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benefits to which the individual is not entitled is liable, in certain 
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otherwise payable under the law of another state. 
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Miscellaneous 
HB 2395 Moves the sunset of the hospital assessment from September 30, 2015, to 

September 30, 2019.  
53 

HB 2455 Extends privilege taxes on merchantable forest products harvested on 
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53 
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2015 REVENUE POLICY OVERVIEW 
 

Introduction 
With Oregon’s economy moving into the expansion phase of the business cycle, revenue policy 
shifted to addressing structural property tax issues, reviewing and streamlining tax credits, 
modifying recent legislation and implementing the voter approved legalization of marijuana. 
 
Revenue Policy Environment 
With statewide payroll employment moving above the pre-recession 2007 level for the first time 
in 2015, Oregon’s economy is expected to expand through the 2015-17 biennium.  Growth is 
forecast to remain moderate as the U.S. economy begins to reach capacity limits and world 
economic growth continues to be relatively weak. 
 
A frequent consequence of economic growth in Oregon’s revenue system is the triggering of the 
2% surplus kicker.  A separate kicker calculation is required for corporate income tax revenue 
and all other General Fund revenue.  Both are based on the difference between actual revenue 
received during the biennium compared to the close of regular legislative session estimate.  
Under Measure 85, approved by voters in 2012, the corporate kicker credit is retained in the 
General Fund for purposes of funding schools.  For the first time since 2007, the personal 
income tax kicker was triggered in the 2013-15 biennium. 
 
The May revenue forecast estimated a personal income kicker tax credit of $477.5 million.  This 
figure was built into the close of session revenue estimate for 2015-17.  With final revenue 
figures for 2015-17 now available, the certified credit is $402.4 million (roughly 6% of pre-credit 
tax liability).  This credit will be taken by taxpayers when filing their 2015 tax returns and will 
have the effect of reducing General Fund revenue in the 2015-17 biennium.  The corporate 
kicker was also triggered with a total credit of $58.9 million.  Since this revenue stays in the 
General Fund for purposes of K-12 education, it does not affect the 2015-17 General 
Fund/Lottery resource table below.   
        
Projected General Fund/Lottery Resources 
2015-17 Biennium  
General Fund  
 Beginning Balance (millions) $503.6 
 Rainy Day Fund Deposit (millions)    (159.2) 
 May Revenue Estimate (millions) 17,831.9 
  Shared Service Fund Allocation (86.2) 
  Corporate Income Tax Rainy Day Fund Allocation (10.1) 
 Net Impact of Legislative Actions (millions) 214.9 
 Estimated General Fund Resources (millions) 18,294.9 
 % Change from 2013-15 11.4% 
Lottery (millions) 1,150.6 
  Education Stability Fund Allocation (203.3) 
Total General Fund Lottery Resources (millions) 19,242.2 
% Change from 2013-15 Biennium 11.3% 
 
The net impact of legislative actions was to increase General Fund resources by an estimated 
$214.9 million for the 2015-17 biennium.  A large part of this increase is due to fund shifts 
contained in the Legislatively Adopted Budget.  These shifts are expected to add $139 million to 
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the General Fund budget.  The largest of these fund shifts is a $120 million transfer from the 
PEBB Stabilization Fund.  Other major actions include the modification of the Shared Service 
Fund allocation resulting from the passage of SB 129.  This measure capped individual county 
payments at $16 million annually.  This has the effect of shifting $53.5 million into the General 
Fund.  General Fund revenue was also enhanced by the extension of the OLCC bottle 
surcharge which added $14 million to the 2015-17 General Fund estimate.  Legislative actions 
also included the omnibus tax credit extension/modification bill (HB 2171).  The net effect of HB 
2171 is to reduce 2015-17 estimated General Fund revenue by $20.9 million compared to 
current law.  The current law revenue forecast assumes that all credits are allowed to sunset on 
the date specified in statute.  This means that extending only 1 of the 18 credits scheduled to 
sunset in 2016 would result in a net revenue loss.  An alternative measure of the revenue 
impact is to compare HB 2171 with the cost of extending all the credits in their present form.  
This cost is estimated at $64 million for the 2015-17 biennium.  Using this comparison, HB 2171 
increased General Fund revenue by $43.1 million compared to the cost of extending the credits 
scheduled for sunset.  Finally, the impact of legislative actions includes the net effect of 2013-15 
budget rebalance actions.  These actions do not affect revenue but they do affect the beginning 
balance for the 2015-17 biennium. 
 
Combining the May revenue forecast with 2015 legislative actions leaves an estimated General 
Fund/Lottery resource level (after reserve fund allocations) of about $19.2 billion for the 2015-17 
biennium.  This is an increase of 11.3% compared to the 2013-15 estimated level. 
 
Key Specific Legislation 
 

1. HB 2171--tax credit policy changes 
 
HB 2171 is the omnibus tax credit bill for the 2015 session.  It represents the combined 
work of numerous policy committees as well as the Joint Committee on Tax Credits.  It is 
the third such bill following the passage of HB 2067 in 2009.  HB 2067 established a 
biennial tax credit review process by specifying sunset dates for nearly all of Oregon’s 
income tax credits.  HB 2067 divided Oregon’s tax credits into three groups with a 
default sunset extension period of 6 years.  This means that credits extended for six 
years in 2011 will come up for review again in 2017 as the process begins a second 
round. 
 
HB 2171 contains a number of major tax credit policy decisions.  The most significant is 
the combination of the working family credit and dependent care credits into a single 
credit.  This reduces overlap and sets up a smooth phase out of the credit as income 
rises.  The net revenue impact (about $31 million per year) is roughly neutral when 
compared with the expiring credits.  Significant sunset extensions included in HB 2171 
include the credit for individual development account donations and credits for those with 
severe disabilities and those with children that have severe disabilities.  HB 2171 also 
modifies and extends the rural medical provider and the Office of Child Care 
contributions credits.  In the former case, the credit is extended for only two years as the 
Legislature elected to wait for more detailed information on how the credit can be more 
geographically refined and work more consistently with other subsidies for rural medical 
providers.  In addition, HB 2171 adds a new provision designed to more clearly define 
income tax state residency requirements for active military personnel. 
 
As a consequence of the tax credit review process, the Legislature chose to allow a 
number of tax credits to expire.  The most prominent of these are the TRICARE health 
care providers’ credit and the credit for long term care insurance.  In the latter case, the 
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sunset date was pulled forward to January 1, 2015.  This had the effect of adding $10.4 
million in General Fund revenue for the 2015-17 biennium. 
 
 Finally, HB 2171 contains language disallowing the use of any tax credit against the 
corporate minimum tax.  This provision negates the impact of a Supreme Court decision 
in the case of Con-Way & Affiliates  v. Oregon Department of Revenue in 2013.  
Disallowing tax credits against the minimum adds an estimated $19.2 million in General 
Fund revenue for the 2015-17 biennium. 
 

2. SB 611—creates new exemptions for the intangible property of centrally assessed 
communications companies. 
 
Rapid structural changes in the communications industry brought on by new 
technologies led to modifications in the state’s policy toward centrally assessed property 
owned by communication companies.  Because communications companies are 
centrally assessed under current law, their intangible property is included in their 
valuation for property tax purposes.  The growing presence of large companies in 
Oregon such as Google, Apple and Face Book, all of which have a substantial 
proportion of their company’s value in intangible property, prompted the legislature to 
make modifications to the state’s central assessment statutes.  SB 611 contains four 
major elements: (1) creation of an alternative value limit for all centrally assessed 
property at 130% of a company’s historic cost, (2) establishment of a new exemption for 
the value of franchises, (3) creation of a new exemption for companies that make major 
communication infrastructure investments that meet certain criteria and (4) clarification 
of existing statute that data center property is not considered communications property 
for purposes of central assessment. 
 

3. SB 129—revision and sunset extension of Gain Share program. 
 
In 2007, the Legislature established the Shared Service Fund, which has become 
popularly known as “Gain Share”.  The concept behind Gain Share is to set up a 
mechanism for local governments who participate in the Strategic Investment Program 
(which caps property taxes for large investments) to share in the estimated income tax 
collections associated with the jobs generated by the project.  The existing Gain Share 
statute was scheduled to sunset in 2019. 
 
SB 129 extends the sunset on the existing program to 2024.  It also substantially 
modifies the calculation for Gain Share revenue to the participating local governments.  
The new calculation maintains the current 50% split of revenue between state and local 
governments for the estimated income tax revenue from newly created jobs but reduces 
the percentage of estimated revenue going to local government for retained jobs 
associated with the eligible projects from 50% to 20%.  SB 129 also caps the total 
amount going to the taxing districts in an individual county at $16 million annually.  
Under prior law there was no cap.  This provision has a major impact on the state 
General Fund in the 2015-17 biennium because nearly all of the $86.2 million projected 
to be distributed through the Gain Share program was expected to go to Washington 
County because of a large Intel investment.  The $16 million annual cap reduces the 
estimated General Fund loss from Gain Share to $32.7 million, a net increase of $53.5 
million for the General Fund in 2015-17. 
 

4. HB 2041—implementation of tax mechanism for legalization of recreational marijuana 
use approved by voters. 
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Measure 91, approved by voters in 2014, legalized the sale and use of marijuana for 
recreational purposes.  HB 2041 establishes a 17% tax on the retail sale of marijuana 
related items beginning January 1, 2016.  The tax is to be collected by marijuana 
retailers at the point of sale and remitted to the Department of Revenue on a quarterly 
basis.  Retailers are allowed to retain 2% of their gross collections in order to cover 
costs.  After covering administrative costs the Department of Revenue is directed to 
deposit the remaining revenue in the Oregon Marijuana Account.  Distributions from the 
account, set in Measure 91, are: 40% to the Common School Fund, 20% to mental 
health, 15% to State Police, 10% each to the cities and counties and 5% to the Oregon 
Health Authority. 
 
With collections not expected to begin flowing in until the second year of the biennium, 
gross marijuana tax revenue is projected at $10.7 million for the 2015-17 biennium, with 
an additional $5.2 million coming from fee and license revenue.  Revenue available for 
distribution, after netting out collections costs, is projected at $4.4 million.  Revenue is 
expected to ramp up after start up administrative costs are covered and the recreational 
marijuana market begins to mature.  Net revenue for distribution is projected at $59.2 
million for the 2017-19 biennium. 
 

5. SB 61—clarifying Oregon’s tax haven law. 
 
In 2013, the Legislature enacted HB 2460.  This legislation established a list of 
jurisdictions for which corporations are required to report income for purposes of 
calculating Oregon taxable income.  The original list of jurisdictions was based on a 
Montana law that has been in effect since 2003.  HB 2460 also directed the Department 
of Revenue to review the existing list and recommend any additions or deletions to the 
legislature in time for the 2015 session.  The Department of Revenue recommended a 
number of changes to the list.  Some of these recommendations were relatively minor 
such as changing the list to reflect changes in the names of countries and adding small 
jurisdictions such as Trinidad and Tobago and Guatemala.  However the department’s 
report also recommended adding the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Switzerland and 
Hong Kong to the list based on the criteria they used to determine tax haven status.  
Both revenue committees debated the recommendations extensively, finally opting for 
only minor changes to the list and deciding not to add the Netherlands, Switzerland and 
Hong Kong to the statutory list of tax have jurisdictions. 
 
The Legislature’s decision not to make significant changes to the listed jurisdictions 
resulted in SB 61 having a very small revenue impact (estimated at + $.1 million per 
year).  However, SB 61 did contain two provisions clarifying Oregon’s tax haven law.  
The first was the specification of the criteria used to determine whether a country 
belongs on the jurisdiction list or not.  SB 61 places the criteria in statute. It is the same 
as that used by the Department of Revenue in their report and recommended by the 
Multi State Tax Commission.  Secondly, SB 61 establishes a mechanism for corporate 
taxpayers to exclude income that is reported in a listed jurisdiction but did not originate 
from a U.S. source.  This provision clarifies that the Legislature’s policy intent is to 
include only income reported in listed jurisdictions that originated in the U.S. for 
purposes of apportioning back to Oregon. 
 
The remaining text of this report contains a summary of all revenue related measures 
enacted by the 2015 Legislature including more detail on the measures listed in the 
overview section.      
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SUMMARY OF INDIVIDUAL REVENUE BILLS  
 
 

PERSONAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 
 

HB 2089 (CH 643) 
Requires the Department of Revenue to report on the number and ending balance of liquidated 
and delinquent accounts that have been placed in suspended collection status. Requires the 
Department of Revenue to offer to suspend collection of an unpaid tax debt, including interest or 
penalties, if the department determines that the individual has income that does not exceed 200 
percent of the federal poverty guidelines, has less than $5,000 in assets, and has income solely 
from a source that is exempt from garnishment under ORS Chapter 18. Requires the 
department to continue to charge interest on the taxes for which collection has been suspended. 
Provides that the taxpayer may make voluntary payments of unpaid tax. Allows the department 
to file a lien against the taxpayers property and to resume collection if the taxpayer incurs 
additional unpaid tax during the period of suspended collection. Allows the department to offset 
any payments from state or federal government, including tax refunds against the taxes that 
have been suspended. Requires the department to annually review the taxpayer's eligibility for 
suspension and reinstate collections if the criteria for suspension are not met. 
 
Revenue Impact: The revenue impact is expected to be less than $50,000 per biennium. 
 

HB 2171 (CH 701) 
Requires the Legislative Revenue Office to conduct a study on restructuring Oregon's state and 
local revenue system. 
 
Combines the Working Family Child Care and the Child & Dependent Care tax credits into a 
single Working Family Child and Dependent Care tax credit for tax years 2016 through 2021. 
 
Moves the sunset date for the following tax credits from January 1, 2016 to January 1, 2022: 

• Oregon Veterans' Home Physicians 
• Oregon Life and Health IGA Assessments 

 
Makes policy changes to the following tax credits and moves the sunset date from January 1, 
2016 to January 1, 2022: 

• IDA Contributions (Expands the eligible use of funds, removes the taxpayer credit cap, 
allows the credit to be sold at lower rates, creates a statutory program cap of $7.5 million 
in tax credits to be issued annually) 

• Severe disability (limits to taxpayers with no more than $100,000 of income) 
• Child with a disability (limits to taxpayers with no more than $100,000 of income) 
• Office of Child Care Contributions (reduces credit percentage to 50% of contributions, 

makes other program changes) 
 
Moves the sunset date for the Rural Medical Providers tax credit from January 1, 2016 to 
January 1, 2018. Sets the credit amount commensurate with the distance from an Oregon 
population center ($3,000, $4,000, or $5,000). 



2015 Measures Passed 

LRO #3-15  14 

Modifies the tax credit cap for certain Residential Energy Tax Credits and increases the 
incentive for solar thermal projects, without changing the sunset date. Moves the sunset date for 
the Long-Term Care Insurance tax credit from January 1, 2016 to January 1, 2015. 
Moves the sunset date for the Film & Video tax credit from January 1, 2018 to January 1, 2024. 
Declares tax credits may not be used to offset the Corporation Minimum Tax for tax years 2015 
through 2020.  Declares certain military active service income earned in Oregon exempt from 
the personal income tax.  Extends the charitable property tax exemption to certain museums for 
four years. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

 Fiscal Year  
 

Biennium 
2015-16 2016-17 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 

Tax credit policy changes  $10.4  -$48.7   -$38.3  -$111.8  -$124.4 
Military income  -$1.2  -$0.6   -$1.8  -$0.8  -$0.9 
Corporation minimum tax  $9.5  $9.7   $19.2  $20.4  $20.7 

General Fund  $18.7  -$39.6   -$20.9  -$92.2  -$104.6 
Local Property Taxes < $0.05 per year   -$0.1  -$0.1  -$0.1 

 
The estimated impacts for the tax credit policy changes are based on analyses of the historical 
use of each tax credit as reported on income tax returns. The estimates are derived from a 
combination of trend analysis and policy impact analysis. Estimates for the corporation minimum 
tax are based on historical data on the collective use of tax credits and projections of tax credits 
allowed under current law. Estimates for the property tax exemption are based on the analysis 
of local property tax data for properties that will be affected by the changes. Estimates for the 
military active service income are based on assumptions regarding the number of affected 
taxpayers and average income levels. 
 
Policy Purpose Statements 
 
Working Family Child and Dependent Care: To enable low-income working families to care for 
young children and disabled dependents by offsetting costs so that they may be gainfully 
employed or attend school full-time 
 
Individual Development Account Contributions: As provided in ORS 458.675: To fund an asset 
based prosperity strategy for low-income Oregonians that promotes personal financial 
management, investment, and savings for key assets 
 
Oregon Veterans' Home Physician: To improve access to long-term, specialized residential care 
for veterans living in an Oregon Veterans' Home 
 
Oregon Life and Health IGA Assessments: To spread the cost of paying claims against 
insolvent life & health insurance companies to as broad a base as possible 
 
Severe Disability: To provide financial relief and offset costs associated with a 
taxpayer's/spouse's disability 
 
Child with a Disability: To provide financial relief and offset costs associated with a child's 
disability 
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Rural Medical Providers: To improve access to certain health care providers in rural areas 
 
Office of Child Care Contributions: To improve the quality of child care programs through 
education awards and quality improvement grants 
 
Film & Video: To establish a sustainable infrastructure for this industry in Oregon for purposes 
of economic development 
 
Military Active Duty: To provide tax relief to service members with an out of state address in 
consideration of their work and sacrifices for their state and country 
 
Museum property taxes: To expand and clarify the existing exemption available to nonprofit 
history or science museums. The purpose of the underlying exemption is to provide tax relief to 
property owned or leased by nonprofit corporations in recognition of the social benefits such 
organizations provide to the public. 
 

HB 2334 (CH 45) 
Allows payment of taxes, penalties, and interest found to be deficient to be made within 30 days 
after an order to specially designate a complaint to the Regular Division of the Tax Court from 
the Magistrate. Allows the taxpayer to file an affidavit alleging undue hardship within 30 days 
after receiving notice of a lack of this affidavit from the court.  
 
If the Department of Revenue finds a deficiency in taxes imposed upon or measured by net 
income, the tax, along with interest and penalties, shall be paid to the department on or before 
filing a complaint with the regular division of the Oregon Tax Court. In cases where a complaint 
is specially designated to the Regular Division of the Tax Court from the Magistrate Division, the 
measure would give the taxpayer 30 days to pay any amounts due. The complaint is considered 
a claim for a refund of this money. Currently, a taxpayer may file an affidavit alleging undue 
hardship to the Regular Division of the Tax Court with the complaint. The measure would also 
allow 30 days for the filing of this affidavit after the receipt of a notice of a lack of an affidavit. If 
the court finds undue hardship, the tax court judge can stay all or part of the payment of tax, 
penalty, and interest. 
 
Revenue Impact: The revenue impact is expected to be less than $50,000 per biennium. 
 

HB 2448 (CH 545) 
Modifies the conservation program by requiring owners of projects with a cost of at least $1 
million to enter into a performance agreement and receive annual recertification. Requires 
information to be included in the recertification application. Allows the Department of Energy to 
inspect such projects. Applies to certifications submitted on or after September 1, 2015 and to 
tax year 2015 and later. 
 
Revenue Impact: None 
 

HB 2488 (CH 32) 
Replaces penalty for substantial understatement of taxable income with a penalty for the 
substantial understatement of net tax. Provides for adjustment of net tax threshold amounts for 
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inflation. Sets the net tax understatement amount that would trigger a 20 percent penalty at 
$2,400 for personal income tax and $3,500 for corporate income tax. 
 
Previously, the Department of Revenue issued penalties for a substantial understatement of 
taxable income equal to 20 percent of the amount of tax attributable to this understatement of 
income. Taxpayers who filed a part-year resident form were able to understate Oregon taxable 
income without receiving a penalty if their federal taxable income is not understated. Linking the 
penalty instead to an understatement of net tax circumvents this possibility. This measure 
changes the penalty to a penalty on the understatement of net tax. This is a more 
comprehensive penalty that can include an overstatement of income, an overstatement of 
credits, or an overstatement of subtractions. The current thresholds for the penalty were set in 
1987 and not indexed to inflation. The measure also adds indexing for inflation of the thresholds 
for the substantial understatement of net tax. 
 
Revenue Impact: The revenue impact of this measure is indeterminate for the following 
reasons: 
 
The revenue impact of this measure is affected by its addition of the indexing for inflation. The 
threshold numbers for the penalty were obtained by indexing the current overstatement of 
income amount from 1987 to present day and translating that into a net tax using the average 
tax rate. The measure would require increasing that amount each year with inflation. As a result, 
the penalty has a higher threshold. Data from the Department of Revenue suggest that 66 
percent of penalties would not have been assessed if the new number had been used. Total 
revenues from these penalties are estimated to range between $1 million and $2 million per 
year for personal income tax, and more for corporate income tax. This change would eliminate 
66 percent of that revenue through the higher, inflation indexed threshold. 
 
On the other hand, the change of the penalty from a penalty on understatement of income to 
one on the understatement of net tax means that the penalty would be more comprehensive. It 
would affect taxpayers who have an overstatement of tax credits or subtractions because such 
overstatement would affect the net tax. This increase in the comprehensiveness of the penalty 
would increase revenue by an indeterminate amount. 
It is feasible that this increase could entirely make up for the revenue lost by indexing the 
penalty thresholds to inflation. 
 

HB 2566 (CH 468) 
Provides that disaster or emergency related work conducted by an out-of-state business may 
not be used as the sole basis for determining that the company is doing business in Oregon and 
therefore subject to Oregon's income tax. Similarly, out-of-state employees working in Oregon 
for disaster or emergency related work would not be subject to the personal income tax for 
related earned income. 
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminate 
 
This bill would have a revenue loss because it exempts income from taxation that is considered 
taxable under current law. The impact is indeterminate due to inherent uncertainty regarding 
natural disasters and emergencies. Any potential impact depends on the magnitude, duration, 
frequency, and timing of declared emergencies. 
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HB 3016 (CH 217) 
Restores capital gains tax exemption for property sales to entities that include tenants, non-
profits or housing authorities. Modifies time limit for tenants to form or associate to submit 
purchase offer. Increases assessment fee and imposes reimbursement to county for 
processing. Increases mobile home park registration fee. Cancels unpaid taxes and assessment 
fees. Prohibits mandatory consignment sales. Clarifies rules for competing sales. Applies to tax 
years beginning January 1, 2015, and before January 1, 2020. Takes effect on 91st day after 
sine die. 
 
House Bill 4038, passed in 2014, requires the owners of manufactured home parks to notify 
tenants of their intentions to sell the park. If tenants wish to compete to purchase the park, they 
may form an association, such as a corporation, for the purpose of negotiating the purchase, or 
partner with a nonprofit corporation or housing authority to make the purchase. However, the 
2014 legislation failed to incorporate an existing capital gains exemption into account, available 
to property owners who sold their mobile home parks to residents or nonprofits. The measure 
restores the capital gains exemption for owners of mobile home parks who sell to tenants, and 
makes other modifications intended to improve the transaction process. 
 
Revenue Impact: The revenue impact is expected to be less than $50,000 per biennium. 
 

SB 36 (CH 480)  
Makes technical changes to Oregon tax statutes. Modernizes language. Repeals outdated 
statutes including a pre-2004 limit on land that can be designated as tax exempt riparian land, 
and outdated references to the Multistate Tax Compact. 
 
Revenue Impact: The measure has no revenue impact. 
 

SB 61 (CH 755) 
Modifies list of jurisdictions of incorporation for which income must be included on Oregon 
corporate excise tax return, if corporation is member of unitary group with Oregon corporation.  
Specifies that the provisions of ORS 314.667 apply to income reported in listed jurisdictions. 
ORS 314.667 allows the Department of Revenue to use additional methods to apportion income 
in those cases when application of the apportionment formula does not represent the taxpayer’s 
business activity in the state.  This statute also allows taxpayers to petition for an adjustment.  
 
SB 61 adds Trinidad and Tobago, Guatemala and the individual countries that comprised the 
former Netherlands Antilles to the list of jurisdictions.  It deletes Monaco and the Netherlands 
Antilles from the list.  
 
Revenue Impact (in $millions): 

Source 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Corporate Income Tax +$0.1 +$0.2 +$0.3 

General Fund +$0.1 +$0.2 +$0.3 
 

SB 63 (CH 442)  
Updates connection to the Internal Revenue Code and to other provisions in federal tax law 
from December 31, 2013 to December 31, 2014. Updates references in the governing statutes 
of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) to federal law that establishes taxable 
income, affects annual benefits payable to members, specifies rules around minimum 
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distribution requirements under certain circumstances, and relates to benefits and service credit 
for a period in the uniformed services. Updates connection to the federal code that defines 
shareholders in S corporations who may represent their companies in proceedings before the 
tax court magistrate or the Department of Revenue. Updates connection to the Internal 
Revenue Code to define which organizations may qualify for consideration for a charitable tax 
checkoff. Updates statutes governing the Oregon College Savings Plan, Individual Development 
Accounts, and unemployment insurance to connect to the latest version of the Internal Revenue 
Code as of December 31, 2014. Specifies that if a refund is due a taxpayer for a tax year 
beginning before January 1, 2015 due to any retroactive treatment from these federal tax law 
connection changes then the refund will be paid without interest and cancels the interest or 
penalties from any deficiencies caused by the reconnect. 
 
Revenue Impact: This measure is expected to have less than $50,000 in revenue impact per 
biennium. 
 
 
 

PROPERTY TAX AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE 
 
 

HB 2083 (CH 309) 
Creates exception to five-year ownership requirement of homestead for deferral, if claimants for 
deferral moved to homestead from a previous homestead that met all the requirements, sell 
existing qualifying homestead within one year of purchasing new home, satisfy lien for deferral 
on existing home and owe no more than 80 percent of purchase price of new application 
homestead. Requires homestead to be insured for fire and other casualty. Allows Department of 
Revenue (DOR) to purchase insurance for uninsured homestead and add cost of insurance 
coverage to lien. Increases county median real market value qualification limits for taxpayers 
that have continuously owned and lived in homestead at least 21 years. Requires Department of 
Revenue to electronically notify an office of Aging and Disability Resource Connection or 
seniors and people with disabilities division of the Department of Human Services if 
recertification is not received with 35 days after sending notification to taxpayer. Changes apply 
to property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2016. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Fiscal Year Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Change in Senior & Disabled 
Deferral Revolving Account 
Balance 

0 (.34) (.34) (.86) (1.03) 

The measure makes four primary changes to the Senior and Disabled Deferral program. Three 
of the changes are expected to impact the Senior and Disabled Deferral revolving account. The 
changes relating to the five year ownership requirement, increase in RMV limits for certain 
property owners, and increased outreach of DOR and other state agencies during recertification 
process are expected to increase participation in the deferral program. An increase in deferral 
participation has two effects, the first is to increase tax deferral payments made by DOR on 
behalf of participants followed by a period of increased repayments reflective of the increased 
deferral payments. In the short run, tax deferral payments out of the revolving account are 
greater than increased repayments received, causing a negative impact upon the deferral 
account balance. 
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The impact upon the deferral revolving account balance resulting from changes in DOR’s ability 
to purchase fire and other casualty insurance is expected to be minimal. 
 

HB 2126 (CH 507) 
Adds definition of "nonresidential use" for purposes of vertical housing development zone 
program. Nonresidential use is defined as any use that is not exclusively residential use. 
Extends sunset date for new vertical housing zone designation and application for exemption to 
January 1, 2026. Allows any local taxing district to elect not to participate in a vertical housing 
development zone. Electing not to participate has the effect of allowing district to continue 
imposing tax on property otherwise exempt under vertical housing partial exemption. Definitional 
change applies to property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2015. Allowing any local 
taxing district to opt out of exemption takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die. 
 
Revenue Impact:  No direct revenue impact. 
 
The measure would cause the exemption to be permissible to all local taxing districts and as 
such has no direct revenue impact. The existing law sunset date extension applies to new zone 
designations and certifications only, existing property that continues to meet qualification criteria 
will continue to receive exemption until 10 year property limitation period is met. Extension of 
sunset will allow Housing and Community Services Department to continue issuing new 
certifications for zone designation and project certification until 12/31/2026 at the request of 
cities, counties (or a combination of the two) and persons seeking partial exemption. In 2014, 
fewer than ten properties received the exemption, it is expected that few properties will be newly 
certified and begin receiving exemption after the current sunset date. The measure’s defining of 
the term “nonresidential use” is expected to have a minimal impact upon revenues. 
The policy purpose of this tax expenditure is to allow cities and/or counties the ability to provide 
partial property tax exemptions for development or rehabilitation of mixed use multiple-story 
buildings which subsequently encourages and supports the development, rehabilitation, and 
availability of mixed used property of desired density in designated areas. The tax expenditure 
is permissible to all local taxing districts protecting the taxing authority of all districts choosing 
not to participate. 
 

HB 2127 (CH 96) 
Allows authorized agent providing closing and settlement services in conveyance of real 
property to tax-exempt government transferee to withhold and pay to county in which property is 
located, property taxes on the real property as of the date of the conveyance if written 
instructions to do so are received from transferor. Prohibits county clerk from recording fee title 
of real property if certificate issued by county assessor does not accompany instrument 
conveying or contracting to convey fee title. 
Requires a person seeking to record an instrument of sale to an exempt government transferee 
to pay charges against the real property. If exact amount of charges is unknown, then the 
assessor's estimate is paid. Any deficiency required to be paid constitutes a personal debt and 
is not a lien on the property and is required to be collected as delinquent personal property. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Government .4 .5  .9 1.0 1.0 
Local Education Districts .3 .4  .7 .8 .8 
Total Revenue Change .7 .9  1.6 1.8 1.8 
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The revenue impact estimate is based upon information provided by county assessors detailing 
the current outstanding delinquent tax amounts related to property transactions that would fall 
under the purview of the measure. It is expected that the requirements in the bill would cause 
taxes to be paid on property conveyed to tax-exempt government transferees. Under current 
law, instances occur where the taxes associated with property conveyed to tax-exempt 
government transferee is not paid and collection efforts are unsuccessful as property is no 
longer subject to foreclosure. The revenue impact displays a steady positive revenue stream, 
however data suggests that positive revenues would be more sporadic as large property 
transfers with unpaid tax occur more irregularly. The revenue impact reflects an averaged 
impact over future biennia. While the measure results in an estimated revenue gain, it is not a 
measure to raise revenue. Imposed property tax liability will not change, it is the expectation of 
payment that otherwise would not exist that causes the increase in revenue. 
 

HB 2128 (CH 52) 
Establishes personal liability of a lessee for property taxes, as the property is leased from an 
exempt government (federal, state or local) entity. Provides counties with means of collecting 
unpaid taxes from a person and their real and personal property. Requires county clerk to 
immediately issue writs of attachment on application by tax collector or district attorney for the 
county as plaintiff. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Government <.1 .1  .1 .1 .1 
Local Education Districts <.1 .1  .1 .1 .1 
Total Revenue Change .1 .1  .2 .2 .2 
The revenue impact estimate is based upon information provided by county assessors detailing 
the current outstanding delinquent tax amounts related to property transactions that would fall 
under the purview of the measure. It is expected that the requirements in the bill would cause 
most taxes to be paid on property leased from exempt government to taxable entities. Under 
current law, instances occur where taxes associated with property leased from exempt 
government owners to taxable entities are not being paid, especially at times where a lease 
ends or is discontinued. At that point the property returns to exempt status leaving counties 
without the ability to foreclose and collect delinquent taxes. 
The revenue impact displays a steady positive revenue stream, however data suggests that 
positive revenues would be more sporadic as large unpaid property leases occur more 
irregularly. The revenue impact reflects an averaged impact over future biennia. 
 

HB 2129 (CH 97) 
Allows taxpayer to petition county assessor for correction in maximum assessed value of 
property for the current tax year upon demonstrating that new property or improvement to 
property added to the tax roll in a prior tax year did not exist as of the assessment date for that 
prior tax year or any subsequent tax year. Requires assessor to correct maximum assessed 
value of property for current tax year in manner determined by assessor. Correction must 
reflect, in a manner determined by assessor, removal of the new property or improvements. 
Requires property constituting an integral part of the land or improvements that has been 
continuously in existence since the prior tax year and was not included in any assessment for 
prior tax years to be considered new property or new improvements to property. 
Engrossed version of measure resolves conflicts between the measure and HB 2487 which both 
make changes to ORS 311.234. Amendment language applies statutory changes contained in 
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HB 2129, to HB 2487 (signed by Governor on April 22nd). Both measures make changes to 
existing law regarding how MAV is corrected in instances where actual property square footage 
differs from square footage contained in property tax records of assessor. Applies to property 
tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2015. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 

HB 2130 (CH 310) 
The measure as amended would allow governing bodies to establish reasonable maximum 
holding times for land designated for low-income housing development and would allow 
governing bodies to elect additional qualifying criteria. These two changes only apply to 
applications for exemption received on or after the effective date of the measure and the date 
on which the governing body adopts the reasonable maximum holding times and/or additional 
criteria. If a governing body chooses to establish either of these more limiting provisions, then 
property exempted from taxation could be reduced. Providing local governments the ability to 
establish more limiting provisions could also increase the likelihood of local governments 
allowing the partial exemption. However, as the measure does not require governing bodies to 
adopt the limiting provisions, and existing properties receiving exemption are unaffected by 
changes provided in the measure, no direct revenue impact is expected. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 

HB 2195 (CH 242) 
Requires Multnomah County, after reimbursements are made to county general fund for costs 
related to management and disposition of real property, to use proceeds acquired specifically by 
foreclosure of delinquent tax liens or by exchange for land originally acquired by foreclosure of 
delinquent tax liens, for: housing placement and support of youth and families with children, 
rental assistance and low income housing. Clarifies that county costs to determine boundaries 
are reimbursable. Makes explicit that Multnomah County may convey foreclosed properties to 
any governmental body if not needed for public use and properties donated to government units 
or nonprofits for specified purposes. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 

HB 2482 (CH 36) 
Clarifies assessment responsibilities of Department of Revenue and County Assessor offices 
relating to valuation of industrial property. Requires county assessor to appraise property for five 
consecutive years following request by county for assessment responsibility of otherwise state-
appraised industrial property. Clarifies appeals process. Defines terms. Applies to assessment 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2015 and property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 
2015. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 

HB 2483 (CH 37) 
Clarifies appeals right, of any party to an appeal, to appeal entire unit of property value as 
defined in ORS 310.160(1), which consists of all contiguous property under common ownership 
within a single code area in a county. 
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Changes provided in House Bill 2483 would allow other parties to an appeal, to appeal the value 
as it relates to the entire unit of property which could be the summation of several accounts and 
their values. For example, if an appeal was brought by the property owner specific to a single 
tax account, other parties to the appeal such as the county assessor could appeal other tax 
accounts of the property so long as the accounts comprise the same unit of property. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
Revenue impact resulting from the measure is expected to be minimal. Fewer property tax 
appeals may potentially be filed as measure reduces incentive of selectively appealing only 
certain accounts within a unit of property as defined in ORS 310.160(1). 
 

HB 2484 (CH 38) 
Extends deadlines and eliminates extension for filing certain property tax returns with 
Department of Revenue. Applies to property tax years beginning on of after July 1, 2016. 
Businesses are currently required to file property tax returns detailing property information used 
in the valuation process. Examples of information provided on the returns includes business 
personal property, real and personal industrial property, when the property was bought etc. The 
current deadline for filing property tax returns is March 1 of each year, with the possibility of 
extension to April 15 if certain conditions are met including good or sufficient cause, or if the 
granting of an extension will enhance the accuracy of the return and increase long-term 
voluntary compliance. Department of Revenue statistics suggest taxpayers requesting 
extensions tend to have more filing issues than returns filed without extension. 
House Bill 2484 would change the tax return filing deadline from March 1 to March 15 while also 
eliminating the availability of the April 15 filing extension. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 

HB 2485 (CH 31) 
Clarifies that refund made for correction in property taxes owed resulting from appeal is made to 
individual who filed the appeal. Aligns time limitation for property tax refunds with time limitation 
for roll corrections (five years). Increases threshold for cancelling delinquent property taxes from 
five to ten dollars, aligning with current threshold for refunds.  
Amends Enrolled Senate Bill 611 (2015) to require qualifying capital investment in 
communication infrastructure to enable company to offer communication services, including the 
capacity to provide, at least, approximately one gigabit per second symmetrical service. 
Modifies exemption time period to be the period during which an owner maintains and operates 
the qualified project. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
Changes to the time limitation of property tax refunds and increasing the threshold for cancelling 
delinquent property taxes are expected to have minimal revenue impacts upon local 
government revenues. 
Modifications to SB 611 are expected to have an indeterminate effect upon revenues for local 
governments. If the changes provided to law in the measure as amended result in an expansion 
of business activity that would otherwise not occur, then the revenue impact could be positive. 
However, if expanded business activity is not dependent upon changes in law, then the 
measure could result in a loss or no impact upon local revenues. 
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HB 2486 (CH 368) 
Removes statutory provisions relating to categorization of property tax revenue under Measure 
5 that were held unconstitutional by Oregon courts. Takes effect on 91st day following 
adjournment sine die. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 

HB 2487 (CH 39) 
Requires correction of maximum assessed value resulting from assessor changes in property 
square footage to be proportional to change in real market value of property resulting from the 
changes in property square footage. 
The proposed changes would still give the assessor discretion in reducing MAV, but the formula 
used would be reflective of the market value of the square footage change. For example, a 5% 
reduction in square footage may only be reflective of a 3% reduction in value if that is what 
market rates would determine it as. 
Conflicts with HB 2129 resolved in engrossed version of HB 2129. See description in HB 2129 
for details. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 

HB 2610 (CH 34) 
Adds agricultural workforce housing to property used in relation to agricultural work that is 
eligible for property tax exemption. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
The changes in law resulting from HB 2610 as amended are expected to have a minimal 
revenue impact on local governments. 
Many of the changes in the measure relate to clarifying the certification process and 
responsibilities related to ensuring properties meet qualifications standards in law. After 
receiving feedback from assessor staff of affected counties, there is little to no expectation of 
properties qualifying under the new language that are not currently qualifying for the exemption. 
Language in measure would expand qualification criteria to include agricultural workforce 
housing as defined in measure. While no property is expected to qualify under this expanded 
language that is not already receiving exemption, there is possibility that future properties could 
qualify under expanded language that would not otherwise qualify under current law. 
The policy purpose of this measure is to expand the availability of low cost housing and child 
care facilities for agricultural workers and their families, so long as the property meets applicable 
safety and health standards. 
 

HB 2635 (CH 41) 
Requires ballot title for measure proposing local option tax, to state that estimated tax cost may 
reflect impact of early payment discounts, compression and collection rate. Takes effect on 91st 
day following adjournment sine die. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
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HB 2643 (CH 648) 
Authorizes designation of enterprise zone, electronic commerce zone, electronic commerce city 
and reservation enterprise zone by zone sponsor or sponsors. Zone sponsor may be a city, 
county, port or tribal government. Designation of enterprise zone and boundary change of zone 
subject to determination by Oregon Business Development Department (OBDD) that certain 
statutory requirements are met. Requires submission of documentation to OBDD before 
designation, addition or change, and requires consultation with department. Eliminates numeric 
limit on number of enterprise zones that may be designated at any time. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 
The policy purpose of this measure is contained in ORS 285C.055: 

“To stimulate and protect economic success…throughout all regions of the state, but especially in 
those communities at the center of or outside major metropolitan areas for which geography may 
act as an economic hindrance…by providing tax incentives for employment, business, industry 
and commerce and by providing adequate levels of complementary assistance to community 
strategies for such interrelated goals as environmental protection, growth management and 
efficient infrastructure.”  

 

HB 2652 (CH 518) 
Changes definition of “rural area” to mean area located entirely outside of urban growth 
boundary of city with population of 40,000 or more, as boundary is acknowledged on date on 
which application is submitted for strategic investment program. Grandfathers existing definition 
for current strategic investment zones and parcels of land on which eligible projects are 
currently located.  
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminate 
 
The measure changes the definition of “rural area” to mean area located entirely outside of 
urban growth boundary of a city with a population of 40,000 or more as boundary is 
acknowledged on date on which application is submitted for strategic investment program. 
Changing date at which urban growth boundary is acknowledged for qualification criteria from 
December 1, 2002 to when application is submitted will decrease land available for qualifying as 
“rural”. 
Changes could have an impact upon revenues but any change would be dependent upon firm 
location decisions. If the criteria contained within the measure had been in place throughout the 
history of the program, there are two companies that would not have been able to participate in 
the rural strategic investment program that are now participating. However, location decisions 
by the firms at the time could have differed had the qualification criteria been different. For this 
reason, impact upon revenue is indeterminate. 
 

HB 2690 (CH 520) 
Exempts from property taxation land acquired and held by a nonprofit corporation for the 
purpose of building on the land residences to be sold to individuals with income not greater than 
80 percent of area median income as adjusted for family size. Requires nonprofit corporation, 
within 10 years immediately preceding filing of claim for exemption, to have sold at least one 
residence to individuals with income not greater than 80 percent of area median income as 
adjusted for family size. Requires exemption to end at time of title transfer. Absent title transfer, 
exemption required to end after seven consecutive years with option for three year extension if 
claim is filed and filing fee paid. Applies to property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2015. 
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Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Government (.1) (.1)  (.2) (.2) (.2) 
Local Education Districts (.1) (.1)  (.1) (.2) (.2) 
Total Revenue Change (.2) (.2)  (.3) (.4) (.4) 
The estimate of the loss in revenue is based upon the assumption that nonprofit corporations 
owning qualifying property will apply for and subsequently receive the exemption. The measure 
applies the exemption to tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2015, however, applications for 
the exemption would have been due on or before April 1, 2015. To receive the application for 
tax year 2015-16, a late filing fee equal to the greater of $200 or one-tenth of one percent of 
RMV per application for exemption is required. 
The policy purpose of this measure is to provide tax relief to land owning nonprofit corporations 
building residences to be sold to lower income individuals, thus encouraging the development 
and availability of low income housing.  
 

HB 2734 (CH 631) 
The measure authorizes local governments to create land bank authority. It provides land bank 
authority powers and responsibilities, and details authority and duties of land bank authority and 
composition of land bank authority board. The measure also clarifies that the authority is to exist 
as a legal entity separate from the local government that created it. While it defines the purpose 
of the authority and language related to board of directors. Clarifies that a local government may 
incur debt, including issuance of bonds, on behalf of an authority it creates and clarifies that all 
assets owned by the authority, income earned by assets, and bonds issued by the authority and 
their income are exempt from taxation by State of Oregon. Finally it provides method for 
dissolution of authority. Members of land bank authority board are required to file statement of 
economic interest with Oregon Government Ethics Commission. Exempts land bank authority 
from liability of remedial action costs or for damages of any spill or release of oil or hazardous 
material at facility acquired by authority under certain conditions. 
 
Revenue Impact:  Minimal 
 
Background:  
As defined in ORS 285A.185, a “brownfield” is real property where expansion or redevelopment 
is complicated by actual or perceived environmental contamination. Brownfields must be 
cleaned up before they can be reused for jobs, housing, and other community needs. This 
measure authorizes local governments to organize land banks, which could take ownership of 
brownfields with immunity from legal liability for legacy contaminations. During the period of 
ownership, the land bank authorities would be offered tax abatements ( No longer in the bill) for 
brownfield clean up and redevelopment. This measure outlines the authority and duties of land 
bank authorities and composition of land bank authority boards. 
 

HB 3001 (CH 92) 
Allows application for determination of real market value and assessed value of property 
destroyed or damaged between January 1 and July 1 to be filed on or before December 31. 
Applies to property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2014. Repeals redundant provision of 
law. Requires applications filed after the later of August 1 of the current year or the 60th day 
following the date on which the property was damaged or destroyed, but still filed prior to 
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December 31, to be accompanied by a late filing fee in amount equal to greater of $200 or one-
tenth of one percent of the real market value of property to which application relates. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 

HB 3030 (CH 560) 
Authorizes formation of sand control districts, not within the corporate boundaries of a city, for 
the purpose of controlling, moving, or removing drifting sand within the district. Details authority 
of sand control districts and of district boards. Authorizes districts to levy taxes and raise 
revenue. Authorizes districts to issue general obligation bonds within specified limits. Adds sand 
control district to definition of local service district and special district elections statutes. 
Declares emergency, effective on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact:  No Impact 
 
The measure allows for the creation of a new local taxing district type, sand control district. As 
the measure only allows for the creation, but does not in it of itself create a new district imposing 
ad valorem taxes, there is no direct impact on local revenues. If a sand control district(s) is 
formed and the district levies tax, then an increase in property tax revenue would result. 
 

HB 3082 (CH 141) 
The measure provides local governing bodies the ability to elect either of two definitions of “low 
income” for purposes of exemption qualification under ORS 307.541, Nonprofit Corporation Low 
Income Housing. The definition of low income can either be at or below 60 percent of the area 
median income (AMI) or 60 percent of AMI for initial year of occupancy with subsequent 
consecutive years AMI at or below 80 percent. 
Under current law, if income of any resident of a nonprofit corporation qualifying for low income 
housing exceeds the statutory limit, then for the property to continue receiving the exemption, 
the resident(s) must no longer be housed on the property. If a property receiving exemption 
continues to house residents above the statutory income limits, then the property no longer 
receives the exemption. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
The increased AMI criteria provided for in this measure could lead to an expansion of the 
number of properties providing low income housing and/or reduce the likelihood of existing 
properties being subject to taxation due to residents of the properties exceeding the AMI limits. 
Acceptance of the expanded AMI limits are at the discretion of local governing bodies, 
reductions in revenue to local districts are expected to be minimal.  
 

HB 3125 (CH 827) 
Expands existing property tax exemption for qualified machinery and equipment used in food 
processing to include machinery and equipment used to process grains, bakery products, dairy 
products and eggs. Prohibits a person engaged in business of producing marijuana or any 
product that contains marijuana or a marijuana extract from qualifying for exemption. Disallows 
exemption for qualified machinery and equipment used to process bakery products if retail sales 
made at processing site constitute more than 10 percent of all proceeds from sales made at 
processing site. Requires qualifying bakeries to have been issued a wholesale license by State 
Department of Agriculture. Requires qualified machinery and equipment used to process 
grains and bakery products to have real market value of at least $100,000 when placed in 
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service in order to qualify for exemption. Applies to property tax years beginning on or after July 
1, 2016. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Governments  (0.4)  (0.4) (1.9) (2.8) 
Local Education Districts  (0.3)  (0.3) (1.5) (2.3) 
Total Revenue Change  (0.7)  (0.7) (3.4) (5.0) 
The expansion of the existing property tax exemption for food processing equipment is expected 
to reduce property tax revenues for local taxing districts. The exemption is available for five 
years for machinery and equipment newly placed into service. This five year exemption horizon 
causes the revenue impact to increase each biennium reflective of machinery and equipment in 
years one to year five of the exemption. The growth in machinery and equipment installations is 
based upon overall food processing industry expansion expectations. The property tax 
exemption is scheduled to sunset beginning with the 2020-21 property tax year. The last tax 
year a property may qualify for a first year exemption is tax year 2019-20, however, property 
may continue to qualify for the remaining years of the full five year exemption beyond the sunset 
date.  
The policy purpose of this measure is contained in ORS 307.453: 

“The Legislative Assembly declares that a property tax exemption for qualified real property 
machinery and equipment encourages continued operation and expansion of the food processing industry 
in this state.” 
 

HB 3492 (CH 571) 
Allows county, or county and city if property is within city boundaries, upon request of owner of 
solar project, to enter into agreement, for period not to exceed 20 years, pursuant to which 
property constituting solar project is exempt from property taxation and owner pays fee in-lieu of 
taxes. Establishes fee equal to $7,000 per megawatt of nameplate capacity of solar project. 
Requires fee revenue to be distributed proportionally to taxing districts within which solar project 
is located based upon each affected district's proportion of ad valorem property taxes excluding 
taxes imposed to pay bonded indebtedness. Repeals exemption and in lieu fee for property first 
qualifying for exemption on or after January 2, 2022. Applies to property tax years beginning on 
or after July 1, 2016. 
 
Revenue Impact: No Impact 
 
The measure as amended would allow, but not require counties to enter into agreement 
providing exemption and in lieu fee for solar projects. The measure as amended is permissive, 
no direct revenue impact exists. If allowed, exemption and in lieu payment would result in an 
overall reduction in tax over the life of a solar project which is generally assumed to be 20 years. 
Tax reduction will depend upon a number of factors including: characteristics of individual solar 
projects, location of solar project, market rate and capacity for solar electricity and material and 
construction costs. 
The policy purpose of this measure is to provide tax relief and tax stability to utility scale solar 
production property owners and developers, which subsequently encourages development of 
utility scale solar production.  
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SB 26 (CH 441) 
The measure Repeals the sunset allowing the use of federal forest funds in the county road 
fund for patrolling. 
 
Revenue Impact:  None 
 
Background:  
SB 808 B of the 2007 session Enabled Douglas and Lane Counties to use monies described in 
ORS 294.060(1), for the purpose of patrolling county roads by law enforcement officials until 
January 2, 2014. In the 2011 session SB 443 extended the sunset to January 2, 2016. 
Ordinarily, the federal forest reserve moneys are split 25% for schools and 75% for the county 
road funds. HB 5175 A of the 2012 session made the language applicable to (Coos, Curry, 
Douglas, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, and Linn) bringing the total to seven counties. This allowed 
for the federal money to be loaned by the rest of the counties to road patrols, but specifies that it 
needs to be budgeted and payable in three years after the end of the current year or the current 
budget. The bill is permissive (enabling) legislation and does not impact state funds 
 

SB 611 (CH 23) 
Measure as amended would create and make available new exemptions to companies subject 
to central assessment. New exemptions relate to the value of franchises, satellites used to 
provide service directly to retail consumers, and an alternative exemption calculation based on a 
company’s historical or original cost of real property and tangible personal property multiplied by 
130%. For companies receiving an exemption related to a new qualified project, Oregon 
allocated value will be based upon the greater of $250 million or the real market value of real 
and tangible personal property located in Oregon as of the assessment date. The exemptions 
apply to tax years beginning July 1, 2016. 
Clarifies that a company that is an owner or lessee of a data center is not centrally assessed 
under ORS 308.515 if certain conditions are met. The company must own, lease or use a data 
center as defined in 308.516. Moreover, the original cost of construction and installation of real 
and tangible personal property used by the company in the business of communication, 
unrelated to the company's data centers, does not equal more than ten percent of the original 
cost of the real and tangible personal property of all data centers owned, leased or used by the 
company in Oregon.  
Clarifies that data center property of a company subject to central assessment is to be locally 
assessed if the total historical or original cost of the real and tangible personal property of all 
data centers owned, leased or used by the company in Oregon is equal to or greater than $200 
million. Clarifications related to data center property apply to property tax years beginning on or 
after July 1, 2015. 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2015-16 2016-17  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Government  (4.3)  (4.3) (8.8) (9.1) 
Local Education Districts  (3.5)  (3.5) (7.2) (7.5) 
Total Revenue Loss  (7.8)  (7.8) (16.0) (16.6) 

 
The revenue impact includes losses in revenue for local governments derived from the 
exemptions provided in the bill that would reduce value and subsequent taxes levied for existing 
companies in Oregon. The revenue impact does not include estimates for potential companies 
that could receive exemption under the qualified project investment exemption. This potential 
loss is not included because, while the exemption will be available to companies meeting the 
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qualified project investment requirements, there is no assurance that an undertaking such as 
this will occur. 
Current law provides the base from which the revenue impacts are calculated from. The result 
of current lawsuits residing in Oregon Tax Court could change the base from which future 
revenue estimates would be calculated. 
The changes in the bill related to data centers could potentially affect the property tax liability of 
communication companies operating data centers used in their communications business if the 
data center property is the primary value of the communication property in Oregon, or the total 
value of all a company’s data center property (as calculated in measure) is greater than or equal 
to $200 million. No known companies are expected to be impacted as communication data 
centers are not currently subject to central assessment if located within an enterprise zone. 
Potential impacts could exist as enterprise zone exemptions expire and new data center 
property is built, but inclusion in central assessment would be dependent upon the data center 
being used for communication purposes. 
The policy purpose of this measure is to provide tax relief for centrally assessed companies, 
primarily those with high levels of intangible value and to create a tax environment that 
incentivizes investment by centrally assessed communication companies in Oregon. 
 

SB 927 (CH 049) 
Modifies authority of metropolitan service district to acquire or construct visitor-oriented facilities. 
 
Revenue Impact:  None 
 
Background:  
Metro is currently the only existing metropolitan service district in Oregon, and it has a voter-
approved district charter. This measure aligns existing law for a metropolitan service district with 
a charter to have the power to construct and acquire certain facilities if authorized to do so by its 
own charter. In 2012, Metro embarked on a public-private partnership approach to the 
construction of a hotel connected with the convention center. The overall project is 
approximately $200 million, with over 60% of private investment; the largest public contribution 
will be payment of bonds from transient lodging taxes paid by guests of the hotel itself. The 
2013 Legislature approved $10 million in lottery bonds to complete the finance plan. 
 
 
 

SCHOOL FINANCE 
 
 

HB 2150 (CH 644) 
 
Prevents additional weights that can be claimed due to double counting, when the extended 
weighted Average Daily Memberships (ADMw’s) of public charter schools and non-charter 
schools are calculated independently of each other. Specifies the way the State School Fund is 
distributed to a school district whose public charter school ceased to operate in the previous 
school year. Takes effect on July 1, 2015. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
This bill does not change the total available formula revenue, but does have impact on how that 
money is distributed among school districts based on the extended ADMw. 
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Currently, the extended ADMw’s of public charter schools and non-charter schools are 
calculated independently of each other. This has allowed double counting of weight in a school 
district even when the overall ADMw of the school district stayed the same but students moved 
between charter and non-charter schools in the district. It also contributed to a higher total 
statewide weight for the purpose of State School Fund distributions, thus diluting the formula 
revenue per ADMw. The bill also specifies the way the State School Fund (SSF) is distributed to 
a school district whose public charter school ceased to operate or moved to another school 
district a year before. In particular, it addresses the distribution of the SSF for a school district of 
a large public charter school that will have moved to a different school district following the 
2014-15 school year. 
 
Without the change in this bill, the moving of this large public charter school following the 2014-
15 school year from one school district to another would have entitled approximately 4,000 
weights each to both school districts. This would increase the total ADMw by 4,000 in the 2015-
16 school year. The total ADMw of 699,000 for the 2015-16 school year, estimated at the 
beginning of this legislative session and reflected in HB 5017, did not incorporate this impact as 
the relocation had not cleared all the hurdles then. The charter school’s new sponsor district will 
receive due funding based on the newly added ADMw. Under the bill, the previous sponsor 
district will get funding based on the school district's General Purpose Grant per extended 
ADMw, multiplied by five percent of the ADM of the charter school for the previous school year. 
Given the available General Purpose Grants for the year, this change will likely reduce the 
formula revenue per ADMw by $2, compared with the estimate at the beginning of the session. 
Without the change, however, the dilution of formula revenue per ADMw would have been 
substantially larger. 
 
There are several other public charter schools that will have ceased to operate following the end 
of the 2014-15 school year. Under current law, the moving and closure of these schools would 
increase the total statewide ADMw by up to 4,400 in the 2015-16 school year. With changes in 
the bill, the impact will be much smaller and the dilution of the formula revenue per ADMw will 
be about $2.20, when compared with the estimate at the beginning of the session. Without the 
changes, the dilution would have been around $44 per ADMw. 
 
The bill also establishes a contingency account that can be accessed by school districts when 
they face cost overruns in closing charter schools in their districts. The account will exist until 
June 30, 2019. The money for the account, approximately $1 million, comes from the 2015-16 
formula revenue. Any money left in the account after June 30, 2019, will be transferred to the 
General Fund. 
 
 

HB 2405 (CH 68) 
Allows the Oregon Department of Education to solicit and accept gifts, grants, donations and 
other moneys from public and private sources for the State School Fund (SSF). Takes effect 
upon passage. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): Indeterminate 
 
The entire revenue raised in this effort will be a part of the SSF. There is no credible estimate at 
this point, of the amount of money this effort will bring in to the SSF. The bill does not change 
the current school formula revenue distribution scheme. 
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HB 2927 (CH 555) 
Increases the High Cost Disabilities (HCD) Grant to $35 million per school year. First applies to 
the 2015-16 State School Fund (SSF) distribution. Takes effect on July 1, 2015. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Fiscal Year 
Every FY 

State School Fund  No change 
      High Cost Disabilities Grant       +$35.0 
      General Purpose Grant       - $35.0 

 
Currently the HCD is limited to $18 million per year. The approved actual cost borne by school 
districts has been much higher than this limit every year. In the fiscal year 2013-14, the prorated 
reimbursement was about 40% of the total approved cost. The higher HCD grant under the bill 
is expected to increase the reimbursement rate to around 80 percent. The $35 million is 
included and fully accounted for in the Co-chairs’ budget framework.  
 

HB 3497 (CH 437) 
Increases the minimum general services grant for an education service district (ESD) to 
$1,165,000 for the 2015-16 school year. Specifies that this minimum grant should mirror the 
growth of the ESD’s revenue in the State School Fund distribution in future school years. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue 
available for distribution to school districts and education service districts. 
 
Currently, the minimum general services grant for an education service district (ESD) is $1 
million per school year. This bill increases that amount to $1,165,000 in the 2015-16 school 
year, and directs that the growth rate of the minimum grant should be the same as that of the 
ESD’s revenue in the State School Fund distribution in future school years. 
 
Under the bill, the additional amount of money needed for the minimum grant increase totals 
$825,000 in 2015-16 for five districts. This increase in minimum allocation will reduce the 
formula revenue per ADMw in the remaining 14 ESD's. The reduction for these ESD's is 
estimated to be about $1.20 per ADMw in 2015-16, relative to the State School Fund budget 
reflected in HB 5017. 
 
HB 3499 (CH 604) 
Creates the Statewide English Language Learner Program Account to provide moneys for 
statewide activities related to English Language learner programs. Transfers to the account 
from the State School Fund, $12.5 million each biennium. First applies to the 2015-16 State 
School Fund distribution. Takes effect on July 1, 2015. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Biennium 
2015-17 

State School Fund  No change 
       Statewide English Language Learner Program Account       +$12.5 
       Formula Revenue for school districts and education service districts       - $12.5 
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HB 3499 creates the Statewide English Language Learner Program Account to provide moneys 
for statewide activities related to English Language learner programs. The account is funded by 
$12.5 million per biennium, transferred from the State School Fund.  
 
The funding of this account is a carve-out off the top, and reduces the amount of money 
available for distribution through the formula. 
 
This $12.5 million carve-out is included and fully accounted for in the co-chairs’ State School 
Fund budget for the 2015-17 biennium, and is reflected in HB 5017. 
 
HB 5017 (CH 25) 
Appropriates for the 2015-17 State School Fund, $6,912.9 million from the General Fund and 
$342.1 million from the Lottery revenues. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Biennium 

2015-17 
State School Fund    $ 7,255.0 
     From General Fund    $ 6,912.9 
      From Administrative Services Economic Development Fund 

    (Lottery revenues) 
 

  $ 342.1 

 
This bill appropriates $7,255.0 million for the 2015-17 State School Fund (SSF), with $6,912.9 
million allocated from the General Fund and the remaining $342.1 million from the Lottery 
revenues. This SSF is combined with local revenues from school districts (SD’s) and education 
service districts (ESD’s) to form the total formula revenue available for distribution to SD’s and 
ESD’s. 
 

SB 321 (CH 234) 
Lowers the compulsory school age from seven to six years of age. Takes effect on July 1, 2016. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue 
available for distribution to school districts education service districts. 
 
While this bill does not change the total formula revenue, lowering the compulsory school age 
may add to the total Average Daily Membership (ADM) and the total weighted ADM (ADMw), 
which may cause a shift in funding among school districts. The full impact on ADMw, if any, is 
yet to be assessed at this point, but the Oregon Department of Education (ODE) estimates that 
it will be limited and minimal.  
 
SB 447 (CH 783) 
Establishes the capital improvement matching grant program to provide matching fund to school 
districts for their capital costs. Authorizes the State Treasurer to issue and use the proceeds of 
Article XI-P bonds to finance the grant program. Limits the total facility grant to $12.5 million per 
biennium for 2015-17, and $9 million thereafter. Creates the Office of School Facilities (OSF) to 
run the capital improvement matching grant program and the facility grant program. 
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Appropriates to the office, specified amount from the State School Fund (SSF) per biennium. 
Applies first to the 2015-16 school year SSF distribution. Takes effect on July 1, 2015. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue 
available for student weights-based distribution to school districts and education service 
districts. 
 
HB 5017 (SSF budget for 2015-17 school years) assumed the facility grant of $15 million per 
biennium but did not specify how the money should be used. SB 447 details dedicated uses of 
the money. The bill reduces the grant itself to $12.5 million for the 2015-17 biennium and to $9 
million per biennium in the following biennia. The balances are diverted to the OSF to administer 
the facility grant and the capital improvement matching grant programs. This $15 million carve-
out is the same as the SSF budget assumption in HB 5017. 
 
The capital improvement matching grant will use the proceeds of Article XI-P bonds and does 
not use money from the SSF. In the end, this bill does not change the total formula revenue 
available for student weights-based distribution to school districts and education service 
districts. 
 
SB 475 (CH 671) 
Broadens the scope of the Juvenile Detention Education Program (JDEP) to include the 
provision of educational services to youths placed in a youth care center within a detention 
facility.  
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue. 
 
While this bill does not change the total formula revenue, it may cause a shift in the State 
School Fund (SSF) distribution. A student in JDEP receives 1.5 weights for purposes of the SSF 
distribution. A student in a youth center within a detention facility currently gets a minimum 
weight of 1, and is taught by a school district where the youth center is located. The youth could 
carry a much higher weight, depending on the youth’s individual characteristics. Despite 
potentially varying weights of individual students, the JDEP will get 1.5 weights per student 
when it provides educational services to the youths specified in the bill. 
 
The transfer of responsibility under the bill could impact the total weights for the SSF distribution 
purpose, and consequently change the formula revenue per ADMw (weighted Average Daily 
Membership) to school districts. However, the impact is expected to be limited and minimal. 
 
SB 667 (CH 299) 
Moves the sunset of the law governing the small high school grant to July 1, 2020. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total revenue available for 
school districts and education service districts. 
 
The Small School District Supplement Fund, commonly known as the small high school grant, is 
a carve-out off the top and is distributed based on the Average Daily Membership (ADM), to 
school districts that have statutorily defined small high schools. This bill authorizes the 
continuation of the grant for another five years. 
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The annual grant of $2.5 million is included and fully accounted for in the co-chairs’ budget for 
the 2015-17 biennium.  
 
SB 898 (CH 803) 
Prohibits school districts from receiving State School Fund (SSF) distributions for certain high 
school students enrolled in college level courses offered through community colleges or 
Oregon’s public universities. Creates exceptions to this prohibition. Applies provisions to the 
2015-16 school year. Repeals the prohibition on July 1, 2016. Takes effect on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue 
available for distribution to school districts and education service districts. 
 
SB 898 specifies that a school district may not receive SSF distributions for a student who has 
satisfied the requirements for a high school diploma, remains enrolled at a school district, and 
has enrolled in one or more college-level courses. However, by creating exceptions to this 
prohibition and grandfathering in SSF distribution eligibility for certain students, the bill will have 
negligible impact, if any, on the 2015-16 SSF distribution. 
 
SB 5507 (CH 837) 
 
Establishes appropriations for the Emergency Board, finalizes the General Fund components of 
the statewide budget, implements budgetary changes tied to other legislations, and makes 
technical adjustments to agency budgets previously approved. Increases, in particular, the State 
School Fund (SSF) appropriation to the 2016-17 school year by $118 million. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

 Fiscal Year 
2016-17 

State School Fund  + $ 118 
 
SB 5507 adds $118 million to the 2016-17 SSF. With this increase, the SSF for the 2015-17 
biennium totals $7.373 billion. The 2015-17 Co-chairs’ budget SSF (HB 5017) was $7.255 billion 
with 50/50 split. With SB 5507, SSF split becomes 49.2% for the school year 2015-16 and 
50.8% for 2016-17. 
 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

HB 2266 (CH 453)  
Specifies that vehicle dealers may be exempted from weight-mile taxes when operating a 
vehicle owned or controlled by the dealer, the vehicle is displaying dealer plates, and is being 
operated for test driving purposes while unloaded. 
 
Background: 
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Under current law, persons or organizations licensed as vehicle dealers in Oregon are required 
to pay a license tax of 30 cents per gallon for fuel used or dispensed in the operation of vehicles 
offered for sale by the dealer. However, in cases where the vehicle offered for sale is a tractor-
trailer combination which, when operating commercially, will be required to pay the alternative 
weight-mile tax, the dealer is required to remit taxes via the weight/mile system. House Bill 2266 
specifies that vehicles operated while under ownership and/or control of the vehicle dealers in 
an unloaded condition and is being used for test driving purposes may remit taxes in the same 
manner as for passenger and light-duty vehicles. 
 
Revenue Impact:  Minimal Revenue Impact 
 

HB 2075 (CH 700)  
Increases aircraft fuel taxes. Jet fuel, avgas and mo-gas by 2 cents each starting 1/1/2016 then 
sunsets the increase by 1/1/2022. 
 
Revenue Impact: In millions is shown in the table. 
 
 

 
Impact Explanation: 
The rate increase for the jet fuel, avgas and mo-gas takes effect on 1/1/2016 and sunsets on 
1/1/ 2022. Establishes a mechanism for projects and grants to be funded, and delegates the 
funding to a review committee while introducing a prioritization criterion. The measure allows the 
department of aviation to use 5% of the revenue for administering these programs. 50% of the 
remaining revenue will be used for airport assistance and grant matches (including FAA 
matches). Grants for emergency preparedness according to the Oregon Resilience Plan, and 
grants for essential aviation services. Additionally it can be used for development with the 
priority for projects which bring in a bigger match. 25% of the revenue for commercial air service 
to rural Oregon, and the last 25% to state airports for safety and infrastructures projects. The 
measure finally requires robust and comprehensive reports every session and once in the 
interim. 
 

HB 2459 (CH 627)  
Increases certain fees related to registering and titling boats, floating homes and boathouses. 
 
Revenue Impact: In millions is shown in the table. 

BI 15-17 BI 17-19 BI 19-21

Avgas $0.08 $0.12 $0.12
Jet Fuel $5.20 $7.43 $7.61
Mo Gas $0.04 $0.05 $0.05

Total Revenue $5.32 $7.61 $7.77

Admin @ 5% $0.27 $0.38 $0.39
Grants Match 50% $2.53 $3.61 $3.69
Rural Air service 25% $1.26 $1.81 $1.85
Airport Safety&infra 25% $1.26 $1.81 $1.85

Distributions and dedications 
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Impact Explanation: 
The measure as amended is the fee bill for the Oregon Marine Board and would increase 
statutory fees to generate revenue sufficient to maintain Boating Safety and Boating Facility 
programs. 
The bill amends the following fee amounts as follows:  
Sail Boats 12 feet and all Motor Boats per foot fee $ 3 to $4.50 
Boat Rentals Business of 5 boats biennial setup fee $55 to $90 
Boat Rental biennial per-boat fee $ 6 to $10 
Title original or transfer $30 to $50 
Duplicate Title with no changes $15 to $25 
Duplicate Registration, Decals or Certificate of Number $10 to $15 
Dealer Biennial setup fee $28 to $45 
Dealer biennial per-boat fee $ 6 to $10 
Floating Home or Boathouse Certificate of Title original or transfer or Location change $20 to 
$100 
Floating Home or Boathouse Identifying Plate Duplicate Title $20 to $50 
 
 

HB 2730 (CH 806)  
Provides for the creation of Portland Trail Blazers vehicle plates. Imposes surcharge of $20 per 
year of registration and directs moneys to Trail Blazers Foundation. In the same fashion, the 
measure provides for creation of Breast Cancer Awareness plate. Imposes surcharge of $20 per 
year of registration and directs revenue to Oregon Health Authority Fund. Specifies that neither 
plate may be created or issued until ODOT receives amount necessary to cover costs of 
initiating plate program. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
Assuming strong promotion by the sponsoring entities, the likely market for those to plates is a 
space of about 5,400 plates a year. This would generate about $216,000 a year in revenue for 
the funds. The division between the Blazers and Breast Cancer Awareness will depend on 
many drivers’ responses to advertisement and popularity. If everything is the same, it would be 
expected to divide the revenue in half and each fund getting about $108,000 annually. 
Assuming the startup costs will be covered, DMV costs will have to be deducted first then the 
net revenue transferred to the respective funds. 
 
Impact Explanation: 
The specialty plate program seems to have a stable portion out of the total plate market. It 
seems that the introduction of any new plate (depending on success) will potentially slice away 
a piece of that make share. This new introduction of two new plates is expected to get to 450 

BN 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Other Funds 

Annual Paying Boats  $3,856,263 $4,481,459 $4,660,649 
Other Registration $33,511 $37,537 $38,725 
Boat Titles $795,773 $912,351 $945,492 
Other Titles and Plates $107,741 $122,483 $127,019 
Gas Tax Revenues no Increase 

Change in biennium revenues $4,793,288 $5,553,830 $5,771,885 
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plates per month. This profile was modeled after the existing specialty plate programs and the 
space they seem to span. The marketing and advertisement will make the impact on who 
establishes and slices a bigger market share. The measure also gives DMV the ability to 
change the specialty plate program by rule which might be a further defining factor for that 
segment of the plate market. The startup costs of about $88,000 for each plate type, and the 
ongoing costs of about $61,000 would have to be covered before the transfer occurs. The Trail 
Blazers plate might benefit from a strong marketing and promotional environment allowing it to 
slice a bigger share of the market. 
 

SB 254 (CH 448)  
Increases fee on motor vehicle fuel metering instrument or device in accordance with graduated 
schedule 
 
Revenue Impact: This fee increase on about (31,116 Devices) is shown in the table. 
 

 Cumulative Increase in 
Revenue  

 

FY 17 $31,116. 
FY 18 $62,232. 
FY 19 $124,464. 
FY 20 $155,580. 

 
Impact Explanation: 
The Oregon Department of Agriculture’s Motor Fuel Quality Program (MFQP) was established 
in 1997 in order to ensure that the 2.1 billion gallons of motor vehicle gasoline, diesel and 
biofuels sold in Oregon annually meet national standards and specifications for quality. This fee 
bill is attempting to recover costs of administration and regulation that are currently not met by 
the current fee of $5. The increase occurs on July 1, of the years 2016, 17, 18, and 19. The 
increase from the current $5 dollars consecutively goes to $6, $7, $9, and ends up at $10 for 
fiscal year 2020 and beyond. 
This bill is intended to raise the revenue commensurate to the program costs; however, the 
authorization to expend will still have to go through the budget process 
 

SB 269 (CH 450)  
Increases pilot registration fees. 
 
Revenue Impact:  This measure raises revenue for an assortment of projects, uses, and 
purposes beyond cost recovery. 
 

    Increase in 2015-17 
Revenue 

Increase in 17-19 
Revenue 

Increase in 19-21  
Revenue 

Pilot Registration Fee 
Increase 

 $62,830 $78,747 $79,141 

Aircraft Registration  $151,435 $202,257 $203,268 
Public Airports Registration  $5,020 $5,020 $5,045 
      
TOTALS   $219,285 $286,024 $287,454 
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Impact Explanation: 
The measure increase several fees in three main categories: (1) Pilot Registration fee category 
by about 100%; (2) Aircraft Registration fee category by an average of 40%. (3) Airport licensing 
fees on new schedule to reach more than 120%. 
The pilot registration fees cover program costs and costs of search and rescue by counties and 
OEM. While Aircraft registration is meant to cover 105 for administration, 22% for federal match, 
and 68% for airport maintenance.  Finally the airport fees are meant to cover multiple services 
performed for those airports. 
This measure seems to be a major revenue raiser for the department of aviation, where the 
categories and fees generate 45% revenue increase form current fees. 
 

SB 472 (CH 390)  
Increases maximum number of Pacific Wonderland registration plates that may be issued. 
 
Revenue Impact:   

   
  2015-17  2017-19 2019-21 
Gross Revenue from plate sales  $782,500 $1,520,000 $1,520,000 
    Less: processing cost  ($5,295) ($9,120) ($9,120) 
Revenue Available for Transfer  $777,205 $1,510,880 $1,510,880 
     
 Capitol Foundation  @ 50%     388,602.5   755,440 755,440 
 Oregon historic Society  @ 50%     388,602.5   755,440 755,440 

 
Impact Explanation: 
The 2009 Oregon Legislative Assembly recreated a limited edition of Oregon’s historic Pacific 
Wonderland plate In recognition of Oregon’s 150th birthday. The Pacific Wonderland 
registration plate is a limited edition plate with only 40,000 sets manufactured. There is a one-
time surcharge of $100 per set of plates paid at issuance, in addition to the $24 plate fee and 
regular registration fee. There will not be any ongoing renewal registration fee. Proceeds of the 
surcharge will be divided in half between the Oregon State Capitol Foundation and the Oregon 
Historical Society. Highway Funds may not be used for implementation costs resulting from SB 
472 (Oregon Constitution, Article IX, Section 3a). This analysis assumes that the agency’s 
implementation costs will be paid by revenues raised by current sales of Pacific Wonderland 
plates which still have about 10,000 to be issued. 
Using the monthly rate of sales for FY 2015-16 (about 612 sets per month), FY 2015-16 sales 
from the new authorization (after the initial 40,000 authorization is exhausted) would be 1,225 
plate sets or $122,500 in gross surcharge revenue, $660,000 in FY 16-17 and $1,520,000 in the 
2017-19 biennium.  
 
 
 

MARIJUANA / OLCC TAXES AND REVENUE  
 
 

HB 2041 (CH 699)  
The measure imposes 17 percent tax on marijuana items sold by recreational marijuana 
retailers (retailers) at point of retail sale starting January 1, 2016. Requires Oregon Liquor 
Control Commission (OLCC) to enter into agreement with Department of Revenue authorizing 
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Department to implement, administer and enforce rules and procedures for collection of tax. 
Requires retailers submit tax return on or before last day of January, April, July and October of 
each year for each previous calendar quarter. Allows retailer to deduct and retain 2 percent of 
taxes collected. Describes process for collection by Department for any delinquent tax. Allows 
and requires medical marijuana dispensaries selling to non-medical marijuana cardholders to 
collect 25 percent tax on all sales starting on or after January 4, 2016 until December 31, 2016. 
The measure also allows Department to use revenue for administration and enforcement of Act. 
Cities and counties that pass ordinances prohibiting any kind of medical or recreational 
marijuana facility or site are prohibited from receiving any funds raised through taxation of 
marijuana.  
 
Revenue Impact:   
The table below represents the impact of taxing marijuana. The difference from the current law 
estimate of Measure 91 is lower net revenue in 2015-17 by about $5 million and higher in 2017-
19 by about $18 million.  
The early start by medical dispensaries is expected to provide $2 to $3 million in revenue (at 
25% rate) assuming no major implementation difficulties. This however remains a major risk and 
needs to be monitored not to further disrupt the unfolding of the legal commercial system.  
 

 
 
 
Impact Explanation: 
This measure changes the tax from a harvest tax ($35/Oz) on producers to a point of sale tax 
(17%) on retailers and allows 3% for local governments, those choses to impose a local tax. As 
a result of changing the point of taxation the price to consumers is likely to be lower benefiting 
from lower markup of the harvest tax and less product price impact from the effects of the IRC 
280 E. Thus, the legal market is able to carve a bigger niche and to supply a larger segment of 
the existing marijuana demand. Revenue will increase in the coming biennia as prices, quality 
and safety of the product improves. These results are contingent on the ability of the regulation 
regime to establish control on the legal market from production and processing to distribution 
and retailing. Furthermore it is assumed that the medical system will continue to be strictly 
isolated from the commercial market. Taxes on edibles and other extracts are expected to be 
about 10% of the total revenue and users from out of state about an equal percentage. New 
users enticed by legalization are expected to reach 6.4% of the legal market.  
The legal market however will probably need about a decade with strong enforcement tools 
before it is able to dislodge the gray market and become the dominant supplier of marijuana in 
the state.  However, Risks are numerous and they are all bounded by federal policy and its 
impacts on enforcement mechanisms, tax policy and delisting from the drug schedules. The 
movement of federal policy in either direction will have a significant impact on marijuana 

FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 BN 15-17 BN 17-19

Revenue $10.75 $30.37 $32.04 $10.75 $62.42
collection costs ($11.56) ($6.84) ($6.94) ($11.56) ($13.78)
Fee & License revenue $5.17 $5.24 $5.30 $5.17 $10.54

Net Revenue $4.36 $28.77 $30.40 $4.36 $59.17

Revenue Distribution 
Common School Fund 40% $1.74 $11.51 $12.16 $1.74 $23.67
Mental Health 20% $0.87 $5.75 $6.08 $0.87 $11.83
State Police Account 15% $0.65 $4.31 $4.56 $0.65 $8.88
Cities 10% $0.44 $2.88 $3.04 $0.44 $5.92
Counties 10% $0.44 $2.88 $3.04 $0.44 $5.92
Oregon Health Authority 5% $0.22 $1.44 $1.52 $0.22 $2.96
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taxation and revenue.  Furthermore the implementation or the marijuana policies on the local 
level and the construction a solid system on the state level are paramount on future direction of 
success in dominating the markets. The early start amendment might delay that transition and 
pose a further risk to the intended system. 
 

HB 2480 (CH 60) 
The measure establishes application fee for Oregon Liquor Control Commission processing of 
certain license applications. 
 
Revenue Impact (in Millions): 
 
  15-17 BN  17-19 BN   19-21 BN 
General Fund   $193,384  $279,333  $286,316 
Cities   $117,412  $169,595  $173,835 
Counties   $34,532  $49,881  $51,127 
       
Total   $345,329  $498,808  $511,278 
 
Impact Explanation:  
HB 2480 would allow the Commission to establish a fee for the initial license application 
to sell or serve alcohol.  The fee is only applied to classes of licenses with annual 
license fees.   The proposed fee is up to $150 and would be nonrefundable unless the 
Commission does not propose that a license be granted, granted with conditions, or 
refused on or before 75 days after a completed application is submitted. The estimated 
revenues are driven by the anticipated number of new applicants. There were 
approximately 3500 new license applicants during FY2014.  The Commission 
anticipates that there will be between 3500 to 4500 licensees affected.  With 4,500 new 
applicants, some refunds, and a two-tiered fee structure, the fee is expected to generate 
approximately $345,000 in additional revenue for the (18 months in) 15-17 biennium, 
and about half a million in the biennia after that.   
The General Fund gets 56% of this revenue, with 34% distributed to cities and 10% to 
counties.   
The OLCC indicates that the Implementation is possible within existing FTE allocations. 
Which essentially allows this fee to cover and pay for a function previously subsided by 
liquor revenue. This frees up the revenue originally targeted for administration to be 
channeled for distribution. 
 

SB 460 (CH 784)  
Allows medical marijuana dispensaries to sell up to one quarter ounce of dried leaves and 
flowers and four immature marijuana plants to persons at least 21 years of age starting October 
1, 2015. Requires Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to create rules implementing measure. Allows 
local governments to pass ordinances prohibiting sales. Sunsets December 31, 2016. 
 
Revenue Impact:   
The early start by medical dispensaries is expected to provide $2 to $3 million in revenue (at 
25% rate provided for in HB 2041) assuming no major implementation difficulties. This revenue 
will result in the period following January 2016. This early start however, remains a major risk 
and needs to be monitored not to further disrupt the unfolding of the legal commercial system. 



2015 Measures Passed 

LRO #3-15  41 

 
Impact Explanation: 
This measure activates the early start section in HB 2041-A. The early start has no tax before 
January 2014, and a rate of 25% from January till the end of 2014.  
The construction of a well regulated market will take some time and a synchronized process to 
become effective and operational. The early start option might complicate, delay or affect 
emergence of the regulated regime and pose a further risk to the envisioned system. The 
control of the supply of the product is an essential assumption in this regulatory regime, thus it 
will be important to monitor how the allowance of the medical suppliers to ramp up their 
production will have further impacts on the evolving system. 
 
 
 

TOBACCO TAX 
 
 

HB 2489 (CH 46) 
Removes expiration of cigarette tax stamps following tax increases in January 2016 and 
January 2018. Limits distributor purchases of cigarette tax stamps in two months prior to each 
scheduled tax increase to no more than 150 percent of six-month average beginning May 1, 
2015 through October 31, 2015 for tax increase scheduled in 2016 and six-month average 
beginning May 1, 2017 through October 31, 2017 for tax increase scheduled in 2018. Directs 
department of Revenue to determine six-month average purchase of tax stamps for each 
distributor. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
The measure is expected to have a minimal revenue impact in FYs 2016 and 2018. Under 
current law, Oregon’s cigarette tax is scheduled to increase by $0.01 per pack on January 1st 
2016 and 2018 respectively. Under current law, cigarette stamps issued prior to each tax 
change will expire the 31st of January following each tax increase and any cigarette packs with 
affixed expired stamps will be contraband and subject to seizure and criminal/civil penalties if 
held for sale following the expiration date.  
In response to the current law expiration of stamps, it is expected that retailers and particularly 
cigarette distributors would be forced to reduce inventories leading up to the January 1 tax 
increases. This would be followed by an increase in stamp purchases directly following the tax 
increase. The elimination of the tax stamp expiration in this measure will eliminate the need for 
retailers and distributors to reduce inventory. This is expected to reduce the number of stamps 
sold directly following the tax increases causing a slight reduction in tax receipts.  
Eliminating the expiration of the stamps, along with the absence of a floor tax could create an 
opportunity for distributors to purchase more stamps prior to the tax increase. This could result 
in a loss of revenue as more stamps are purchased at a price $0.01 lower. Measure places 
limitations on the amount of stamps distributors may purchase prior to tax increases, and as 
such, revenue loss is expected to be minimal. 
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BONDING AND DEBT  
 
 

HB 2492 (CH 548)  
This measure authorizes the issuance of pass-through revenue bonds for projects outside of the 
State of Oregon. It defines term “within this state” relating to the construction of structures by 
institutions eligible to receive pass-through financing under the authority of the Oregon Facilities 
Authority. Clarifies measure does not prohibit financing more than one structure   
 
Revenue Impact:   No Revenue Impact 
 
Background: 
The Oregon Facilities Authority was established in 1989. It is a government institution that 
assists charities of all sizes to secure low cost financing for remodeling, expanding, construction 
or purchase of new facilities through the use of tax-exempt revenue bonds. The bonds are 
repaid through revenues generated by the project itself and the bonds are issued by the State 
Treasurer based on recommendations of the Authority, which consists of seven members. 
 

HB 2278 (CH 815)  
The measure modifies schedule and conditions for issuance of lottery bonds to pay costs of 
Coos Bay Channel Project. 
 
Revenue Impact:  The measure modifies the schedule and conditions for issuing $15 million 
in lottery bonds. If that occurs in the 17-19 biennium debt service will reduce lottery revenue 
available for other uses by about $1.2 million a year. 
 
Background: 
The measure allows for lottery bonds to be considered if other conditions occur. The $15 million 
in net proceeds will be used for deepening the Coos Bay Channel. The bonds and the project 
will be considered in the 17-19 biennium. If that happens then bond proceeds will be considered 
as new revenue and debt service costs and reserves as reductions in revenue in the years 
following. 
 
 

HB 3199 (CH 828) 
The measure rewrites and modifies the authority for issuance of state bonds for the benefit of 
universities with governing boards. 
 
Background: 
Because the public universities are now independent public bodies, and as a result of SB 270 
(2013 session), Oregon’s seven public universities (defined in ORS 352.002), University of 
Oregon, Oregon State University, Portland State University, Oregon Institute of Technology, 
Western Oregon University, Southern Oregon University, Eastern Oregon University, may 
continue to request the Legislative Assembly authorize the issuance of Bonds to finance 
projects of the universities. However, it is necessary to verify compliance by the public 
universities with the requirements of the State Constitution before the State issues Bonds that 
have been approved by the Legislative Assembly. The measure establishes a process to ensure 
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compliance with the requirements of the State Constitution and federal tax law requirements so 
that the State can issue the Bonds for the benefit of the public universities. Article XI-F (1) of the 
State Constitution, and similarly Under Article XI-G of the State Constitution, the amount of any 
debt issued by the State in any biennium those articles have a set of requirements to be 
observed. With the dissolution of the Oregon University System and the Board or higher 
education as state agencies, that left the connection between the bonds and the universities 
missing a link. The HECC is the new entity proposed by this measure to make that connection 
and ply the role of the link between. 
 
Revenue Impact:  No Impact 
 

HB 3526 (CH 831) 
Establishes Oregon Main Street Revitalization Grant Program within State Parks and 
Recreation Department for purpose of awarding grants to acquire, rehabilitate and construct 
buildings in designated downtown areas statewide and to facilitate community revitalization. 
 
Revenue Impact:  The Oregon Main Street Revitalization Grant Program is anticipated to be 
supported by the issuance of $2.5 million in lottery bonds, which will be authorized in the Lottery 
Bond bill (HB 5030). The bond sale is expected to take place in the spring of 2017, which 
pushes debt service to the 2017-19 biennium. 
 
Impact Explanation: 
The bill establishes the Oregon Main Street Revitalization Grant Program within Oregon Parks 
and Recreation Department (OPRD) for the purpose of awarding annual competitive grants for 
preservation-based community revitalization and economic development. OPRD would also be 
required to provide regular updates to other state agencies that have an interest in the 
implementation and administration of the grant program, including but not limited to the Oregon 
Business Development Department and the Department of Transportation. Other Funds 
expenditure limitation to pay cost of issuance for the lottery bonds related to this legislation, and 
to pay for grant awards, will be added in the Emergency Board financial administration bill (HB 
5507). Administrative costs for the program are anticipated to be absorbed by the Agency. 
 

HB 5005 (CH 685)  
This is the main bonding authorization bill. It establishes amounts authorized for issuance of 
general obligation bonds, revenue bonds, certificates of participation and other financing 
agreements for biennium. 
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Revenue Impact (In millions): 
While Bond proceeds (minus issuance costs) represent increased revenue, debt service 
payments are reductions to revenues coming to the state system in the particular biennium.   
 

 Program Designation Total 
Issuance 
2015-17 

Debt Service 
2015-17 

Debt 
Service 
2017-19 

 GENERAL OBLIGATION BONDS    
Article     
 General Fund Obligations    
XI-G Higher Education Coordinating Comm. - PU $92.5 $0.0 $11.3 
XI-G Higher Education Coordinating Comm. - CC $53.3 $0.0 $7.7 
XI-G Oregon Health and Science University $200.0 $8.5 $28.9 
XI-M Oregon Business Development Dept. $176.9 $4.1 $28.7 
XI-N Oregon Business Development Dept. $30.4 $0.0 $4.9 
XI-P Oregon Department of Education $126.2 $0.0 $20.5 
XI-Q Department of Administrative Services $369.6 $12.4 $77.5 
XI (7)    Oregon Department of Transportation $35.5 $0.0 $5.1 

 
Subtotal General Fund Supported GO 

Bonds $1,084.5 $25.0 $184.7 

     
 Dedicated Fund Obligations    
XI-A Department of Veterans' Affairs $100.0 $20.0 $40.0 
XI-
F(1) 

Higher Education Coordinating Comm. - PU $71.0 $0.0 $9.2 

XI-H Dept. of Environmental Quality $10.0 $2.0 $4.0 
XI-I(1) Water Resources Department $30.5 $1.2 $4.9 
XI-I(2) Housing and Community Services Dept. $25.0 $5.0 $10.0 
XI-J Department of Energy $25.0 $5.0 $10.0 

 Subtotal Other Fund Supported GO Bonds $261.5 $33.2 $78.1 
     

 Total All General Obligation Bonds $1,346.0 $58.2 $262.8 

     
 REVENUE BONDS    
 Direct Revenue Bonds    
 Housing and Community Services Department $300.0 $60.0 $120.0 
 Department of Transportation Highway User 

Tax 
$393.2 $78.6 $157.3 

 Oregon Business Development Department $30.0 $6.0 $12.0 
 Department of Energy $20.0 $4.0 $8.0 
 DAS Lottery Revenue Bonds $201.8 $0.0 $35.9 

 Total Direct Revenue Bonds $945.0 $148.6 $333.1 

 
Impact Explanation: 
The detail of the bonding revenue and payments as well as the projects can be found in the 
LFO budget report.  The Lottery bonds are also authorized in this bill but they are detailed in HB 
5030. The estimates here include issuance costs.  
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SB 5030 (CH 812)  
Increases amount of lottery bonds authorized to be issued by Oregon Business Development 
Department and other departments. 
 
Revenue Impact  (In millions): 
$201,795,000 of lottery revenue bonds are authorized in HB 5005 to generate the proceeds for 
the approved projects and to pay associated bond-related costs. All lottery revenue bond issues 
that are authorized for the 2015-17 biennium are authorized in this bill. Proceeds are shown as 
revenue in agency budgets and debt service payments as reducing future revenue available for 
other uses. Cost of issuance is assumed to occur in 2015-17. 
 
 
 
Million $$  PAR PROJECT COI Reserves  Debt Service 
          2015-17 2017-19 
TOTAL   201.8   180.2    -3.4    18.2    -35.9 
 
Impact Explanation: 
This measure authorizes a total of $180,167,157 of lottery bond proceeds for projects funded in 
the Department of Administrative Services, Oregon Business Development Department, 
Housing and Community Services Department, Water Resources Department, Department of 
Veterans’ Affairs, State Parks and Recreation Department, Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission, and Department of Transportation budgets. Authority to spend the proceeds for 
projects, and to pay for the cost of issuing the bonds, is included in individual agency budget 
bills and in the budget reconciliation bill (SB 5507). The cost of issuance included in agency 
budgets for the bonds authorized in this bill total $3,443,267 lottery Funds. Debt service 
payments are assumed to start in the 2017-19 biennium. 
 
 
 

JUDICIAL SYSTEM AND COURT FEES 
 
 

HB 2316 (CH 623)  
HB 2316 Increases fee amounts charged by justice courts for various filings, and create process 
for taking perpetuation deposition for material witnesses. 
 
Revenue Impact: 
This measure increases court fees for the Justice (county) courts. The revenue impacts 
represent an increase to local courts. 
 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Revenue Increase $247,227 $330,803  $332,715  
 
Impact Explanation: 
This measure increases the fees for civil filings in justice courts. For example it increases a 
variety of fees the first appearance of the parties will increase from $40 to $90. Fees for filing a 
small claim will increase from $28 to $35 in 2015 and from $35 to $37 in 2018. Miscellaneous 
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fees increase from $6 to $9. Small fees for taking affidavits or taking depositions are removed. 
Trial fees for small claims trials by jury are $125, and other trial fees are increased to $75 per 
day, payable by the plaintiff. Trial fees for small claims trials are prohibited. The second section 
of the measure deals with the issue of detention of a material witness. House Bill 2316 creates a 
process for taking the deposition testimony of a material witness. The petition for deposition 
must be granted or denied within 30 days of filing. The amendment specifies that the deposition 
of a material witness does not invalidate or otherwise affect the material witness order, but may 
be considered in connection with an application to vacate or modify an order.  
 
 

HB 2361 (CH 365)  
The measure prohibits court from charging Long-Term Care Ombudsman (LTCO) or Disability 
Rights Oregon (DRO) fee for filing objection to petition or motion in protective proceeding. 
Applies to protective proceedings commenced on or after the effective date. 
 
Revenue Impact:   No Revenue Impact 
 
Background: 
The Long-Term Care Ombudsman (LTCO) provides free services to residents of long term care 
facilities. The services include complaint investigation, advocacy, and consultations. 
Additionally, the LTCO is responsible for oversight of the newly created Office of Public 
Guardian, which will provide guardianship services to those who have no suitable guardian or 
conservator amongst friends or relatives and cannot afford a professional guardian. Disability 
Rights Oregon (DRO) is a non-profit law office that provides advocacy and legal services to 
people with disabilities. Under current law, a court may not charge a respondent or a protected 
person a fee for filing an objection to a guardianship petition or any other motion in the 
protective proceeding. House Bill 2361A prohibits courts from charging the LTCO and DRO a 
fee for filing a motion or objection to a petition in a protective proceeding. 
 

HB 2621 (CH 721)  
The measure authorizes the City of Portland to operate photo radar on urban high crash 
corridors. 
 
Revenue Impact (in millions):  

    2015-17  2017-19 2019-21 

     
Criminal Fine Account   $16.1  $30.2  $33.7  

City of Portland   $6.6  $12.3  $13.8  

      
Total Revenue    $22.6  $42.5  $47.4  

 
 
Impact Explanation: 
The permanent photo-radar units are composed of a pair of cameras one for each direction. The 
roll out of these units in the high-crash corridors will be mostly in 2016, 2 cameras on 1/1/16, 2 
more on 4/1/16, 2 more on 7/1/16, and 2 more cameras on 10/1/16. Two additional cameras on 
January 2017 will bring the total to 10 cameras. Additional 10 unites (for total of 20 cameras) will 
be installed by 7/1/2018.  Data from the city of Portland biennial reports suggest that the current 
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mobile-camera, which is time limited (4-hours), averages around 13 citations per hour (2009-
2013). This average is proportioned for the time of day (4 hours at the same average) and 11 
hours at 25% of the average, while the rest of the day at 10%. This apportionment results in 
base estimate of about 4.1 citations an hour or slightly less than 100 a day for each of the new 
stationary cameras. However, the 2016 rate will quickly go through an 11% reduction to become 
3.7 citations per hour for the six months in FY 2016. The analysis fashions reductions in speeds 
and citations to the experience of both Portland and Seattle. This assumes a 61% reduction in 
violations by year 2021 in those corridors as a result of changing behaviors of drivers. The 
citations are likely to have a 67% final collection (the same as current rate) which filters into the 
final revenue stream at that rate. A pivotal assumption for this revenue analysis is that the radar 
systems will perform with a very high reliability, and the courts be well funded and staffed to be 
able to process all the new cases that come in to the court system. Those transactions are 
about 217 thousand a year as the radar units all are installed quickly and brought on line and 
into operation. 
 

HB 2700 (CH 2)  
Directs 50 percent of unclaimed or unpaid damages awarded in class action proceeding to 
Oregon State Bar for funding of Legal Services Program. Directs 50 percent of unclaimed or 
unpaid damages to entity that court determines has direct relationship to action or is directly 
beneficial to interest of class members. Specifies court may approve process for payment of 
damages, including use of claim forms. Removes requirement that class members needs to 
affirmatively indicate desire to share monetary award prior to determination of judgment amount. 
Requires court to specifically identify individuals who request exclusion from class and to 
generally describe remaining class. Applies to actions in which appeals have not been 
exhausted or expired.  
 
Revenue Impact:  Indeterminate 
House Bill 2700 establishes a cy-pres rule within ORCP 32.  In class action suits, after a 
judgment has been entered and award distributed, there may be money remaining from 
uncashed checks or unclaimed funds.  In many states, this money is directed to another entity 
or purpose, and is not returned to the defendant.  This principle is called “cy pres.”  Oregon 
does not have a cy-pres rule and any unclaimed moneys at the conclusion of a class action are 
returned to the defendant.   
 
HB 2700 directs 50 percent of unclaimed or unpaid moneys be directed to the Oregon State Bar 
for the sole purpose of funding the Legal Services Program.  The remaining 50 percent is 
distributed to any entity that the court determines is directly related to the class action or is 
directly beneficial to the class.  It changes ORCP 32 so that courts may determine the claims 
process on a case by case basis and removes the “opt-in” mechanism for individual recovery 
from the judgment.  HB 2700 takes effect upon passage and applies to those class actions in 
which a final judgment has been not been entered or, if final judgment has been entered the 
time to appeal has not expired, as of the effective date. 
 
The State of Oregon currently provides, in the Oregon Judicial Department budget, $11.9 million 
of Other Funds court fee revenues to the Legal Services Program each biennium. Any funds 
from unclaimed damages would be paid directly to the Oregon State Bar and be in addition to 
the state’s support. The Oregon State Bar is not a state agency but legal aid is established in 
ORS 9.572, however, the unclaimed damages awarded to the program would not be included in 
the state budget or revenue stream and are not required to be continuously appropriated. 
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The revenue from these lawsuits and cases are not known with any certainty. What amounts 
might be generated, and in which frame of time is unknown.  At the same time, there is likely to 
be revenues going to the Legal Aid fund in more than one future biennium as a result of this bill. 
However, it is not possible to project when that may occur.  
 
 
 

FINANCIAL AND TAX ADMINSTRATION  
 
 

HB 2490 (CH 33) 
The measure changes the end date to August 31 from September 9th for the purpose of 
calculating the CPI that adjusts the amount invested in the local government pool. 
 
Background:  
This measure fixes the problems associated with SB 351 from the 2013 session. That bill 
allowed tribal governments to invest in the local government investment pool. The bill rewrote 
ORS 294.810 in a way that makes it difficult for Treasury to implement. ORS 294.810 always 
had a September 9th date for CPI calculations, but SB 351 took what was just a date in time 
and made it a point of calculation. Treasury is not required to use CPI data for end dates of 
September 9th. The bill simply moves the date to the end of the month so that Treasury can 
calculate the data as intended 
 
Revenue Impact: No Impact 
 

HB 2493 (CH 40) 
The measure modifies meeting schedule for State Debt Policy Advisory Commission to annually 
from every six months. It also establishes the long-term forecast for the state’s borrowing 
capacity targets to be at least for six years, and to make it consistent with the revenue forecast 
of the Oregon Department of Administrative Services.  
 
Background:  
ORS 286A.250(7) requires SDPAC to meet at least twice a year. Meeting twice a year has not 
been the practice, and the commission as operated with annual meetings. The duties of the 
commission (SDPAC) are stipulated in 286A.255 Functions and duties of commission. The 
State Debt Policy Advisory Commission shall advise the Governor and the Legislative Assembly 
regarding policies and actions that enhance and preserve the state’s credit rating and maintain 
the future availability of low-cost capital financing. In carrying out this function, the commission 
shall at least annually prepare a report showing the consolidated bond profile of this state. The 
report must include: 
(1) The total amount of outstanding bonds for the most recently concluded fiscal year. 
(2) A six-year forecast of the state’s borrowing capacity targets by repayment source based on 
the policies and actions established under this section. 
(3) A calculation of the state’s net remaining borrowing capacity by repayment source. 
 
Revenue Impact: No Impact 
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SB 161 (CH 444) 
Measure allows county tax collectors to electronically file warrants of delinquent property taxes 
on business personal property with the Secretary of State (SoS) which is required to mark, hold, 
and index filed warrants in accordance with provisions of Universal Commercial Code (UCC). 
SoS is permitted to charge fee for filing in UCC and county tax collectors are permitted to add 
amount of SoS fee to amount due on property tax warrant. SoS provided public testimony that 
suggests any fee would be levied as a flat fee to each county in amount not to exceed $500. If 
all 36 counties choose to file with SoS and each county chooses to pass on the $500 fee, total 
increase in fees would be no more than $18,000.  
This measure provides that under certain conditions included in the bill, purchaser of business 
personal property may qualify as bona fide purchaser. A bona fide purchaser is not liable for 
property taxes that were delinquent on the date of the purchase transaction in which bona fide 
purchaser acquired the business personal property. This is expected to have a minimal impact 
upon property tax collections. 
The measure permits tax collector to accept agreed upon compromise payment of tax from 
purchaser of business personal property, under certain conditions. This is expected to have a 
minimal impact upon tax collections. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
 
 

STATE FINANCE 
 
 

HB 2719 (CH 723) 
Increases share of moneys retained by Oregon Racing Commission from payments received by 
commission from gross receipts of mutual wagering recorded by totalizator system. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
General Fund reduction of $190,040 in 2015-17, and $372,990 in 2017-19 
 
Impact Explanation:  
This bill would change the percentage of distribution of revenue from Advanced Deposit 
Wagering Companies (ADW’). The current distribution directs 66 2/3% to the benefit of the 
industry and 33 1/3% to the General Fund (GF). The new distribution under the amended bill 
would be 75% to the benefit of the industry and 25% to the General Fund. This would result in a 
decrease in GF distributions. 
 

HB 3542 (CH 641) 
HB 3542 requires the chief sponsor of a proposed bill involving new or expanded tax credits to 
submit a purpose statement.  The bill also directs the Legislative Revenue Office to prepare an 
analysis of any previously enacted tax credits in which the revenue impact exceeds the original 
estimate.  The bill further specifies that committees on revenue hold public hearings on those 
credits in which the revenue impact has exceeded the estimate by more than 10%.  
 
Revenue Impact: None 
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HB 5029 (CH 811) 
Maintains and reserves lottery revenues available to benefit public purposes during biennium 
beginning July 1, 2015, in Administrative Services Economic Development Fund. 
 
Revenue Impact:  Reduced General fund revenues ($7.1 million).   
 
The measure allocates the May forecast lottery revenue for the 2015-17 biennium, and leaves 
$16 million in the ending balance. The CFA is also adjusted to a lower transfer to the general 
fund in the 2015-17 biennium. The General fund is expected to receive $44.32 million which is 
$7.1 million less than the amount assumed in the May forecast.  
 
Impact Explanation:  
ORS 137.300 establishes the CFA and identifies program priorities, but does not specify a 
funding level for the programs. Programs receiving CFA allocations are established in the 
appropriation bills for the various receiving agencies. Revenues remaining in the CFA after the 
different programs receive their allocations are deposited into the General Fund. 
The revenue forecast for the CFA for the 2015-17 biennium totals $116.8 million, allocations to 
agencies totaled $72.5 million, leaving $44.3 million to be deposited into General Fund. Those 
are different amounts for the assumed general fund transfer in the May forecast. 
 

SB 80 (CH 767) 
This measure abolishes Oregon University System, office of the Chancellor of the Oregon 
University System and State Board of Higher Education. It states that all public universities have 
institutional governing boards. Aligns the higher education structure by abolishing several 
accounts. Those accounts are: the Oregon University System Fund and subaccounts, Higher 
Education Donation Fund, Higher Education Academic Modernization Account, Oregon 
University System Capital Construction, Deferred Maintenance, and Capital Repair Project 
Fund. The measure transfers moneys remaining in accounts or funds to Public University Fund. 
Limits use of transferred moneys to purposes listed in original funds or accounts. Adds the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission to the list of entities authorized to take action with 
respect to the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, and specifies that the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission replaces the references to the State Board of 
Higher Education.  
 
Revenue Impact:  None 
 
Background:  
Senate Bill 270 (2013) established governing boards for the University of Oregon and Portland 
State University, while providing a process for other universities in the Oregon University 
System (OUS) to also establish independent institutional boards. This restructuring of university 
governance ultimately led to the dissolution of OUS and State Board of Higher Education 
(SBHE), but numerous references to OUS, SBHE, and the OUS Chancellor remain in statutes. 
At the request Interim Committee on Education and Workforce Development, an informal work 
group met three times to review all relevant statutes that reference OUS, SBHE, and/or OUS 
Chancellor. The work group included involved parties including representatives from the office 
of Legislative Counsel, Higher Education Coordinating Committee, and OUS. Senate Bill 80 
addresses higher education governance, and is intended as a vehicle to address references in 
current statute to entities that dissolved as a result of Senate Bill 270 . 
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SB 129 (CH 757) 
Retains 50-50 split of personal income tax revenue from newly created jobs attributed to eligible 
Strategic Investment Program projects.  Reduces local tax district share of income tax revenue 
attributed to retained jobs to 20%. Caps individual county revenue at $16 million annually. 
Extends sunset on program from 2019 to 2024. Changes allocation mechanism from a separate 
shared services fund to a direct allocation by the Department of Revenue.    
 
Revenue Impact (in $millions):  
 
            Impact on General Fund and Local Taxing Districts 

  2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 
Local Taxing Districts Current Law $86.2 $57.8 $0 

SB 129 B $32.7 $33.0 $33.1 
Impact on General Fund  +$53.5 +$24.8 -$33.1 
 

SB 800 (CH 797) 
Establishes Task Force on Reserve Funds to study performance of Education Stability Fund 
(created in 2002) and Oregon Rainy Day Fund (created in 2007).  SB 800 directs task force to 
make recommendations to 2017 Legislature.  The bill further directs Legislative Fiscal Office 
and Legislative Revenue Office to staff task force. 
 
Revenue Impact: None 
 
 
 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 
 
 

HB 2440 (CH 103) 
Allows an unemployed individual who is eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, to be still 
eligible for the benefits when the individual travels outside the normal labor market for job 
interviews. Takes effect on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

 Fiscal Year 
 
 

Biennium 
2015-16 2016-17 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 

Unemployment Insurance  
Trust Fund -$0.06 -$0.06 -$0.12 -$0.13 -$0.13 

 
Source: Oregon Employment Department 
 
The bill allows an unemployed individual who is eligible for Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
benefits, to continue to be eligible for the benefits when the individual travels outside the normal 
labor market for job interviews. Under current law, the individual has to stay within the 
individual’s normal labor market to be continuously eligible for benefits. This change will 
increase benefit payment, negatively affecting the UI Trust Fund. 
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SB 242 (CH 529) 
Makes changes in the Oregon State Statutes to conform to federal requirements in the Oregon 
Employment Department’s participation in the U.S. Treasury Offset Program (TOP) and work 
share eligibility practice. Takes effect on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

 Fiscal Year 
 
 

Biennium 
2015-16 2016-17 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 

Unemployment Insurance  
Trust Fund -$0.01 -$0.01 -$0.02 -$0.13 -$0.20 

 
This bill makes several changes to bring the Oregon State Statutes in conformity with federal 
requirements governing the Oregon Employment Department’s participation in the TOP and 
work share practice. Non-conformity would result in Oregon employers paying additional $1.11 
billion per biennium in Federal Unemployment Insurance taxes. Two changes have impact on 
the flow of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Trust Fund. 
 
First, the bill expands the set of individuals and businesses that are bound by the TOP referrals, 
which will bring in additional proceeds to the UI Trust fund. The Oregon Employment 
Department (OED) estimates the revenues from this change to be $470,000 for the 2015-17 
biennium and $386,000 for the 2017-19. 
 
Second, the bill removes the provision that disqualifies individuals from receiving shared work 
benefits under certain conditions. Under this change, the portion of work share benefits paid 
back by employers become covered benefits by the UI Trust Fund, necessitating the Fund to 
increase UI benefit payment. OED projects that this change will lead to a net outflow of 
$490,000 from the Fund for the 2015-17 biennium and $513,000 for the 2017-19. 
 
SB 243 (CH 530) 
Provides that an individual who is paid unemployment insurance (UI) benefits to which the 
individual is not entitled is liable, in certain circumstances, to have the amount deducted from 
any future benefits otherwise payable under the law of another state. Extends UI benefits 
overpayment recovery period from three to five years. Takes effect on passage. 
  
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Fiscal Year 
 
 

Biennium 
2015-16 2016-17 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 

Unemployment Insurance  
Trust Fund $0.10 $0.11 $0.21 $0.27 $0.30 

 
This bill makes two changes to enhance the capacity of the Oregon Employment Department 
(OED) to recover overpaid UI benefits. First, it provides that the OED has the authority to 
request another state to offset UI benefits otherwise payable to an individual when the individual 
has an outstanding UI benefits overpayment in Oregon, even when the individual was not at 
fault for causing the overpayment. Second, the bill extends overpaid UI benefits recovery period 
from three to five years. These changes will result in a net addition to the UI Trust Fund over 
time. 
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MISCELLANEOUS 
 
 

HB 2395 (CH 16) 
Moves the sunset of the hospital assessment from September 30, 2015, to September 30, 
2019. Takes effect on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

  
 Biennium 

  2015-17 2017-19 
Hospital Assessment     $880.0 $1,060.0 

Federal Match  $2,412.0 $2,906.0 
Total  $3,292.0 $3,966.0 

 
 
The Oregon Health Authority estimates that the total anticipated revenue for the 2015-17 
biennium is $3,292.0 million ($880.0 million from the hospital assessment matched by the 
federal funds of $2,412.0 million). The total anticipated revenue for the 2017-19 biennium is 
$3,966.0 million, with $1,060 million coming from the assessment and the rest from the federal 
matching funds. The assessment is set to sunset on September 30, 2019. 
 
HB 2455 (CH 714) 
HB 2455 levies a privilege tax on the harvesting of merchantable forest products harvested on 
forestlands. The measure sets the effective rates for two calendar years. Rates are applied to 
the harvested products per thousand board feet, with the first 25,000 board feet harvested 
annually by any taxpayer excluded. There are four individual rates contained in the measure 
providing funding for Oregon State University forest research, fire suppression activities, 
administration of the Forest Practices Act, and Oregon State University professional forestry 
education 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 

 Fiscal Year  
 

Biennium 
2015-16 2016-17 2015-2017 2017-2019 2019-2021 

Forest Research and 
Experiment Account $1.50 $3.00  $4.50 $2.67 $0.00 

Oregon Forest Practices Act 
Administration $1.84 $3.68  $5.52 $3.28 $0.00 

Oregon State University 
College of Forestry 

Professional Education 
$0.17 $0.33  $0.50 $0.30 $0.00 

 
The measure would set levels of various forest products harvest taxes for harvest in years 2016 
and 2017. Impacts would be realized in the 2015-17 and 2017-19 biennia. The measure 
establishes a tax of $0.90 per thousand board feet to be allocated to the Forest Research and 
Experiment Account, $1.1037 per thousand board feet to the administration of the Oregon 
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Forest Practices Act, and $0.10 per thousand board feet to the Oregon State University College 
of Forestry for professional forestry education. 
 
 

HB 3257 (CH 187) 
The measure extends sunset on collection of certain moneys from electric companies or Oregon 
Community Power for purposes related to low-income electric bill payment assistance. 
 
Revenue Impact:  $10 million in other funds for the 2015-17 biennium. The revenue collected 
will be for only one biennium, the surcharge sunsets at the end of 2017. 
 
Impact Explanation:  
Senate Bill 863 (2011) directed the Public Utility Commission to collect $5 million per year for 
the low-income assistance program (bill payment) in the event certain criteria were met as of 
January 1, 2014. This measure was set to sunset on January 2, 2014. House Bill 2004 (2013) 
extended the sunset date to January 2, 2016. This measure (House Bill 3257) would extend the 
sunset date until January 2, 2018. The Oregon Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program 
(LIHEAP) is federally-funded through the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is 
designed to help low-income households with home heating costs. To be eligible to receive 
assistance, a household’s income must be at or below 60 percent of Oregon’s median income, 
based on household income and household size. Recipients must also have documented 
energy costs. The program in Oregon is administered by the Department of Housing and 
Community Services (OHCS). 
 

SB 324 (CH 004) 
Repeals sunset on provisions related to low carbon fuel standards. Mandates the adoption of 
rules (by Environmental Quality Commission) for low carbon fuel standards. Requires standards 
to reduce average carbon intensity per unit by 10 percent by year 2025. Authorizes use of 
liquefied petroleum gas to meet low carbon fuel standard. Removes requirement for 
Commission to issue exemptions and deferrals to mitigate cost of complying with low carbon 
fuel standards based on comparisons with PADD 5 region. Requires Commission to adopt rules 
for managing and containing costs of compliance with standards, including but not limited to 
ensuring people may obtain and trade credits for fuels used as gasoline or diesel substitutes. 
Requires Commission to exempt person who imports less than 500,000 gallons of gasoline and 
diesel in a year. Establishes standards for biodiesel to be considered an alternative fuel. 
Exempts fuel that is demonstrated to be used in motor vehicles used primarily for construction, 
watercraft and railroad locomotives. Requires Department of Environmental Quality to report. 
 
Revenue Impact:  The revenue impact of this measure is indeterminate: 
 
The net effect of interactions of the following impacts is highly uncertain and equally likely. 
 
Highway fund impacts: Revenues to the highway fund might be impacted negatively as a result 
of the price increases due to the costs added to the fuels at the consumer level. These 
increased costs are due to biofuels blending into conventional gasoline or diesel for 
consumption in the existing vehicle fleet. However, the level of the price increases are not 
known to a degree that allows for evaluation and forecasting of the price elasticity or impacts on 
demand. On the other hand, advanced vehicle technologies can be deployed, which consume 
alternative fuels such as natural gas, electricity, or hydrogen. However, due to constraints on 
how quickly the vehicle fleet can be turned over and the speed of deployment of advanced 
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vehicle technologies which are able to consume those fuels without losing fuel efficiency and 
MPG levels, the assumption of higher demand on fuel will result and persist. This higher 
demand on fuel might produce enough new revenue to offset the loss due to the price elasticity, 
but that level of offset is not clear at this point. Data from DEQ seem to suggest the same 
conclusion where the proposed standards/rules require a 10 percent reduction in average 
carbon intensity from 2015 to 2025, but it does not get to reduce the GHG emission by 10%.   
 
Fines and Civil Penalties: The program centers on the idea of capping the intensity of the fuel 
and trading credits to achieve offsets for the importers/producers who couldn’t comply. The 
program implies a market trading mechanism regulated by DEQ but without governmental fees. 
However, there are a number of civil penalties that can result from noncompliance. The 
structure and revenue from these penalties is also not clear at this time. 
 
Personal income or other taxes: There can be additional impacts on the fuel and transportation 
industry and other tax revenue streams. The general idea assumes that the introduction of the 
clean fuel requirements can be a significant incentive for production of alternative fuels which 
might increase investment, employment, and income with all the associated tax revenue. It 
could on the other hand expand the reliance on out of state imports of fuel blends, consequently 
reducing investments, employment, and income and the associated tax revenues.  
 
In conclusion, the net effect of interactions of these forces is highly uncertain and equally likely, 
which leads to the indeterminate revenue impact designation of this measure. 
 
 

SB 864 (CH 301)  
The measure clarifies the definition of real property to include in-state property for the purpose 
of finding the ratio of natural resource property to in-state property value when computing and 
considering the natural resource credit against the estate tax. The clarification applies to tax 
years 2015 and beyond. 
 
Background: 
Prior to the 2003 Oregon legislation, legal opinions indicated that Oregon had not adopted either 
the Taxpayer Relief Act (TRA97) or the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act 
(EGTRRA) in 2001. The primary purpose of HB 3072 was to codify in law the connection to the 
Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 (TRA97) for prior tax years 1998-2001. For deaths occurring in 
2002, the gross estate value filing threshold was $1 million, the same as the federal filing 
threshold under EGTRRA. Another important objective of the 2003 legislation was to clarify that 
Oregon’s estate tax connection is to the federal law under the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 for 
deaths occurring in 2003 and beyond. Oregon is not connected to 2001 federal estate tax law 
changes contained in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act. The 2007 
session attempted to preserve family owned farms, fishing business and small forest owners, by 
increasing the threshold for these estates to $7.5 million. However, HB 3201 faced difficulties in 
the implementation phase. The February 2008 session, introduced a credit schedule for the 
small family owned natural resource properties. The credit increases proportionally in HB 3618 
to reach the maximum at tax amount due for the $7.5 million properties, then declines gradually 
to $0 at the $15 million mark. The 2011 legislative session approved (HB 2541) a major revamp 
of the estate tax. Oregon confirmed the tax to be an estate tax, and constructed a standalone 
system that only uses federal definitions. Oregon now uses the definitions from the most recent 
federal tax code and adds some of its own while the new standalone rate schedule (ORS 118) 
builds a smooth ramp up in rates, which avoid the bubble up in marginal rates caused by 
increasing the threshold while using the old (federal) pickup schedule that existed for much 
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lower thresholds. The law established a gradually increasing tax rate schedule for estates 
starting from $1 million value at tax rate 10%, to a marginal rate of 16% at values higher than 
$9.5 million. The new rate table was to insure revenue neutrality relative to the previous rates 
which were based on 2000 Federal law. The credit also Defines and allows for an operating 
allowance (15% or $1 million) for natural resource property, ensuring that farm, forest and 
fishing businesses are taxed properly on true assets 
 
Revenue Impact:  Minimal  
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	Appropriates for the 2015-17 State School Fund, $6,912.9 million from the General Fund and $342.1 million from the Lottery revenues.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	This bill appropriates $7,255.0 million for the 2015-17 State School Fund (SSF), with $6,912.9 million allocated from the General Fund and the remaining $342.1 million from the Lottery revenues. This SSF is combined with local revenues from school dis...
	SB 321 (CH 234)

	Lowers the compulsory school age from seven to six years of age. Takes effect on July 1, 2016.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue available for distribution to school districts education service districts.
	While this bill does not change the total formula revenue, lowering the compulsory school age may add to the total Average Daily Membership (ADM) and the total weighted ADM (ADMw), which may cause a shift in funding among school districts. The full im...
	SB 447 (CH 783)

	Establishes the capital improvement matching grant program to provide matching fund to school districts for their capital costs. Authorizes the State Treasurer to issue and use the proceeds of Article XI-P bonds to finance the grant program. Limits th...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue available for student weights-based distribution to school districts and education service districts.
	HB 5017 (SSF budget for 2015-17 school years) assumed the facility grant of $15 million per biennium but did not specify how the money should be used. SB 447 details dedicated uses of the money. The bill reduces the grant itself to $12.5 million for t...
	The capital improvement matching grant will use the proceeds of Article XI-P bonds and does not use money from the SSF. In the end, this bill does not change the total formula revenue available for student weights-based distribution to school district...
	SB 475 (CH 671)

	Broadens the scope of the Juvenile Detention Education Program (JDEP) to include the provision of educational services to youths placed in a youth care center within a detention facility.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue.
	While this bill does not change the total formula revenue, it may cause a shift in the State School Fund (SSF) distribution. A student in JDEP receives 1.5 weights for purposes of the SSF distribution. A student in a youth center within a detention fa...
	The transfer of responsibility under the bill could impact the total weights for the SSF distribution purpose, and consequently change the formula revenue per ADMw (weighted Average Daily Membership) to school districts. However, the impact is expecte...
	SB 667 (CH 299)

	Moves the sunset of the law governing the small high school grant to July 1, 2020.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total revenue available for school districts and education service districts.
	The Small School District Supplement Fund, commonly known as the small high school grant, is a carve-out off the top and is distributed based on the Average Daily Membership (ADM), to school districts that have statutorily defined small high schools. ...
	The annual grant of $2.5 million is included and fully accounted for in the co-chairs’ budget for the 2015-17 biennium.
	SB 898 (CH 803)

	Prohibits school districts from receiving State School Fund (SSF) distributions for certain high school students enrolled in college level courses offered through community colleges or Oregon’s public universities. Creates exceptions to this prohibiti...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions): This bill does not change the total formula revenue available for distribution to school districts and education service districts.
	SB 5507 (CH 837)

	Establishes appropriations for the Emergency Board, finalizes the General Fund components of the statewide budget, implements budgetary changes tied to other legislations, and makes technical adjustments to agency budgets previously approved. Increase...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	SB 5507 adds $118 million to the 2016-17 SSF. With this increase, the SSF for the 2015-17 biennium totals $7.373 billion. The 2015-17 Co-chairs’ budget SSF (HB 5017) was $7.255 billion with 50/50 split. With SB 5507, SSF split becomes 49.2% for the sc...
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	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
	HB 2440 (CH 103)

	Allows an unemployed individual who is eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, to be still eligible for the benefits when the individual travels outside the normal labor market for job interviews. Takes effect on passage.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	The bill allows an unemployed individual who is eligible for Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits, to continue to be eligible for the benefits when the individual travels outside the normal labor market for job interviews. Under current law, the indiv...
	SB 242 (CH 529)

	Makes changes in the Oregon State Statutes to conform to federal requirements in the Oregon Employment Department’s participation in the U.S. Treasury Offset Program (TOP) and work share eligibility practice. Takes effect on passage.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	This bill makes several changes to bring the Oregon State Statutes in conformity with federal requirements governing the Oregon Employment Department’s participation in the TOP and work share practice. Non-conformity would result in Oregon employers p...
	First, the bill expands the set of individuals and businesses that are bound by the TOP referrals, which will bring in additional proceeds to the UI Trust fund. The Oregon Employment Department (OED) estimates the revenues from this change to be $470,...
	Second, the bill removes the provision that disqualifies individuals from receiving shared work benefits under certain conditions. Under this change, the portion of work share benefits paid back by employers become covered benefits by the UI Trust Fun...
	SB 243 (CH 530)

	Provides that an individual who is paid unemployment insurance (UI) benefits to which the individual is not entitled is liable, in certain circumstances, to have the amount deducted from any future benefits otherwise payable under the law of another s...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	This bill makes two changes to enhance the capacity of the Oregon Employment Department (OED) to recover overpaid UI benefits. First, it provides that the OED has the authority to request another state to offset UI benefits otherwise payable to an ind...
	Miscellaneous
	HB 2395 (CH 16)

	Moves the sunset of the hospital assessment from September 30, 2015, to September 30, 2019. Takes effect on passage.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	The Oregon Health Authority estimates that the total anticipated revenue for the 2015-17 biennium is $3,292.0 million ($880.0 million from the hospital assessment matched by the federal funds of $2,412.0 million). The total anticipated revenue for the...
	HB 2455 (CH 714)

	HB 2455 levies a privilege tax on the harvesting of merchantable forest products harvested on forestlands. The measure sets the effective rates for two calendar years. Rates are applied to the harvested products per thousand board feet, with the first...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
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