

OFFICE OF THE HOUSE SPEAKER

900 Court St., N.E., Room H-271 Salem OR 97301 http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/rayfield

NEWS RELEASE

December 28, 2022

Danny Moran Danny.Moran@oregonlegislature.gov

Andrew.Rogers@oregonlegislature.gov

Speaker Rayfield announces House committee assignments for the 2023 legislative session

SALEM – Oregon House Speaker Dan Rayfield (D-Corvallis) today announced House committee assignments for the 2023 legislative session.

Speaker Rayfield spent hours in the weeks after Election Day meeting one-on-one with returning and new representatives from both parties in order to understand their priorities and relevant experience. Additionally, he consulted with and incorporated feedback from House Democratic Leader Julie Fahey (D-Eugene) and House Republican Leader Vikki Breese-Iverson (R-Prineville) before making final committee decisions.

"I've truly enjoyed hearing directly from our House members, getting to know them better, and learning more about how their priorities and experience align with their goals for serving their constituents," Speaker Rayfield said. "I'm always impressed with the diversity of experience across the House. Our committee structure will reflect those experiences as we work together in 2023 to tackle the issues Oregonians care about most."

The Oregon Legislature will return to fully in-person committee meetings in 2023 following nearly three years of virtual meetings due to the Covid-19 pandemic and construction at the State Capitol. Oregonians will still be able to testify remotely.

The 82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly will be sworn in on Monday, January 9 and the 2023 legislative session will begin on Tuesday, January 17.

###

Dan Rayfield

Speaker of the House



900 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301

Oregon House of Representatives MEMORANDUM

TO: Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of the House

Dan Rayfield, Speaker of the House FROM:

RE: Appointments – Committee Assignments for the 2023 Legislative Session

DATE: December 28, 2022

Pursuant to House Rule 8.05 and effective January 9, 2023, I am making the following committee appointments for the 2023 Legislative Session:

2023 House Standing Committees

Agriculture, Land Use, Natural Resources, and **Behavioral Health and Health Care Committee**

Water Committee

Rob Nosse, Chair Ken Helm, Chair Christine Goodwin, Vice Chair Annessa Hartman, Vice Chair Travis Nelson, Vice Chair

Mark Owens, Vice Chair Ben Bowman Mark Gamba Charlie Conrad Bobby Levy Maxine Dexter Pam Marsh Ed Diehl Susan McLain Cyrus Javadi Lily Morgan Anna Scharf **David Brock Smith** Hai Pham

Thuy Tran

Business and Labor Committee Climate, Energy, and Environment

Paul Holvey, Chair **Committee** Lucetta Elmer, Vice Chair Pam Marsh, Chair

Nathan Sosa, Vice Chair Emerson Levy, Vice Chair Shelly Boshart Davis David Brock Smith, Vice Chair

Dacia Grayber Tom Andersen Zach Hudson Ken Helm Travis Nelson Jason Kropf Rob Nosse **Bobby Levy** Virgle Osborne Virgle Osborne Mark Owens Anna Scharf **Brian Stout** Khanh Pham

Early Childhood and Human Services Committee

Lisa Reynolds, Chair Hoa Nguyen, Vice Chair Anna Scharf, Vice Chair

Tom Andersen Tracy Cramer Lucetta Elmer Annessa Hartman James Hieb Travis Nelson Courtney Neron

Education Committee

Courtney Neron, Chair Zach Hudson, Vice Chair Boomer Wright, Vice Chair

Tracy Cramer Emily McIntire Hoa Nguyen Andrea Valderrama

Gambling Regulation Committee

John Lively, Chair Farrah Chaichi, Vice Chair Boomer Wright, Vice Chair Courtney Neron Kim Wallan

Housing and Homelessness Committee

Maxine Dexter, Chair Mark Gamba, Vice Chair Jeff Helfrich, Vice Chair Jami Cate

Julie Fahey Annessa Hartman Ken Helm Cyrus Javadi

Emerson Levy David Brock Smith Boomer Wright

Economic Development and Small Business

Committee

Janelle Bynum, Chair Lily Morgan, Vice Chair Daniel Nguyen, Vice Chair

Ed Diehl Cyrus Javadi John Lively Virgle Osborne Hai Pham Ricki Ruiz Brian Stout Jules Walters

Emergency Management, General Government, and Veterans Committee

Dacia Grayber, Chair Rick Lewis, Vice Chair Thuy Tran, Vice Chair Charlie Conrad Maxine Dexter

Paul Evans James Hieb

Higher Education Committee

John Lively, Chair Emily McIntire, Vice Chair Ricki Ruiz, Vice Chair

Ben Bowman Lucetta Elmer Zach Hudson Kevin Mannix Nathan Sosa Boomer Wright

Judiciary Committee

Jason Kropf, Chair

Tom Andersen, Vice Chair Kim Wallan, Vice Chair

Janelle Bynum Farrah Chaichi Charlie Conrad Rick Lewis Lily Morgan Lisa Reynolds Thuy Tran

Revenue Committee

Nancy Nathanson, Chair E. Werner Reschke, Vice Chair Jules Walters, Vice Chair

Bobby Levy Pam Marsh Daniel Nguyen Greg Smith

Rules Committee

Julie Fahey, Chair

Vikki Breese-Iverson, Vice Chair

Jason Kropf, Vice Chair

Rob Nosse Anna Scharf

Andrea Valderrama

Kim Wallan

2023 Joint Committees

Ways and Means Committee

Tawna Sanchez, Co-Chair David Gomberg, Co-Vice Chair Greg Smith, Co-Vice Chair Vikki Breese-Iverson

Jami Cate
Paul Evans
Paul Holvey
Susan McLain
Khanh Pham
E. Werner Reschke
David Brock Smith
Andrea Valderrama

Ways and Means – Capital Construction

Subcommittee

Paul Holvey, Co-Chair Vikki Breese-Iverson Nancy Nathanson Dan Rayfield Greg Smith

Ways and Means - Education Subcommittee

Susan McLain, Co-Chair

Tracy Cramer Emily McIntire Hoa Nguyen Ricki Ruiz

Ways and Means - General Government

Subcommittee

Greg Smith, Co-Chair Farrah Chaichi David Gomberg E. Werner Reschke Jules Walters

Ways and Means – Human Services

Subcommittee

Andrea Valderrama, Co-Chair

Ben Bowman Ed Diehl

Christine Goodwin

Hai Pham

Ways and Means - Natural Resources

Subcommittee

Khanh Pham, Co-Chair

Paul Holvey Emerson Levy Mark Owens David Brock Smith

Ways and Means – Public Safety

Subcommittee

Paul Evans, Co-Chair

Dacia Grayber Jeff Helfrich Rick Lewis Daniel Nguyen

Ways and Means – Transportation and Economic Development Subcommittee

David Gomberg, Co-Chair

Jami Cate Mark Gamba Kevin Mannix Nathan Sosa

Interstate 5 Bridge Committee

Susan McLain, Co-Chair Shelly Boshart Davis Kevin Mannix Khanh Pham

Semiconductors Committee

Janelle Bynum, Co-Chair Kim Wallan, Co-Vice Chair Ed Diehl David Gomberg Jeff Helfrich Zach Hudson Bobby Levy Daniel Nguyen Nathan Sosa

Tax Expenditure Committee

Nancy Nathanson, Co-Chair E. Werner Reschke, Co-Vice Chair Jules Walters, Co-Vice Chair Bobby Levy Pam Marsh Daniel Nguyen Greg Smith

2023 Joint Statutory Committees

Legislative Audit Committee

Tawna Sanchez, Co-Chair Jami Cate Nancy Nathanson

Transportation Committee

Susan McLain, Co-Chair Shelly Boshart Davis, Co-Vice Chair Paul Evans Jeff Helfrich Kevin Mannix Nancy Nathanson

Legislative Counsel Committee

Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair Vikki Breese-Iverson Paul Holvey Jason Kropf Kim Wallan

Khanh Pham

Legislative Information Management and

Technology CommitteeNancy Nathanson, Co-Chair
Annessa Hartman
Kevin Mannix

Legislative Administration Committee

Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair Vikki Breese-Iverson Julie Fahey Paul Holvey Greg Smith Nancy Nathanson, Alternate

$Legislative\ Counsel\ Committee-Public$

Records Subcommittee Kim Wallan, Co-Chair Jason Kropf

Legislative Policy and Research Committee Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair

Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair Jami Cate David Gomberg Pam Marsh Lily Morgan Kim Wallan

Please contact Tony Lapiz in the House Speaker's Office at <u>Tony.Lapiz@Oregonlegislature.gov</u> with any questions.