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Introduction 
Measure 41 will appear on the November 2006 general election ballot. It is a statutory measure that 
changes Oregon’s personal income tax law to allow a more favorable treatment of personal exemptions. If 
the measure passes, personal income tax filers would have the choice of using either the current Oregon 
personal exemption credit or the federal personal exemption deduction. It is expected to reduce personal 
income tax revenue by roughly 7 percent per year. In 2007, the first year in which it applies, the reduction 
would be an estimated $393 million. It would also increase the federal taxes that Oregon filers pay by a 
total of $40 million. 
 
This report provides a history of Oregon’s treatment of personal exemptions and how that treatment 
compares to that of other states. Using the September 2006 Economic and Revenue Forecast as the basis, 
the discussion turns to the impacts on General Fund revenue and balances. A distributional analysis is 
included in the discussion of the revenue impact. Specific taxpayer examples illustrate how the impact of 
the measure can vary depending on the circumstances of the individual taxpayer. The paper concludes by 
briefly describing uncertainties about the measure. 

Current Law and Measure 41 
Under current Oregon law, each taxpayer is entitled to claim one personal exemption credit for himself or 
herself, one for a spouse, and one for each dependent child. An additional exemption credit may be 
claimed by each taxpayer and spouse if they are severely disabled and one for each handicapped child. 
The credit is nonrefundable and is indexed to inflation. For tax year 2006, the credit is $159 per 
exemption; in 2007 it is projected to be $165. The credit may be claimed by all filers except those who 
are claimed as a dependent on another filer’s return. Typically, these are children who file their own tax 
return but are claimed as a dependent on their parents’ return. 
 
Measure 41 allows taxpayers the option of using either the current personal exemption credit or their 
federal personal exemption deduction, whichever results in a lower tax liability. The deduction reduces 
the amount of income that is taxed while the credit directly reduces the amount of tax. Nearly 4 out of 
every 5 filers would benefit more from the deduction than the credit. No one would pay more tax due to 
the measure’s passage. The measure also allows taxpayers the option of using a larger exemption credit 
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adopted by the Legislature in lieu of the deduction. The measure makes no reference to the additional 
exemption credits allowed under current law. 
 
The policy choice of using either a deduction or credit touches on issues of tax equity. Generally, a credit 
has the same value for every similar filer. (In cases where taxable income is sufficiently low, the 
taxpayer’s liability may be reduced to zero before the full amount of the credit is used.) On the other 
hand, the value of a deduction depends on the taxpayer’s tax bracket. For example, the benefit of the 
$3,400 deduction to a single filer in the 9 percent tax bracket is a tax reduction of $306 ($3,400 x 9%). 
For a single filer in the 7 percent tax bracket, the tax reduction is $238 ($3,400 x 7%). In Oregon, roughly 
70 percent of filers are in the 9 percent bracket. 

History of Oregon’s Personal Exemption 
When Oregon’s Personal Income Tax was created in 1929 it originally contained an exemption deduction 
of $1,500 for single filers, $2,500 for joint filers, and $400 for each dependent. Beginning in 1945 the 
joint deduction was set to twice the single deduction. The exemption remained a deduction until 1983 and 
while it was not indexed to inflation, its value changed several times. Between 1929 and 1983, the 
deduction for single filers ranged in value from a low of $500 (in 1947, 1955, and 1956) to a high of 
$1,500 (from 1930 to 1932). It was $1,000 from 1979 to 1982. 
 
The 1983 Legislature, via HB 2201, temporarily changed the $1,000 deduction to an $85 credit for tax 
years 1983 and 1984. The bill reverted the credit back to the $1,000 deduction in 1985 and indexed it to 
inflation with 1984 as the base year. The estimated revenue impact was an increase in revenue of $65 
million for the 1983-85 biennium. The 1985 Legislature, via HB 2182, made the $85 credit permanent 
and delayed indexing until 1987. The estimated revenue impact was an increase in revenue of $83 million 
for the 1985-87 biennium. 
 
From 1987 to 2001 the base credit was $85 and indexed to inflation, so by 2001 the credit was worth 
$142. In an effort to align various inflation indexing provisions in Oregon law, the 2001 Legislature, via 
HB 2272, changed the inflation adjustment factor from the Portland CPI to the U.S. city average CPI. To 
minimize the impact of this change on the nominal amount of the credit, the base was changed from $85 
to $90. Since 2002, the base credit has been $90 and it continues to be indexed to inflation. 
 
One way to see how the value of the personal exemption has changed over the years is to convert the 
deduction to a “credit equivalent”. Exhibit 1 shows the history and the forecasts of the “credit equivalent” 
(1930 to 1982) and the credit (1983 to 2013). For each year, the “credit equivalent” is determined by 
multiplying that year’s deduction by that year’s top marginal tax rate. Consequently, even during periods 
when the deduction did not change, the “credit equivalent” would change commensurately with any 
changes in the top marginal tax rate. 
 
From 1930 to 1982, Oregon’s top tax rate ranged from 5 percent (1930-1932) to 11.6 percent (1955-
1956). As reflected in the solid line, the nominal value of the personal exemption was fairly stable for the 
first 40 years of Oregon’s income tax, worth between $50 and $60 per exemption. The nominal value 
increased between 1970 and 1983 largely due to direct increases in the deduction amount. After the value 
was held constant by Legislative action in the mid-80s, the nominal value of the personal exemption has 
increased steadily due to inflation adjustments. As shown by the small-dashed line, the projected value of 
the credit under current law continues this trend. 
 
The large-dashed line shows the “credit equivalent” of switching to the federal exemption deduction 
beginning in 2007. The federal deduction is projected to be $3,400 in 2007, resulting in a “credit 
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equivalent” of $306. This amount is $141 larger than the projected exemption credit of $165. So the 2007 
impact of Measure 41 is roughly equivalent to increasing the personal exemption credit by 85 percent. 
Through 2013, the “credit equivalent” is projected to be roughly 86 percent larger than the current credit, 
on average.  
 

 
In 2004, the most recent year for which complete data are available, just over 1.65 million returns were 
filed and nearly 3.4 million exemptions were claimed – an average of 2 exemptions per return. For full-
year, single filers, the average number of exemptions was 0.9. (Dependent filers pull the average below 
one.) For full-year, joint returns, the average number of personal exemptions was 3. In total, all of the 
full-year personal exemptions credits claimed reduced tax liability by just over $397 million. 

Other States’ Personal Exemptions 
Of the 43 states that impose an individual income tax, there are significant differences in how state tax 
liability is calculated. The starting point for most states is either Federal Adjusted Gross Income or 
Federal taxable income. Each state has its own set of tax rates, tax brackets, deductions, and credits. And 
most states use a personal exemption (deduction or credit) that is the same for the primary filer, the 
spouse, and each dependent. In several states, however, the exemption amount may differ for dependents. 
 
Thirty states use an exemption deduction, seven use an exemption credit, and one (Ohio) uses both a 
deduction and a credit. Five states do not allow personal exemptions of either kind. Of the states using a 
deduction, 22 use their own deduction, which ranged from $700 to $6,000 for single filers in 2005. (In 
each of these states, the joint deduction was twice the single amount.) Eight states are tied to the federal 
deduction amount. The 2005 credit amounts ranged from $21 to $154, with Oregon’s credit being the 
largest. Ohio used a deduction worth $1,350 and a credit worth $20. 
 

Exhibit 1
Oregon Exemption "Credit Equivalent" (1930-1982) and

 Credit (1983-2013)
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Exhibit 2 shows the 2005 single filer deduction or “deduction equivalent” for each state. Similar to the 
prior exhibit, a “deduction equivalent” is calculated for each state that used an exemption credit. It is 
determined by dividing the credit amount by the mean tax rate for income ranges roughly equal to 
Oregon’s 9% bracket. In 2005, Oregon’s personal exemption was larger than 12 other states (17 including 
the five states that do not allow personal exemptions). Measure 41 would increase the value of personal 
exemptions toward the highest among the states. Only two states (Massachusetts and Mississippi) had 
personal exemptions worth more than the federal amount.  
 

 
Of the five states that do not allow a personal exemption, some allow a deduction or credit that could be 
considered similar. Connecticut allows a credit that is up to 75 percent of the pre-credit liability, 
depending on income level (it reduces to zero for higher income filers). The credit percentage depends on 
filing status but does not vary with the number of dependents. New Hampshire and Tennessee, which 
each tax only interest and dividend income, have an exemption amount that also depends only on filing 
status. New York allows an exemption deduction of $1,000 for each dependent, but not for the primary 
filer or spouse. 

Revenue Impact  
Overall, the measure reduces personal income tax liability by roughly 7 percent annually; this amounts to 
a $393 million reduction in tax year 2007.1 Exhibit 3 shows the annual and biennial impacts both with 
and without the interaction with the surplus refund (i.e. kicker). The impact in 2006-07 is largely due to 
changes in withholding. The revenue reduction is nearly $400 in 2007-08 and grows at an average annual 
rate of 4 percent through 2012-13. The growth in the impact is slightly less in 2011-12 as certain high 

                                                 
1 An analysis using the Oregon Tax Incidence Model (OTIM) showed a modest economic stimulus to Oregon’s economy, driven 
by increased demand on the part of Oregon households. The increased demand, however, is insufficient to offset a significant 
portion of the expected loss in state income tax revenue. In the long-term it is expected to have little impact on the state’s 
competitive position.  
 

Exhibit 2
2005 State Personal Exemption Deductions and

 "Deduction Equivalents"
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income filers switch from using the deduction back to the credit. (The reasons are related to the federal 
tax cuts of 2001 and are described in more detail in the later section “The Effect on Filers with Income 
above $200,000”). 
 
When considering the interaction with 
the kicker, the 2006-07 reduction 
translates into a lower kicker total. The 
reduction of $157 million means a 
reduction in 2005-07 ending balance, 
thereby reducing the surplus refund. 
The non-corporate kicker, which is 
refunded to filers in 2007-08, would be 
reduced by $157 million, from $1,043 
million to $886 million. Consequently, 
the revenue reduction for 2007-08 is 
$242 ($399 million reduction in 
collections combined with a $157 
million reduction in the kicker). The 
revenue impact for 2007-09 is also 
reduced by the same amount, from $813 
million to $656 million.  
 
Measure 41 would also affect the 
amount of federal taxes paid by Oregon 
filers. Just over 50 percent of Oregon 
filers itemize their federal deductions and may claim state income taxes as a deduction. For itemizers, a 
lower Oregon tax means lower federal itemized deductions. This, in turn, results in a higher federal tax. 
For tax year 2007, Oregon itemizers would pay roughly $40 million more in federal income taxes. 
 
Exhibit 4 shows the impact on General Fund (GF) revenues and the ending balance for 2005-07 and the 
impact on the beginning balance and GF revenues for the 2007-09 biennium. The first column for the 
2005-07 biennium shows the beginning balance of $308.5 million and the current law (September 2006) 
General Fund forecast of $12,607.4 million. Together, total GF resources are currently estimated to be 
$12,915.9 million. Based on an expenditure estimate of $11,643.9 million, the projected ending balance 
for 2005-07 is $1,272 million. Measure 41 would reduce revenue by $157.3 million which translates into 
a reduction, of that amount, in the ending balance to $1,114.7 million. 

 
As shown in the table, the 2007-09 beginning balance – which is the 2005-07 ending balance – also 
reflects the impact of the $157 million reduction. Revenue for 2007-09 is reduced from $12,616.8 million 

Fiscal Year Measure 41 
(without kicker)

Measure 41
(with kicker)

2006-07 -$157 -$157
2007-08 * -$399 -$242
2008-09 -$414 -$414
2009-10 -$434 -$434
2010-11 -$452 -$452
2011-12 -$461 -$461
2012-13 -$482 -$482

2005-07 Biennium -$157 -$157
2007-09 Biennium * -$813 -$656
2009-11 Biennium -$885 -$885
2011-13 Biennium -$943 -$943

* The projected 2005-07 kicker would reduce the impact by $157 
million in fiscal year 2007-08 and in the 2007-09 biennium.

Biennial Revenue Impacts ($ Millions)

Exhibit 3
Revenue Impact of Measure 41
Annual Revenue Impacts ($ Millions)

Exhibit 4
September 2006 General Fund Forecast

Current Law Measure 41 Difference Current Law Measure 41 Difference
Beginning Balance 308.5 308.5 0.0 1,272.0 1,114.7 -157.3
Revenue 12,607.4 12,450.1 -157.3 12,517.0 11,861.2 -655.8

GF Resources 12,915.9 12,758.6 -157.3 13,789.0 12,975.9 -813.1

Expenditures 11,643.9 11,643.9 0.0

Ending Balance 1,272.0 1,114.7 -157.3

2005-07 2007-09
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to $11,961 million, or $655.8 million ($813 million reduction in tax collections combined with a $157 
million reduction in the kicker). Between the reduction in the beginning balance and the reduction in 
revenue, GF resources for the 2007-09 would be reduced by $813.1 million, or 5.9 percent. 
 
Exhibit 5 shows how the estimated revenue impact of personal exemptions would change under Measure 
41. The estimates are for the current and next three biennia and exclude the interaction with the 2005-07 
kicker. Under current law, the personal exemption credit is expected to reduce taxpayers’ liability by 
$1,118 million in 2007-09, the first full biennium the measure would affect. In that same year, Measure 
41 is expected to have a revenue impact of $813 million, bringing the total revenue impact of personal 
exemptions to $1,931 million in 2007-09. Over time, Measure 41 would increase the revenue loss to the 
state from personal exemptions by an annual average of 73 percent. 
 

 
 
Another way to view the measure’s impact on revenue is to look at the state rankings of both personal 
income taxes and total taxes as a share of personal income. The most recent data available for such a 
comparison are state and local revenues for 2003-04. Exhibit 6 shows the top 10 personal income tax 
rankings and the bottom 10 total tax rankings. Under existing law, Oregon ranks second in personal 
income tax as a share of personal income (4.4 percent) and ranks 42nd in total taxes as a share of personal 
income (10.1 percent). Assuming no changes in each other state and a 7 percent cut in Oregon’s personal 
income tax revenue (the magnitude of the Measure 41 reduction), the table shows how Oregon’s ranking 
in these two metrics changes. Oregon drops from second to third in the personal income tax ranking, 
falling to 3.9 percent. For total taxes, Oregon drops from 42nd to 44th, falling to 9.8 percent. 
 

Exhibit 5

Fiscal Year Current Law Measure 41 
Additional Amount Total

2005-07 Biennium -$1,061 -$157 -$1,218

2007-09 Biennium * -$1,118 -$813 -$1,931

2009-11 Biennium -$1,205 -$885 -$2,090
2011-13 Biennium -$1,289 -$943 -$2,232

* The projected 2005-07 kicker would reduce the impact of Measure 41 by $157 million in the 2007-09 biennium.

Impact of Oregon's Personal Exemption Credit and Measure 41
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Distributional Impact  
In general, the more personal exemptions a tax filer claims, the greater the tax reduction Measure 41 
would provide. Measure 41 would reduce tax revenue for tax year 2007 by $393 million, which is roughly 
7 percent of the current law liability. Roughly 78 percent of filers would receive at least some degree of 
reduction in tax. The overall average tax reduction is $226 per filer in 2007. The average reduction for 
those benefiting from the measure would be $291. Exhibit 7 shows the distributional impact of Measure 
41 for all filers and then separately for single and joint filers.2 
 
Filers with an income of at least $70,000 account for roughly 21 percent of all filers in 2007 and account 
for nearly 38 percent of the overall tax reduction. Their average percentage reduction in tax is 4 percent. 
By way of comparison, filers with an income of less than $20,000 account for 36 percent of filers and 8.5 
percent of the tax reduction. These filers would experience an average reduction in tax of 24 percent. 
 
The average reduction for all filers ranges from $12 for filers with less than $10,000 of income to $439 
for filers with income between $100,000 and $200,000. The former group of filers claims an average of 

                                                 
2 As used here, single includes married-filing-separate filers and joint includes head-of-household and qualified 
widow(er) filers. 

Exhibit 6

State Rank Percent State Rank Percent
New York 1 4.4% New York 1 4.4%
Oregon 2 4.2% Maryland 2 4.0%
Maryland 3 4.0% Oregon 3 3.9%
Ohio 4 3.6% Ohio 4 3.6%
Massachusetts 5 3.5% Massachusetts 5 3.5%
Kentucky 6 3.4% Kentucky 6 3.4%
Minnesota 7 3.3% Minnesota 7 3.3%
North Carolina 8 3.2% North Carolina 8 3.2%
Wisconsin 9 3.1% Wisconsin 9 3.1%
Maine 10 3.1% Maine 10 3.1%

State Rank Percent State Rank Percent
Montana 41 10.1% Montana 41 10.1%
Oregon 42 10.1% Virginia 42 10.0%
Virginia 43 10.0% Texas 43 9.9%
Texas 44 9.9% Oregon 44 9.8%
Missouri 45 9.7% Missouri 45 9.7%
Colorado 46 9.3% Colorado 46 9.3%
New Hampshire 47 9.2% New Hampshire 47 9.2%
South Dakota 48 9.1% South Dakota 48 9.1%
Tennessee 49 9.0% Tennessee 49 9.0%
Alabama 50 8.9% Alabama 50 8.9%

Personal Income Tax as a Share of Personal Income

Total Taxes as a Share of Personal Income
Current Law Scenario Measure 41 Scenario

Current Law Scenario Measure 41 Scenario
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just over 1 exemption per return while the latter group claims an average of nearly 3 exemptions per 
return. Filers with an income above $200,000 have an average tax reduction of only $206 because the 
federal exemption deduction is gradually reduced for filers above certain income levels. Taxpayers for 
whom the federal exemption deduction is reduced to zero would receive no benefit from the measure. 
 

 
Because the impact of Measure 41 depends on the number of personal exemptions claimed, it is helpful to 
consider the impact on single and joint filers separately. Joint filers generally claim more personal 
exemptions than do single filers (an average of 3 vs. 0.9), so they receive a larger share of the tax 
reduction. Joint filers account for 80 percent ($313 million) of the total tax reduction. Also, relatively 

Exhibit 7
2007 Revenue Impact of Measure 41

Income 
Number of 

Returns
Percent 
Affected

Total State Tax 
Reduction ($M)

Percent 
Change

Average 
State Tax 
Reduction 
(All Filers)

Average 
State Tax 
Reduction 
(Affected)

All Filers

< $10K 342,244 22.4% -4.2 -19.1% -12 -55
$10K TO $20K 280,639 76.5% -29.4 -25.1% -105 -137
$20K TO $30K 222,680 90.3% -44.0 -19.8% -198 -219
$30K TO $40K 177,324 95.6% -46.6 -16.4% -263 -275
$40K TO $50K 141,353 96.5% -44.3 -14.3% -313 -325
$50K TO $70K 211,321 97.6% -76.5 -11.6% -362 -371

$70K TO $100K 184,299 98.8% -77.5 -8.7% -421 -426
$100K TO $200K 140,939 99.3% -61.9 -5.1% -439 -442

> $200K 42,408 57.0% -8.7 -0.6% -206 -362

TOTAL 1,743,207 77.5% -393.2 -7.4% -226 -291
Single Filers

< $10K 277,841 26.5% -4.1 -16.3% -15 -55
$10K TO $20K 173,920 83.7% -20.0 -18.3% -115 -138
$20K TO $30K 119,732 94.7% -17.3 -10.8% -145 -153
$30K TO $40K 85,139 97.3% -12.9 -7.8% -152 -156
$40K TO $50K 57,898 97.5% -9.1 -6.2% -157 -161
$50K TO $70K 62,258 97.0% -9.8 -4.6% -158 -163

$70K TO $100K 28,163 98.4% -4.7 -3.3% -168 -171
$100K TO $200K 13,336 97.1% -2.1 -1.8% -158 -163

> $200K 4,734 32.6% -0.1 0.0% -20 -62

TOTAL 823,022 69.8% -80.2 -6.2% -97 -140
Joint Filers

< $10K 64,404 4.4% -0.1 4.9% -2 -50
$10K TO $20K 106,719 64.6% -9.3 -123.4% -88 -136
$20K TO $30K 102,948 85.2% -26.7 -43.1% -259 -304
$30K TO $40K 92,185 94.1% -33.6 -28.8% -365 -388
$40K TO $50K 83,455 95.7% -35.2 -21.6% -422 -440
$50K TO $70K 149,063 97.8% -66.7 -15.0% -448 -458

$70K TO $100K 156,135 98.9% -72.8 -9.8% -466 -471
$100K TO $200K 127,603 99.6% -59.8 -5.5% -469 -471

> $200K 37,673 60.0% -8.7 -0.6% -230 -383

TOTAL 920,185 84.3% -312.9 -7.8% -340 -403
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more joint filers are affected by the measure, 84 percent of joint filers compared to 70 percent of single 
filers. Although, if dependent filers are excluded, the share of single filers affected increases to roughly 
80 percent. In 2007, the average reduction would be $97 for single filers and $340 for joint filers, also 
reflecting the larger number of exemptions typically claimed by joint filers. Of those filers who are 
affected, these averages increase to $291 (all filers), $140 (single), and $403 (joint).  
 
The pattern for the percentage of filers affected by the measure is similar for both single and joint filers. 
For single filers with income between $20,000 and $200,000, the share of those affected ranges from 95 
to 98 percent. For joint filers with income between $30,000 and $200,000, the percentage affected ranges 
from 94 to nearly 100 percent. In general, because the tax reduction is not directly related to the level of 
income, the percentage reduction in tax decreases as income increases. The exception is that those in the 
$10,000 to $20,000 income range would have a greater percentage reduction in tax than those with less 
than $10,000 of income. The primary reason for this is that relatively more filers in the lowest income 
group currently have no tax liability. 
 
One interesting result is the 123 percent reduction in tax for joint filers in the second to lowest income 
range. Tax liability can be reduced by more than 100 percent because of Oregon’s refundable credits, 
primarily the working family child care and earned income credits.3 One of the examples in the next 
section illustrates how this happens. 
 
While Measure 41 affects nearly 4 out of every 5 filers, the remaining filer falls into one of three groups 
of filers who are unaffected: (1) dependents, (2) filers with zero liability under current law, and (3) filers 
for whom the personal exemption credit is more valuable than the deduction. Dependents are filers who 
can be claimed as a personal exemption on another filer’s tax return. Typically, these are children who 
file their own tax return but are claimed as a deduction on their parents’ return. The second group consists 
of filers who have zero liability under current law and do not claim any refundable credits. Many in this 
group are low income filers but it includes others who have deductions or subtractions that are large 
enough to offset their income so they have no tax liability. 
 
The third group is made of filers for whom the current credit is more valuable than the deduction. These 
taxpayers are high-income filers for whom the deduction has been reduced because of the federal phase 
out. In 2007, the projected phase out range for single filers is from $156,550 to $279,050 and for joint 
filers from $234,850 to $357,350. As income increases in these ranges, the exemption deduction is 
gradually reduced from $3,400 to zero. Once the deduction is reduced to approximately $1,833, Oregon’s 
exemption credit becomes more valuable, so filers would likely choose to use the credit. 

Taxpayer Examples 
Specific taxpayer examples are helpful in providing a flavor for how the measure would affect taxpayers 
with different circumstances. Exhibit 8 contains a few such examples. Taxpayers A, B, and C represent 
relatively simple returns with straight-forward impacts. Taxpayer A is a single individual with $30,000 of 
income, who is not a dependent and claims one personal exemption. This taxpayer’s liability is reduced 
$141, or 7 percent, from $2,017 to $1,876. Taxpayer B is claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s 
return and does not claim any personal exemptions, so does not benefit from the measure. Taxpayer C 
files a joint return with 4 personal exemptions (2 dependents) and has an income of $65,000. This 
taxpayer would have a liability reduction of $564 (4 x $141), or just over 15 percent of their current law 
liability. 

                                                 
3 The Oregon earned income credit is refundable for tax years 2006 through 2010. 
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Taxpayers D, E, and F illustrate how the impact can vary depending on the specific circumstances of the 
individual taxpayer. Taxpayer D files a joint return and has sufficiently high income so that the exemption 
deduction amount is partially reduced. As noted above, the 2007 phase out range is projected to be from 
$234,850 to $357,350. With an income of $275,000 the exemption deduction is of relatively less value for 
this taxpayer. The phase out reduces it from $3,400 to $2,397 per person. Consequently, their liability is 
reduced $101, or 0.5 percent, from $22,015 to $21,914. 
 

 
Taxpayer E files a Head-of-Household return and claims two personal exemptions. Under current law, 
this taxpayer’s circumstances result in him/her being in Oregon’s 9 percent tax bracket. Under Measure 
41, however, the use of the exemption deduction places the taxpayer in Oregon’s 7 percent tax bracket. 
As a result, the tax reduction of $241 (25 percent) is slightly less than $141 per exemption. 
 
Taxpayer F files a Head-of-Household return and claims the Working Family Child Care Credit, one of 
Oregon’s refundable credits. Under current law, this taxpayer’s liability, before application of the 
refundable credit, would be $1,311. This amount is then reduced by the $1,000 to arrive at a liability of 
$311. Under Measure 41, the liability prior to the refundable credit would be $888. This amount is then 
reduced by the refundable credit to arrive at a liability of -$112 ($888 - $1,000 = -$112). The “negative 
liability” represents the amount to be refunded to the taxpayer.  The reduction of $423 ($311 minus -$112 
= $423) represents a roughly 136 percent reduction in liability. 

The Effect on Filers with Income above $200,000 
This measure would further connect Oregon to federal law by creating a personal exemption that is tied to 
the amount of the federal exemption deduction. If the federal deduction were to increase, the revenue loss 
would directly flow through to Oregon. Similarly, if the federal deduction were reduced, the Oregon’s 
revenue would directly increase, up to the point where the personal exemption credit is more beneficial 
for the taxpayer. The interaction between Measure 41 and current federal law pertaining to the phase out 
of the federal exemption deduction illustrates this point. 
 
Since 1991 the federal personal exemption deduction has been reduced, or phased out, for filers above a 
certain income level. As described earlier, the amount of the reduction depends on the filing status and the 
extent to which the filer’s income exceeded a threshold level. One provision of the 2001 Economic 
Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) was to gradually eliminate the phase-out of the 
exemption deduction. In 2006, the phase-out was reduced by one-third. In 2008 it will be reduced by 
another one-third, and then fully eliminated for 2010. For tax years after 2010, however, the elimination 

Exhibit 8
Examples of the Measure 41 Impact

Tax Year 2007

Taxpayer Filing 
Status

Personal 
Exempts

Adjusted 
Gross 

Income

Refundable 
Credits

Current 
Law Tax

Measure 
41 Tax

Tax 
Change

Percent 
Change

A Single 1 $30,000 (I) $3,550 $0 $2,017 $1,876 -$141 -7.0%
B Single 0 $9,000 (S) $1,870 $0 $443 $443 $0 0.0%
C Joint 4 $65,000 (I) $12,100 $0 $3,703 $3,139 -$564 -15.2%
D Joint 2 $275,000 (I) $22,300 $0 $22,015 $21,914 -$101 -0.5%
E H-of-Hhold 2 $22,000 (S) $3,015 $0 $981 $740 -$241 -24.5%
F H-of-Hhold 3 $27,500 (S) $3,015 $1,000 $311 -$112 -$423 -136.2%

Deductions 
(Standard or 

Itemized)
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of the phase-out is repealed. So, under current federal law, the phase-out returns to its pre-EGTRRA form 
for tax years 2011 and later. 
 
The interaction between Measure 41 and the changes to the phase-out can be seen in Exhibit 9, which 
contains information on filers with incomes of more than $200,000 in each year from 2007 through 2013. 
In 2007, 57 percent of these filers benefit from Measure 41. The average reduction for this group of filers 
is $206; the average is $362 for those who received some benefit. As the phase-out amount is reduced in 
2008, the share of high income filers affected by Measure 41 increases to 99.5 percent. The average 
liability reduction is roughly $300 in 2008 and $310 in 2009. When the phase-out is eliminated in 2010, 
the average liability reduction increases by over 50 percent from $310 to $480. Under current federal law, 
the phase out is reinstated in 2011 and the impact for 2011 and beyond more closely resembles the 2007 
impact, where closer to only half of these taxpayers are affected. 
 

 

Measure 41 Uncertainties 
The text of Measure 41 contains several ambiguities that affect the revenue impact estimates. Three of 
these uncertainties are the impact on Oregon additional personal exemption credits for severe disability 
and handicapped children, the impact on non-resident filers, and the impact on filers subject to the federal 
alternative minimum tax (AMT). For the first issue, Oregon filers are allowed to claim an additional 
personal exemption credit for each handicapped child (defined by ORS 316.099) and if the primary filer 
or spouse have a severe disability (defined by ORS 316.758, 316.765). The language of Measure 41 
provides taxpayers the option of using the total deduction allowed for all exemptions on the federal 
return. (One personal exemption each for the primary filer and spouse, and one for each dependent.) The 
estimates in this paper are based on the assumption that the additional Oregon exemption credits are 
unaffected by the measure. If these credits are disallowed for those choosing the deduction, then the 
revenue reduction would be less. If an exemption deduction is also allowed for these additional 
exemptions, then the revenue reduction would be greater. 
 
The second uncertainty pertains to the treatment of non-resident filers. The language of Measure 41 says 
that the amount of the deduction “…shall not be less than the total amount of the deduction…on the 
taxpayer’s federal tax return.” For non-resident filers, most deductions, including the standard deduction, 
are apportioned by the share of Oregon income divided by federal income. It is unclear if the intent of the 
measure is to prohibit the apportioning of this deduction for non-residents. The revenue estimates in this 
report are based on the assumption that the non-resident treatment of the exemption deduction would be 

Exhibit 9
The Effect on Filers with Income above $200,000

Tax Year
Number of 

Returns
Percent 
Affected

Total State Tax 
Reduction ($M)

Percent 
Change

Average 
State Tax 
Reduction 
(All Filers)

Average 
State Tax 
Reduction 
(Affected)

2007 42,408 57.0% -8.7 -0.6% -206 -362
2008 46,501 99.5% -13.9 -0.8% -300 -301
2009 50,871 99.5% -15.8 -0.8% -310 -311
2010 55,515 99.5% -26.6 -1.2% -479 -481
2011 60,436 50.9% -13.7 -0.6% -226 -444
2012 65,641 52.3% -15.8 -0.6% -240 -459
2013 71,166 53.8% -18.6 -0.7% -261 -485
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similar to most other deductions (i.e. it would be prorated). If the deduction is not prorated for these filers 
then the revenue reduction would be greater. 
 
The third case of uncertainty involves those filers subject to the federal AMT. The federal tax system can 
be described as a dual system of determining federal tax liability consisting of the “regular” tax 
calculation (those not subject to the AMT, about 98% of filers) and those subject to the AMT (about 2% 
of filers). Among the differences between the two systems is the treatment of personal exemptions. Under 
the “regular” system, filers are allowed personal exemptions, which is the basis for Measure 41. Under 
the AMT system, filers are not allowed any personal exemptions. The estimates in this paper are based on 
the assumption that Oregon filers would be allowed to use the personal exemption deduction even if they 
are subject to the federal AMT. If, on the other hand, filers subject to the AMT are considered to have a 
personal exemption deduction of zero, then the revenue reduction would be less. 
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