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Background Brief on … 
 

Driver 
Licenses 

 
 
There are roughly three million persons licensed to 
operate vehicles in Oregon. The state agency responsible 
for licensing drivers in Oregon is the Driver and Motor 
Vehicle Services Division (DMV) of the Oregon 
Department of Transportation (ODOT). The DMV 
serves approximately 13,000 customers daily through 60 
local offices and two dealer processing centers, and 
answers 1.7 million customer phone calls annually. 
About 125,000 new driver licenses are issued in Oregon, 
with an additional 200,000 licenses renewed, each year. 
 
DMV securely maintains driver and vehicle records. 
Most of these records are considered public records and 
are available by making a request and paying a fee. 
However, certain personally identifiable customer 
information contained in the records is protected and 
only released to the person themselves or to qualified 
entities under Oregon’s Record Privacy Law. Examples 
of qualified entities include law enforcement, insurance 
companies, attorneys, and businesses verifying or 
correcting customer information on file. DMV responds 
to more than three million records requests annually. 
 
Getting a License 
Like most other states, Oregon has a graduated licensing 
system that allows younger drivers to progress through a 
series of two or more restricted permits or licenses to 
gain experience before qualifying for a full license. 
Oregon’s current graduated licensing system was 
initiated in March 2000.  
 
The first level of license in Oregon is the Class C 
instruction permit that allows a driver who is at least 15 
years old to operate vehicles, but with certain 
restrictions, most notably that the driver must be 
accompanied by a driver with a valid license who is at  
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least 21 years old. The purpose of the instruction 
permit is to allow new drivers to gain experience 
under the direct observation of an experienced 
driver. To qualify, applicants must pass a 
knowledge test and provide proof of school 
enrollment, completion or exemption. 
Instruction permits are valid for 24 months from 
the date of issuance. 
 
The second level of license in Oregon is the 
Class C provisional license that applies to 16 
and 17-year old drivers. To qualify, the 
individual must have held an instructional 
permit (from Oregon, another state, or the 
District of Columbia) for at least six months 
before applying. The individual must also certify 
they have had at least 50 hours of supervised 
driving experience and completed a driver 
education course that meets ODOT 
specifications, alternatively, they may certify 
that they have a total of 100 supervised hours of 
driving.  
 
Drivers holding a provisional license are subject 
to the following restrictions, except when 
driving with an instructor as part of traffic safety 
education or with a parent or stepparent: 
• For the entire first year – drivers may not 

drive between midnight and 5:00 AM except 
between home and work, between home and 
a school event for which no other 
transportation is available, for employment 
purposes, or if driving with a licensed 
passenger who is at least 25 years of age 

• For the first six months – drivers may not 
carry any passengers under 20 years of age 
who are not immediate family members 

• For the second six months – drivers may not 
carry more than three passengers under 20 
years of age who are not immediate family 
members 

 
Upon reaching 18 years of age, individuals may 
qualify for a standard Class C license. This 
license allows the bearer to operate vehicles 
under 26,000 pounds, recreational vehicles, fire 
and emergency vehicles, and to tow other 
vehicles and trailers with certain weight 
restrictions. 
 

In order to successfully obtain a license, 
applicants must complete an application process 
that includes furnishing proof of age, identity 
and Oregon residence address; prove legal 
presence and provide a Social Security number 
(see below); successfully complete required 
knowledge, driving, and vision tests; and pay 
applicable fees. Most licenses are valid for a 
period of eight years. 
 
Fees for Class C non-commercial driver licenses 
are as follows:  
• Class C license  $60.00 
• Instruction permit  $23.50 
 
Some vehicles, such as motorcycles and certain 
types of farm equipment, require a Class C 
license and an additional endorsement.  A farm 
endorsement puts certain restrictions on vehicle 
use.  A motorcycle endorsement requires 
completing a training course for most applicants.  
The training requirement, based on a 2009 law, 
is being implemented based on operator age; by 
January 1, 2015 all new applicants must have 
completed the training course. Until that date, 
those not required to take the course may simply 
take a knowledge and skills test at DMV. 
 
The following endorsement fees apply in 
addition to the standard Class C license fee: 
• Motorcycle   $87.00 
• Farm   $29.00 
 
Commercial Driver Licenses 
A commercial driver license (CDL) is generally 
required to operate vehicles with a gross weight 
over 26,000 pounds, vehicles that transport 16 or 
more passengers (including the driver), or 
vehicles used to transport hazardous materials. 
Exceptions exist for personal-use recreational 
vehicles, certain farm vehicles (where the driver 
is operating within the limitations of a farm 
endorsement), and emergency vehicles operated 
by firefighters or emergency service workers. 
Only persons 18 and older may qualify for a 
CDL. Applicants must meet all qualifications for 
a standard driver license, as well as pass the 
CDL knowledge and CDL driving tests (offered 
only in English).  Applicants must also show a 
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medical certification that they have passed a 
CDL medical examination. 
 
There are three different classes of commercial 
driver licenses:   
• Class A CDL: allows the driver to operate 

any vehicle that tows trailers or other 
vehicles over 10,000 pounds, or any Class B 
or C vehicle 

• Class B CDL: allows operation of single 
vehicles over 26,000 pounds towing trailers 
or vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less, or 
operate any Class C vehicle 

• Class C CDL: allows operation of vehicles 
26,000 pounds or less designed to carry 16 
or more passengers (including the driver) or 
vehicles carrying hazardous materials 

 
In addition to these license classes, additional 
endorsements are required for hazardous 
materials, passengers, school buses, 
double/triple trailers, tankers, or vehicles 
equipped with air brakes. Each endorsement has 
knowledge and/or driving tests. Some 
endorsements require background checks, such 
as operating a school bus or a vehicle carrying 
hazardous materials.   
 
Commercial licenses were first regulated by the 
federal government following passage of the 
Commercial Motor Safety Act of 1986. The Act 
retained state issuance of commercial licenses, 
but set minimum licensing standards that states 
must meet when licensing commercial drivers. 
States may exceed the minimum standards. In 
addition to state licensing requirements, the 
federal CDL program places requirements on 
drivers and their employers. Federal regulations 
are constantly being amended. Non-compliance 
with the federal CDL program can result in loss 
of federal highway funds or program 
decertification that would disallow Oregon from 
issuing CDLs.  
 
The fee for a CDL is $75.50 for individuals who 
possess a valid non-commercial Oregon driver 
license or $135.50 for drivers who are not 
otherwise licensed in Oregon. In both cases, 
CDLs are issued for a period of eight years. 
 

Suspension and Revocation 
Driver licenses and permits may be suspended or 
revoked by a court. In cases where an individual 
fails to appear in court or pay a fine for a traffic 
violation, the court may suspend the driving 
privilege. In such cases, driving privileges are 
suspended until the DMV receives proof that the 
case has been cleared by the court or after 10 
years have elapsed, whichever comes first. 
Failure to pay child support or to comply with a 
subpoena related to a child support or paternity 
proceeding can result in a suspension. Failure to 
file a written accident report where the accident 
resulted in injury, death, or property damage 
above $1,500 can also result in suspension.  
 
A license can also be suspended under Oregon’s 
implied consent law for driving under the 
influence of intoxicants (DUII) or for failing to 
comply with a law enforcement officer who 
requests the driver take a breath, blood, or urine 
test for intoxicants. In such cases, the officer 
confiscates the driver license and issues a 30-day 
temporary permit. The suspension takes effect 
following expiration of the permit.  Conviction 
in court for DUII also results in a suspension.   
 
The fee for reinstatement of a suspended license 
is $75. Individuals whose licenses have been 
suspended may also, in some cases, apply for 
hardship permits to allow them to drive to and 
from work, to seek medical treatment, or to 
participate in an alcohol or drug rehabilitation 
program. 
 
Approximately 233,000 Oregon drivers had their 
licenses suspended or revoked in 2010. DMV 
mails a notice to all drivers when their license is 
about to be suspended, providing an opportunity 
to correct the problem or ask for a hearing. 
Some drivers may not receive the notice due to 
failure to update their address with DMV, or 
may not read the notice they do receive, and 
continue to operate their vehicle. There are also 
individuals who are aware that their driving 
privileges are suspended but make a conscious 
decision to continue driving while suspended. 
 
According to the American Automobile 
Association (AAA), an estimated 66 percent of 
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suspended drivers nationwide continue to drive 
without a valid license. A number of proposals 
have been introduced recently to attempt to deal 
with the issue of problem drivers who continue 
to drive while their licenses are suspended. 
Some states have such laws in effect. Examples 
include giving judges more flexibility in 
imposing fines, instituting escalating fines for 
repeat offenders, seizing license plates, and 
requiring new car owners to have a valid license 
prior to the vehicle purchase. 
 
Medical Reporting 
In 2001, the Legislative Assembly passed House 
Bill 3071 that was the product of a committee 
formed to study the effects of aging on driving 
ability. The Older Driver Advisory Committee 
developed a set of recommendations that 
reflected the belief that neither age alone nor the 
presence of various medical conditions can be 
used to determine the risk of being involved in a 
crash. Physicians and health care providers 
worked with the DMV to identify cognitive and 
functional impairments likely to affect a 
person’s ability to safely operate a vehicle and to 
designate physicians and health care providers 
who would be responsible for reporting such 
impairments. Examples of functional 
impairments that must be reported include 
vision, peripheral sensation, strength, flexibility, 
and motor planning and coordination. Cognitive 
impairments include attention, judgment and 
problem solving, reaction time, memory, and 
loss of consciousness or control. 
 
The medical reporting program created by 
House Bill 3071 was fully implemented in June 
2004. There are four primary components: 
• Mandatory Reporting: Primary care 

providers are required to notify the DMV of 
“severe and uncontrollable” conditions that 
they identify in their patients (medical 
information submitted is confidential) 

• Voluntary Reporting: Law enforcement, 
other medical professionals, family 
members, and others may voluntarily report 
people to the DMV 

• Self-Reporting: Individuals are required to 
answer medical questions at the time of 
license issuance and renewal. Individuals 

may voluntarily relinquish their own license 
and receive a free identification (ID) card 

• Vision Testing: All individuals must pass a 
DMV visual acuity and field of vision test at 
the time of license issuance. Drivers age 50 
and older are retested every eight years 

 
In 2010, DMV received more than 4,400 reports 
of medically at-risk drivers through the 
mandatory and voluntary reporting programs. Of 
these, 1,563 reports were made via the 
mandatory reporting program. Individuals 
reported ranged from ages 15 to 95, though 60 
percent were age 70 or older. In all, 73 percent 
of reports resulted in immediate license 
suspension, with only 11 percent of those 
suspended later regaining their driving 
privileges. The 2010 statistics for the voluntary 
reporting program included more than 2,830 
reports received of which 42 percent were 
submitted by law enforcement and 28 percent by 
medical professionals. Of the individuals 
reported, 65 percent were age 70 or older.  
Approximately 18 percent of voluntary reports 
resulted in an immediate license suspension. 
Individuals were required to submit medical 
information and/or retest and the majority 
retained or later regained their driving 
privileges. House Bill 3185 (2011) directed an 
expert work group to review the program and 
report back to the legislature. 
 
Biometric Data / Facial Recognition 
Senate Bill 640 (2005) required that all licenses 
issued by DMV after January 1, 2010 include a 
biometric check that can be used to verify 
whether the individual receiving the license has 
previously been issued a license under a 
different name or identity. Biometric data refers 
to unique physical characteristics that can be 
used to identify an individual. In the case of 
Oregon driver licenses, the data is in the form of 
physical facial characteristics, collected with the 
use of special camera equipment and 
accompanying software. 
 
DMV uses facial recognition in two ways. The 
photo of each applicant for a new, renewal or 
replacement license or ID card is compared to 
all the photos in DMV’s photo database.  This 
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“one-to-many” check confirms that the applicant 
is a unique individual who does not have a 
license that was issued under a different name.  
In addition, the photo of a person who is 
renewing or replacing a license is checked 
against his or her photo in the DMV database to 
confirm that he or she is the same person to 
whom the license was originally issued.  This is 
a “one-to-one” check.  
 
With the transition to biometric photographs, the 
DMV now issues all licenses from a central 
processing center. Applicants are provided a 
paper temporary license when leaving a DMV 
office and are mailed their official license within 
a few days to allow for the comparison of 
biometric data. 
 
Veteran Recognition 
Senate Bill 1000 (2010) included a provision to 
allow Oregon veterans to have a notation 
included on their driver license or ID card that 
the individual is a veteran. There are 
approximately 350,000 veterans in Oregon, and 
inclusion of the designation on driver licenses 
and ID cards is intended to identify veterans and 
assist them in obtaining benefits for which they 
are eligible. The veteran designation program 
became effective January 1, 2011. 
 
Verification of Legal Presence 
The Legislative Assembly enacted Senate Bill 
1080 during the 2008 Special Legislative 
Session, which created the statutory requirement 
that applicants for all new, replacement, or 
renewed driver licenses and ID cards provide the 
DMV with proof of legal presence in the United 
States. In addition, the DMV must verify the 
person’s Social Security number (SSN) prior to 
issuing a license or ID card. 
 
Proof of legal presence can take the form of a 
U.S. birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, tribal 
identification or certain immigration and travel 
documents. DMV verifies the applicant’s SSN 
through the federal Social Security Online 
Verification system. Applicants who are not 
eligible for a SSN must provide proof of 
ineligibility for a SSN. The individual must also 
certify that they are ineligible. 

Individuals who are nonresidents but who are 
legally present (on a student visa, for example) 
must provide documentation showing that they 
are legally present in the United States. 
Applicants who are legally present in the U.S. 
on a temporary basis are issued a “limited term” 
card that expires on the ending date of their legal 
stay, or eight years, whichever is less. Those 
whose length of stay is unspecified are issued a 
one-year limited term card and must apply for 
renewal annually. Immigration documents are 
verified by the federal Systematic Alien 
Verification for Entitlements system. There are 
currently no national systems that can be used to 
verify documents used to demonstrate legal 
presence for U.S. citizens, such as passports and 
birth certificates. Until a national verification 
system becomes available, DMV staff will 
continue to visually verify such documents. 
 
Prior to the passage of Senate Bill 1080, Gov. 
Kulongoski issued Executive Order 07-22 that 
directed the DMV to institute emergency 
administrative rules to require applicants for 
driver licenses and ID cards to provide a SSN 
and certain identity documents prior to issuance. 
The Executive Order stated that its purpose was 
to combat fraud and identity theft which, due to 
Oregon’s eight-year licensure cycle and 
permissive proof of identity requirements, had 
become problematic. The Executive Order took 
effect on February 4, 2008.  
 
Real ID Act 
The federal Real ID Act of 2005 outlined a set 
of minimum standards for state-issued driver 
licenses in order for those licenses to be used for 
official federal purposes such as boarding 
airplanes and entering federal buildings where 
identification is required. The law is 
administered by the federal Department of 
Homeland Security, and includes the following 
key requirements for state-issued licenses and 
ID cards: 
• Applicants must provide a valid SSN, which 

must be verified through the Social Security 
Administration. 

• Applicants must provide documentation 
showing they are legally present in the 
United States. 
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• Applicants temporarily in the U.S. must 
provide valid immigration documents which 
must be verified through the Department of 
Homeland Security. 

• Applicants temporarily in the U.S. must be 
issued a card that expires at the end of their 
lawful stay in the United States. 

• Identity source documents (U.S. passports, 
birth certificates, etc.) must be verified with 
the issuing agency as soon as verification 
systems are available. 

• Identity source documents must be copied or 
digitally imaged and retained for 10 years. 

• Specific information must be included on 
the cards. 

• States must maintain a database of all 
information included on the card and other 
information included in the driver record. 

• Specific physical security requirements for 
DMV offices and card-production facilities 
must be met. 

• Name-based and fingerprint-based 
background checks must be performed for 
all DMV employees. 

 
Oregon meets many provisions of the Real ID 
Act. However, Senate Bill 536 (2009) prohibits 
the state from further implementation of Real ID 
until federal funds are provided to cover the cost 
of implementation, sufficient measures are put in 
place to protect the privacy of individuals and 
safeguard personal information, and a report is 
prepared analyzing the costs of implementing 
the Act.  
 
According to Federal Regulations, beginning in 
January 2013, driver licenses and ID cards 
issued by states that have not complied with 
Real ID may not be accepted by federal agencies 
for official purposes such as boarding aircraft. 
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Committee Services provides centralized, non-
partisan research and issue analysis for the 
Legislative Branch. Committee Services does not 
provide legal advice. Issue briefs are intended to give 
the reader a general understanding of a subject, and 
are based on information which is current as of the 
date of publication. Legislative, executive, and 
judicial actions subsequent to publication may affect 
the timeliness of the information. 
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