

February 5, 2024

## **Via Electronic Mail**

The Honorable Greg Abbott Office of the Governor 1100 San Jacinto Austin, Texas 78701

Governor Abbott,

President Biden and the U.S. Senate have left Americans and our country vulnerable to rampant illegal immigration pouring across the Southern border. Rather than enforcing existing laws and securing the border, the Biden Administration has attacked and sued the State of Texas. Texas has stepped up to protect American citizens from these historic levels of illegal immigrants to try to curb the flow of deadly drugs like fentanyl from coming across our border and into the veins of Oregonians.

States like Oregon are losing Americans everyday due to fentanyl overdoses funneling into the country. Democrat leaders in Oregon refuse to wage war on drug dealers, traffickers, and secure our borders from illegal invasion. We applaud your efforts to help secure our nation's Southern border.

We stand in solidarity with you, Governor Abbott, and the State of Texas in utilizing every tool and strategy to secure the border. We do it in part because the Biden Administration refuses to enforce immigration laws already on the books and is illegally allowing mass parole across America of migrants who entered our country illegally.

The authors of the United States Constitution made clear that in times like this, states have a right to self-defense. We are a nation of laws and *legal* immigration, not open borders and lawlessness.

We urge you to keep the faith and know Oregon Republicans support you.

Respectfully,

Senator David Brock Smith

District 1

Senator Tim Knopp

Republican Leader

**Senator Suzanne Weber** 

Suzanne Weber

District 16

**Senator Fred Girod** 

District 9

Senator Daniel Bonham

District 26



**Representative Court Boice** 

District 1

**Representative Virgle Osborne** 

District 2

**Representative Christine Goodwin** 

Christinespodwa

District 4

**Representative Jami Cate** 

District 11

**Representative Rick Lewis** 

District 18

**Representative Cyrus Javadi** 

District 32

**Representative Emily McIntire** 

District 56

**Representative Greg Smith** 

District 57

**Representative Bobby Levy** 

District 58

**Representative Vikki Breese Iverson** 

Vilen Breeze lungon

District 59

**Chairman Justin Hwang** 

**Oregon Republican Party**