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Roughly three million people are licensed to operate vehicles in Oregon. The state 
agency responsible for licensing drivers in Oregon is the Driver and Motor Vehicle 
(DMV) Services Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT). The 
DMV serves approximately 13,000 customers daily at 60 local offices (figure 1) and two 
dealer processing centers, and answers 1.5 million customer phone calls annually. 
Each year, about 180,000 new driver licenses are issued in Oregon, with an additional 
350,000 licenses renewed. 
 
DMV securely maintains driver and vehicle records. Most 
of these are considered public records and are available 
by making a request and paying a fee. However, certain 
personally identifiable customer information contained in 
the records is protected and only released to the 
individual or to qualified entities under Oregon’s Record 
Privacy Law. Examples of qualified entities include law 
enforcement, insurance companies, attorneys, and 
businesses verifying or correcting customer information 
on file. DMV responds to more than three million 
requests for records annually.  
 

Figure 1: DMV Locations in Oregon 

 
Source: ODOT 
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GETTING A LICENSE 

Like most states, Oregon has a graduated licensing system that allows younger drivers 

to progress through a series of restricted permits or licenses to gain experience before 

qualifying for a full license. Oregon’s current graduated licensing system began in 

March 2000.  

The first level of driving privilege in Oregon is the Class C instruction permit that allows 

a driver who is at least age 15 to operate vehicles, but with restrictions, most notably 

that the driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old. The 

purpose of the instruction permit is to allow new drivers to gain experience under the 

supervision of an experienced driver. 

To qualify, applicants must pass a knowledge and vision test and, if under age 18, 

include a parent or legal guardian signature (which also certifies school enrollment), or 

the applicant must prove graduation or receipt of a GED. Instruction permits are valid for 

24 months. 

The second level of driving privilege in Oregon is the Class C 

provisional license issued to 16- and 17-year-old drivers. To 

qualify, teens must have held an instruction permit for at least six 

months. They must also have completed: (1) an ODOT-approved 

driver education course and certify at least 50 hours of supervised 

driving experience; or (2) at least 100 hours of supervised driving 

and passed an additional knowledge test about safe driving 

practices. If the applicant passed an ODOT-approved driver 

education course which includes a drive test, the DMV drive test 

is waived. If they did not take or did not pass the course, the 

applicant must take and pass the DMV driving test. 

A driver with a provisional license is subject to the following 

restrictions for the first year or until age 18, whichever is first: 

• The first year – no driving between midnight and 5:00 AM except for work or school 

activities or if accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age; 

• The first six months – no passengers under age 20 other than immediate family 

members; and 

• The second six months – no more than three passengers under age 20, not 

including immediate family members. 

Individuals 18 years of age and older may qualify for a standard Class C license. This 

license allows operation of most vehicles under 26,000 pounds, as well as recreational 

vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and towing other vehicles and trailers within 

weight limits. 

Source: ODOT 
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To initially obtain a license, applicants complete an application process that includes: 

furnishing proof of age, identity, Oregon residency, and legal presence in the United 

States; providing a valid Social Security number; passing the required knowledge, 

driving, and vision tests; and paying fees. Most licenses are valid for eight years. To 

renew a license, applicants complete an application, furnish proof of physical address 

and identify, take a new picture, pass a vision test if the applicant is age 50 or older, and 

pay the renewal fee.   

Some vehicles such as motorcycles require an endorsement in addition to a Class C 

license. An unrestricted motorcycle endorsement requires successful completion of an 

approved rider education course. Three-wheel restricted motorcycle endorsements do 

not require training; testing is done by DMV.  

A farm endorsement allows operation of farmer-controlled or operated vehicles, within 

certain limitations, that would otherwise require a commercial driver license. 

COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSES 

A commercial driver license (CDL) is generally required to operate commercial motor 
vehicles (CMV) – primarily vehicles over 26,000 pounds. Exceptions exist for 
recreational vehicles, some farm vehicles, and emergency vehicles operated by 
emergency personnel. Only those 18 and older qualify for a CDL, and only those age 21 
and older may operate a CMV in interstate commerce. Applicants must meet all 
qualifications for a standard driver license, and pass the CDL knowledge and skills tests 
in English. They also must remain certified medically to maintain their commercial 
driving privileges. Most CDLs are issued for eight years, but a driver’s medical 
certification must be updated at least every two years. 

There are three different classes of commercial driver license:  

• Class A CDL: operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles; 

• Class B CDL: operate any single vehicle, and tow trailers 10,000 pounds or less; 

• Class C CDL: operate a vehicle less than 26,001 pounds that is designed to carry 16 
or more people (including the driver) or is carrying hazardous materials. 

In addition to a CDL, endorsements may be required to operate a school bus, 
commercial passenger vehicle, tank vehicle, or a double/triple trailer, or to transport 
hazardous materials. DMV may issue a Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) to authorize 
a person age 18 or older to operate a CMV, with a properly licensed driver in the 
adjacent seat. 

Commercial driver licensing, though handled by the states, is heavily regulated by the 
federal government as a regulation of interstate commerce. Non-compliance with the 
federal CDL program can result in loss of federal highway funds or decertification that 
would prevent Oregon from issuing CDLs. In addition to state licensing requirements, 
federal regulations place requirements on drivers and their employers. Federal 
regulations are amended frequently and state regulations are updated accordingly. 
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SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION 

Driving privileges may be suspended or revoked by a court, or administratively by DMV, 
for many reasons. Driving-related offenses that can result in suspension include driving 
under the influence of intoxicants (DUII), egregious speeding, multiple moving violations 
in a short period of time, and many more. Some suspensions are not directly or 
indirectly related to driving such as failing to pay court fines for traffic violations and 
failure to pay child support. Recent legislation has modified driver license suspension 
laws, including eliminating suspensions for some offenses not related to driving, while 
establishing additional license suspension criteria for CDL licensees.  

A person whose license has been suspended may qualify for a hardship permit 
depending on the reason for the suspension. Those suspensions that allow for a 
hardship permit authorize driving for various purposes (depending on the underlying 
suspension), including: work, medical treatment, substance abuse treatment, or other 
reasons. No hardship permit is available that will allow operation of a CMV. 

DMV suspends or revokes the licenses of over 200,000 drivers each year. The process 
begins when DMV mails a notice to a driver about a suspension or revocation, providing 
an opportunity to correct the problem or ask for a hearing. Some drivers may not 
receive the notice due to failure to update their addresses with DMV, or may not read 
the notice they do receive. Some individuals make a conscious decision to continue 
driving while suspended. Nationally, estimates of suspended drivers who continue to 
drive are as high as 75 percent. 

MEDICAL REPORTING 

Nearly every state operates a program to identify drivers who may not be able to drive 
safely. Some states have different renewal periods for older drivers, require additional 
vision screenings, or require in-person license renewals. While mandatory retesting for 
older drivers is uncommon, a few states require drive tests for those older than age 75.  
Some states suspend driving privileges if the person is diagnosed with a specific 
medical condition. Oregon’s Medically At-Risk program relies on reporting from medical 
professionals and others to identify people who may need to stop driving. Oregon’s law 
focuses on cognitive and functional impairments that impact driving, rather than age or 
diagnosis, to identify drivers who should enter the program (table 1).  

Table 1: Components of Medically At-Risk Program 

Reporting Type Program Description 

Mandatory Reporting Primary care providers are required to notify the DMV of patients 
who have “severe and uncontrollable” conditions that affect safe 
driving 

Voluntary Reporting Medical professionals, law enforcement, family members, and 
others may report people to the DMV 

Self-Reporting Individuals may choose to relinquish their licenses and receive a 
free identification (ID) card 

Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office 
Data: Oregon Department of Transportation 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/driverid/suspreasons.aspx
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Valid reports under the mandatory program usually result in an immediate suspension. 
Most people who have a license suspended in this way do not regain driving privileges. 
Those reported under the voluntary program often are required to come to DMV for re-
testing. Less than one-third result in immediate suspension and most retain or later 
regain privileges. Under either program, the person may submit additional medical 
information and request a hearing. DMV employs doctors to review this medical 
information to determine whether the driver’s ability to drive safely is affected by 
cognitive or functional impairments. A work group, assembled at the direction of the 
Legislative Assembly in 2011, suggested the program make minor changes, which were 
made, but overall found it functioning well. Medical providers have civil immunity for 
reporting, or not reporting, their patients. 

BIOMETRIC DATA / FACIAL RECOGNITION 

Under a law enacted in 2005 by the Legislative Assembly, DMV performs a biometric 
check to help identify whether an applicant has had their identity stolen, has fraudulently 
applied for a license in the past, or has been issued a license under a different name. 
Biometric data refers to unique physical characteristics that can be used to identify an 
individual. Oregon uses special cameras and facial recognition software to analyze 
digital photographs taken for the driver license.  
 
DMV uses facial recognition in two ways. 
The photo of each applicant for a new, 
renewal, or replacement license or ID card 
is compared to the former photos of that 
person in the DMV database to confirm it is 
the same person to whom a credential was 
issued in the past. This “one-to-one” check 
is performed at the counter when the photo 
is taken. Overnight, the new photo is 
compared to all other photos in DMV’s 
database. This “one-to-many” check confirms 
that the applicant does not have a license issued under a different name. To 
accommodate the overnight process, and for other security purposes, DMV issues all 
licenses from a central processing center. Applicants are given a paper temporary 
license when leaving a DMV office; the plastic card is mailed within a few days. 

VERIFICATION OF LEGAL PRESENCE 

In 2008, the Legislative Assembly enacted a requirement that applicants for all driver 
licenses and ID cards (new, renewed, or replacement) provide proof of legal presence 
in the United States, and a verifiable Social Security number (SSN), or proof of being 
ineligible for a SSN, prior to issuance. Applicants for a CDL or CLP must show proof of 
U.S. citizenship or permanent lawful residence, and a verifiable SSN. In some cases, a 
person with temporary legal residency may obtain a limited-term CDL or CLP. 

Source: ODOT 
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Proof of legal presence can take the form of a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, tribal 
identification document, or certain immigration documents. DMV verifies the applicant’s 
SSN through the federal Social Security Online Verification system.  

Individuals who are not citizens also must provide documentation showing they are 
legally present in the United States (as permanent legal residents, or temporarily on a 
student or work visa, for example). Applicants who are legally present on a temporary 
basis are issued a limited-term card that expires on the ending date of their legal stay, 
or eight years, whichever is less. Immigration documents are verified by the federal 
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program. In 2018, Oregon modified the 
renewal or replacement process for certain individuals with a previously issued limited- 
term identification card, driver license, or driver permit. Under the new provisions, DMV 
may not verify the documents that were initially used to obtain a limited-term card when 
an applicant applies, and the renewal or replacement card will be issued for two years. 
The changes to the verification of legal presence and limited-term card process sunset 
on December 31, 2021. 

REAL ID ACT 

The federal Real ID Act of 2005 prescribed minimum standards for state-issued driver 

licenses and ID cards for those documents to be acceptable identification for federal 

purposes such as boarding airplanes and entering federal buildings. The law is 

administered by the federal Department of Homeland Security (DHS). To issue Real ID 

cards, DMV must meet physical security requirements for offices and card-production 

facilities. Additionally, DMV will be required to conduct name- and fingerprint-based 

background checks for most DMV employees. Some of the other key requirements for 

state-issued Real ID licenses and ID cards include:  

 

Verifying a valid SSN through the Social Security Administration

Documenting legal presence in the U.S.

Copying and storing identification and legal presence documents for 10 years

Verifying immigration documents of those temporarily in the U.S. through the federal 
system

Setting the expiration date of cards issued to those temporarily in the U.S. on the end 
date of their lawful stay in the U.S.

Verifying identity source documents (e.g., U.S. passports or birth certificates) with the 
issuing agency, when verification systems are available

Checking the national clearinghouse to verify the applicant does not have a current driver 
license or ID card in another state
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Oregon currently meets most provisions of the Real ID Act. While Oregon has not been 

deemed in compliance, DHS has granted Oregon an extension through October 10, 

2018, making the state’s credentials acceptable in all federal facilities as it seeks 

another extension. In 2017, Oregon enacted Senate Bill 374, creating a separate class 

of driver licenses that fully comply with Real ID. Real ID-compliant licenses will be 

available starting mid-2020 once DMV has implemented the necessary steps to issue 

cards that meet the federal requirements. The cost of obtaining a Real ID is borne by 

the applicant. Legislation enacted in 2018 further clarified the fee structure for initial 

issuance of a Real ID, as well as when an existing driver license is replaced with or 

renewed as a Real ID. When an applicant with an existing license wishes to switch to a 

Real ID, the transaction will be for the Real ID upcharge and a replacement card, not a 

new license transaction. This lowers the fee for the applicant, and DMV issues the Real 

ID for the remaining time the applicant had on the prior license.  

Homeland Security’s enforcement of Real ID is being implemented in four phases. The 

first three phases are in place, with noncompliant states’ driver licenses and ID cards no 

longer acceptable to enter federal DHS headquarters, certain federal facilities, military 

installations, and nuclear power plants. Phase Four enforcement – requiring Real ID-

compliant credentials for boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft – will be 

enforced in two stages. Starting January 22, 2018, passengers with driver licenses 

issued by a state that is not compliant (and does not have an extension) must show an 

alternative form of acceptable identification for domestic air travel. Passengers from a 

state that is compliant (or has an extension) will be able to use their driver license or ID 

card. (As of May 2018, all U.S. jurisdictions, except American Samoa are compliant or 

have an extension.) On October 1, 2020, every air traveler will need to present a Real 

ID-compliant license, or another acceptable form of identification for domestic air travel. 

OTHER DMV DUTIES ASSOCIATED WITH LICENSING 

During the process of issuing or renewing a license or ID card, the law requires DMV to 

administer several other programs unrelated to driver qualifications. Applicants can 

identify themselves as potential organ donors. Veterans may have their veteran status 

indicated on the license or ID card, and may authorize DMV to provide contact 

information to the Oregon Department of Veterans’ Affairs for benefits coordination. 

DMV also assists in the voter registration process. 

NEW MOTOR VOTER 

For over 20 years, state and federal laws have required DMV to offer voter registration 

to its customers during issuance of a driver license, permit, or identification card (“Motor 

Voter”). In 2002, Congress passed the Help America Vote Act and, as a result, DMV 

began electronically exchanging limited customer information with the Oregon Secretary 

of State’s (SOS) office to facilitate voter registration. In 2015, House Bill 2177 (“New 

Motor Voter”) changed the process by which DMV provided the opportunity to opt in to 

voter registration. Instead, DMV automatically sends qualifying customers’ information 
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to SOS for them to provide the opportunity for customers to opt out of registration (or, if 

desired, choose a political party). For DMV’s operations, the change was to send 

roughly the same type of data, but more frequently and for a larger number of 

customers.   

STAFF CONTACT 

Patrick Brennan     Kayla Byers 
Legislative Policy and Research Office  Legislative Policy and Research Office 
503-986-1674     503-986-1556 
patrick.h.brennan@oregonlegislature.gov  kayla.byers@oregonlegislature.gov  
 
Please note that the Legislative Policy and Research Office provides centralized, 

nonpartisan research and issue analysis for Oregon’s legislative branch. The Legislative 

Policy and Research Office does not provide legal advice. This document contains 

general information that is current as of the date of publication. Subsequent action by 

the legislative, executive, or judicial branches may affect accuracy. 
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