

Oregon Senate Republicans

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 14, 2020 Contact: Kate Gillem kate.gillem@oregonlegislature.gov 503-931-4529

Senate Republican Leader Statement on 28 Oregon Counties Approved to Reopen

SALEM, Ore. – Today, 28 Oregon counties have met prerequisites to reopen in Phase 1, beginning May 15.

Senate Republican Leader Fred Girod (R-Stayton) issued the following statement:

"The 28 counties that have been approved, and those that are waiting, have experienced devastating damages to their local economies as they've waited weeks to reopen and get people back to work. The 21-day waiting period to get to Phase 2 is concerning because Oregonians have already proven their commitment to keep one another safe, and I hope it doesn't hurt progress as these counties move forward."

Counties approved for reopening in Phase 1: Baker, Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Sherman, Tillamook, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Wheeler and Yamhill

Counties under review: Jefferson, Umatilla and Morrow

Counties that do not qualify: Marion and Polk

Counties that have not applied to reopen: Multnomah, Washington and Clackamas