause the performance of 
an offense outlined above. 

A person with an obligation to register must 
do so within ten days following discharge or 
beginning supervision. Offenders must also 
report, in person, within ten days of changing 
residency; having a birthday; or beginning or 
changing work, school, or vocational 
programs. Reports can be made to OSP, or a 
city law enforcement or county sheriff’s office. 
Offenders who move to Oregon from another 
state must register within ten days of moving 
into the state. Offenders who are attending 
school or working in Oregon, but reside in 
another state, must also register within ten 
days of beginning or changing school or 
employment.  

HOUSE BILL 2549 (2013) AND 

THE TIERED SYSTEM 

In 2013, the legislature enacted House Bill 
2549, which took effect January 1, 2014. The 
measure created a three-tiered sex offender 
ranking system that sought to identify low, 
medium and high risk offenders through the 
use of a validated risk assessment tool. The 
tool uses a ten-item actuarial assessment to 
designate offenders as high (Level Three), 
medium (Level Two) or low risk (Level One). 
The assessment tool determines the risk of an 
individual sexually reoffending in the 
community, but is only available for use with 
male sex offenders over the age of 18. 
Evaluations for female sex offenders and 
juvenile sex offenders are conducted through 
other tools and done in person. The measure 
required all offenders in the registry to be 
reclassified and for classification of new 
offenders to take place before their release. 
Reclassification of offenders is an ongoing 
effort that will likely continue into 2018.   

Prior to enactment of HB 2549, sex offenders 
fell into three categories: predatory offenders, 
sexually violent dangerous offenders or sexual 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013R1/Measures/Overview/HB2549
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013R1/Measures/Overview/HB2549
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offenders. The predatory designation was 
attached by the trial court judge and applied 
only to convictions for rape, sodomy, unlawful 
sexual penetration, sexual abuse and attempts 
of those crimes. Sexually violent dangerous 
offenders were designated by the court or the 
State Board of Parole and Post-Prison 
Supervision and applied only to first degree 
sex offenses and attempts. These designations 
could only be applied to those convicted of the 
specified crimes and were not evidence based. 
This lead to inconsistently applied 
designations and situations in which an 
offender should have been designated a higher 
risk level and was not.   

Under HB 2549, if a person was designated a 
“predatory” sex offender or “sexually violent 
dangerous offender,” that person is an 
automatic Level Three offender. All Level 
Three offenders are listed on the OSP website 
and are ineligible for total relief from 
reporting obligations. Other Level Three 
offenders are eligible to apply to move to Level 
Two after ten years without re-offense. Level 
Two offenders are eligible for reclassification 
to Level One after ten years without re-offense. 
Level One offenders are eligible for relief from 
the reporting obligation after five years 
without re-offense.  

When an offender petitions for 
reclassification, the State Board of Parole and 
Post-Prison Supervision or the Psychiatric 
Security Review Board, as appropriate, must 
hold a hearing. At the hearing, the 
apporpriate supervisory board will determine, 
by clear and convincing evidence, whether the 
offender is statistically unlikely to reoffend 
and whether he or she poses a threat to public 
safety. When making this determiniation the 
court considers a number of factors, including 
the nature of the crime and degree of violence 
involved in the offense, the offender’s 
performance on supervision, completion of 

sex offender treatment programs and the 
person’s stabilit. The state’s interest is 
represented by the District Attorney of the 
county of conviction or the Attorney General. 
The victim of the crime receives notification 
of the hearing and may appear.   

NOTIFICATION AND PUBLIC 

WEBSITE 

OSP maintains a public website with 
information on over 700 high-risk sex 
offenders. In order to be placed on the public 
website, the offender must be either 
designated a Level Three offender or have a 
pre-2013 “predatory” offender designation 
and have been on a high level of supervision. 
According to a September 2016 report to the 
legislature, there are currently 225 Level Three 
offenders and 485 predatory offenders on the 
website. The Board of Parole and Post-Prison 
Supervision estimates that five to ten percent 
of the total sex offender population will be 
classified as Level Three, and eventually 
placed on the public website.  

Additionally, OSP maintains a database of all 
registered sex offenders. Information from 
that database must be released, when 
requested, if it is necessary to protect the 
public. Information may be released if it is 
determined to be in the public interest. 
Specific Level Three offender information 
may be given to others, including those living 
with a sex offender, neighbors, churches, 
parks, schools, child care centers, long-term 
care facilities and local or regional media 
sources. For Level Two and Level One 
offenders, information may be released to the 
specific persons or entities outlined above.  

 

 

 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2015I1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/92938
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2015I1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/92938
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JUVENILE OFFENDERS 

In 2015, House Bill 2320 provided a hearing 
mechanism for juvenile sex offenders to 
petition for relief from reporting 
requirements. The concept was further 
refined in House Bill 4074 for the 2016 
session. The two measures allow for a juvenile 
who has been adjudicated for a felony sex 
crime to petition the juvenile court for relief 
from the reporting obligation. The optional 
hearing is available to juveniles within six 
months of the end of their supervision.  

At the hearing, the juvenile has the burden to 
prove, by clear and convincing evidence, that 
he or she has been rehabilitated and does not 
pose a public safety threat. The court 
considers many factors when determining 
whether the juvenile has met this burden, 
including the physical and emotional impact 
or injury to the victim, the nature of the act, 
any use of force in committing the act, 
premeditation, whether the juvenile took 
advantage of a position of authority or trust, 
the victim’s age and vulnerability, the 
juvenile’s willingness to accept responsibility 
for the act and the treatment programs the 
juvenile has participated in.  

If the juvenile meets the burden of proof, the 
court may grant relief from the reporting 
requirement. If the juvenile does not meet the 
burden of proof, or if the juvenile does not 
request the hearing, then the juvenile is 
required to register and report as a sex 
offender. Reporting is through the Oregon 
Youth Authority.  
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channa.newell@oregonlegislature.gov 
 
Please note that the Legislative Policy and Research 
Office provides centralized, nonpartisan research 
and issue analysis for Oregon’s legislative branch. 
The Legislative Policy and Research Office does not 
provide legal advice. Background Briefs contain 
general information that is current as of the date of 
publication. Subsequent action by the legislative, 
executive or judicial branches may affect accuracy.  

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2015R1/Measures/Overview/HB2320
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Measures/Overview/HB4074
mailto:channa.newell@oregonlegislature.gov

