Sign In

Legislator PhotoSenator Sara Gelser Blouin​

Democrat - District 8 - Corvallis, Albany, Tangent, Adair Village, South Salem and unincorporated parts of Linn, Benton and Marion Counties


Capitol Phone: 503-986-1708
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, S-211, Salem, Oregon 97301


Family First Implementation and Policy Work Group


Under the leadership of the Senate Human Services Committee, a work group is being established to address policy, budget and communication needs related to the implementation of new federal legislation championed by our Senator, Ron Wyden.

The federal Family First Prevention Services Act (Family First) passed in February 2018. Family First makes substantial changes to federal financing of child welfare and has significant implications for the structure of the Oregon Child Welfare Program. These changes will take effect October 1, 2019. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is currently drafting regulations, which will be issued October 1, 2018.


Work Group Meetings

Location: Oregon State Capitol, 900 Court St. NE, Salem, OR 97301

Conference: 888-278-0296, Code: 704-9786

2019 Meetings

January 18, 2019:

August 14, 2019:

September 19, 2019 from 1:30pm to 4:00pm in Room 350

October 2, 2019 from 1:30pm to 4:00pm in Room 343

November 6, 2019 from 1:30pm to 4:00pm in Room 343


2018 Meetings

May 9, 2018:

June 6, 2018:

July 24, 2018:

August 24, 2018:

September 20, 2018:

October 23, 2018:

November 30, 2018:

The public is invited to participate in these meetings. This workgroup will be staffed by Jamie Hinsz, Analyst in the Legislative Policy and Research Office. Please contact her at 503-986-1507 or with any questions.

OFYC 2018 Recommendations8/21/2018 4:02 PM 
Family First Committee Report8/9/2018 4:18 PM 
Family First Act5/8/2018 9:04 AM 
Senator Sara Gelser, ChairSenate District 8 
Senator Dallas HeardSenate District 1 
Senator Elizabeth Steiner HaywardSenator District 17 
Representative Tiffiny MitchellHouse District 32 
Representative Tawna SanchezHouse District 43 
Representative Duane StarkHouse District 4 
Bruce BakerDepartment of Human Services 
Alexis BaskaOregon Foster Youth Connection 
Royce BowlinOregon Alliance of Children's Programs 
Macy BretzOregon Foster Youth Connection 
Belit BurkeDepartment of Human Services 
Cara CopelandOregon Association of Relief Nurseries 
Kristen P. FarnworthOregon Judicial Department 
Joshua GravesCatholic Community Services 
Andrew GroverYouth Villages 
Chelsea HolcombOregon Health Authority 
Marissa JohnsonFoster Homes of Healing 
Rosa KleinOffice of Oregon Governor Kate Brown 
Dana LenoConfederated Tribes of Grand Ronde 
Bobby MartinHealth Share of Oregon 
Leola McKenzieJuvenile Court Improvement Program 
Jana McLellanDepartment of Human Services 
Remmal NivensDepartment of Human Services 
Kristi PetiteConfederated Tribes of Grand Ronde 
Kari RieckCourt Appointed Special Advocates 
Jessica Lloyd RogersOregon Foster Parent Association 
Hannah RoyalOregon Foster Youth Connection 
Kim ScottTrillium Family Services 
Leslie SuttonOregon Council on Developmental Disabilities 
Alex TrotterDepartment of Human Services 
The Honorable Nan WallerOregon Judicial Department