

Committee on Natural Resources 1324 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 Via Electronic Mail

Subject: Federal Delisting of Grey Wolves

We are writing to express our support for the delisting of the grey wolf (Canis lupus) in America, echoing sentiments shared by many who have witnessed the remarkable recovery of this iconic species since its initial listing under the Endangered Species Act (ESA) in 1973.

Since the enactment of the ESA, wolves have experienced a remarkable resurgence, expanding exponentially in numbers and range across the United States. This resurgence is a testament to the effectiveness of the ESA in providing crucial protections and fostering the recovery of imperiled species. The successful reintroduction of an experimental population into Yellowstone National Park and Central Idaho in the mid-1990s marked a turning point, leading to a resurgence that has seen wolves reclaim territory in adjoining states and even establish stable populations in Oregon and Washington. The wolf populations in California and Nevada have also been dispersing.

The states empowered by the ESA and guided by their respective wolf management plans, have played a pivotal role in safeguarding and managing wolf populations. Oregon and Washington have demonstrated exemplary commitment to wolf conservation and management, despite three-fourths of their states being under ESA jurisdiction. Both states have implemented robust management and protection measures, leading to the stabilization of wolf populations, and prompting efforts to delist wolves as endangered species.

On November 9th, 2015, Oregon voted to the delist wolves in Oregon thus marking a significant milestone in recognizing the success of state-led conservation efforts. Subsequent legislative actions regarding that decision were made and was affirmed by the Oregon State Legislature and Oregon

State Governor in HB 4040 (2016) which underscored the commitment of the state to assume greater responsibility for the management and protection of wolves.

It is evident that the ESA has fulfilled its mandate in facilitating the recovery of the grey wolf, paving the way for successful state-led conservation efforts. Now with stable wolf populations and comprehensive management plans in place, it is time to transition authority and responsibility for wolf management solely to the states. By delisting the grey wolf we can acknowledge the achievements of both the ESA and state conservation efforts while ensuring the continued conservation and sustainable management of this iconic species.

Considering these developments, I urge you to consider the overwhelming evidence supporting the delisting of the grey wolf and to prioritize the transfer of authority to state agencies for the management and protection of this species. We must recognize the recovery of the grey wolf population in the lower 48 otherwise Federal ESA recovery loses its legitimacy.

Respectfully,

Bobby Levy House District 58

Bill Hansell Senate District 29

David Brock Smith Senate District 1

Lynn Findley Senate District 30 Tim Knopp

Senate District 27

Boomer Wright House District 9

Court Boice
House District 1

Jeff Helfrich House District 52 Mark Owens House District 60

Cyrus Javadi House District 32

Emily McIntire House District 56

Anna Scharf House District 23

E. Werner Reschke House District 55

Christina Witham
Baker County Commissioner

Rill

Rick Lewis House District 18

Christine Godnin

Christine Goodwin House District 4

Virgle Osborne House District 2

Ed Diehl House District 17

Dwayne Yunker House District 3

Vicki Breese-Iverson House District 5

Shane Alderson
Baker County Commissioner

Web Breeze lungon

Brun a. Winhels

Bruce Nichols

Baker County Commissioner

Todd Nash

Wallowa County Commissioner

Susan Roberts

Wallowa County Commissioner

Ich Hilland

John Hillock

Wallowa County Commissioner

Paul Anderes

Jul Adeiss

Union County Commissioner

Matt Scarfo

Union County Commissioner

Donna Buncas

Donna Beverage

Union County Commissioner

Dan Dorran

Umatilla County Commissioner

John Shafer

Umatilla County Commissioner

Celinda A. Sinnons

Cindy Timmons

Umatilla County Commissioner

Derrick DeGroot

Klamath County Commissioner

Patti Adair

Deschutes County Commissioner

John Rowell

Grant County Commissioner

John A Rowell

Roy Drago Jr.

Morrow County Commissioner

CC:

Chairman Bruce Westerman, Arkansas 4th District

Congressman Doug Lambon, Colorado 5th District

Congressman Rob Wittman, Virginia 1st District

Congressman Tom McClintock, California 5th District

Congressman Paul Gosar, Arizona 9th District

Congressman Garret Graves, Louisiana 6th District

Congresswoman Amata Coleman Radewagen, America Samoa At-Large

Congressman Doug LaMalfa, California 1st District

Congressman Daniel Webster, Florida 11th District

Congresswoman Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon, Puerto Rico At-Large

Congressman Russ Fulcher, Idaho 1st District

Congressman Pete Stauber, Minnesota 8th District

Congressman John Curtis, Utah 3rd District

Congressman Tom Tiffany, Wisconsin 7th District

Congressman Jerry Carl, Alabama 1st District

Congressman Matt Rosendale, Montana 2nd District

Congresswoman Lauren Boebert, Colorado 3rd District

Congressman Cliff Bentz, Oregon 2nd District

Congresswoman Jen Kiggans, Virginia 2nd District

Congressman Jim Moylan, Guam At-Large

Congressman Wesley Hunt, Texas 38th District

Congressman Mike Collins, Georgia 10th District

Congresswoman Anna Paulina Luna, Florida 13th District

Congressman John Duarte, California 13th District

Congresswoman Harriet Hageman, Wyoming At-Large

Congressman Raul Grijalva, Arizona 7th District

Congresswoman Grace Napolitano, California 31st District

Congressman Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Northern Mariana Islands At-Large

Congressman Jared Huffman, California 2nd District

Congressman Ruben Gallego, Arizona 3rd District

Congressman Joe Neguse, Colorado 2nd District

Congressman Mike Levin, California 49th District

Congresswoman Katie Porter, California 47th District

Congresswoman Teresa Leger Fernandez, New Mexico 3rd District

Congresswoman Melanie Stansbury, New Mexico 1st District

Congresswoman Mary Peltola, Alaska At-Large

Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, New York 14th District

Congressman Kevin Mullin, California 15th District

Congresswoman Val Hoyle, Oregon 4th District

Congresswoman Sydney Kamlager-Dove, California 37th District

Congressman Seth Magaziner, Rhode Island 2nd District

Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez, New York 7th District

Congressman Ed Case, Hawaii 1st District

Congresswoman Debbie Dingell, Michigan 6th District

Congresswoman Susie Lee, Nevada 3rd District

Senator Jeff Merkley, U.S. Senator of Oregon

Senator Ron Wyden, U.S. Senator of Oregon

Governor Tina Kotek, Office of the Governor

Geoff Huntington, Senior Natural Resources Advisor

Debbie Colbert, Director Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife