Sign In
Lori L. Brocker 
Oregon State Capitol
900 Court Street NE, Room 233
Salem, OR 97301
(503) 986-1851

The Secretary of the Senate is an officer of the Senate and serves as the Senate's chief legislative officer and parliamentarian. The Secretary is elected by the 30 members of the Senate to a two-year term.

The Secretary of the Senate's Office is responsible for coordinating and documenting the actions of the Senate. In accordance with Senate Rules, the Secretary of the Senate's Office prepares the daily agenda, distributes information about measures throughout session, and keeps the Senate Journal. In addition, the Secretary of the Senate's Office assists the Senate with the confirmation of executive appointments. ​


The 81st Oregon Legislative Assembly organized on January 11, 2021.

The 2021 Regular Session of the Oregon Sena​te began on  January 19 and adjourned sine die on June 26.  Please see the following calendar for important dates.

2021 Interim Calendar is available by clicking here.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 25, establishing rules of proceeding and deadlines, was adopted on June 26, 2021.​


​​The Senate is governed by rules adopted by the members of the Senate. ​

On January 11, 2021, the Ru​les of the Senate for the 81st Legislative Assembly were adopted.  

Amendments were adopted on June 25, 2021.  The amended Senate Rules of the 81st Assembly are available by clicking here.

Each Senate committee is governed by rules adopted by members of the committee.


Certain rules of protocol and decorum guide the Senate's business during session.  Please see the Senate's Guide to Protocol and Decorum.


​​The Senate welcomes Honorary Pages from throughout Oregon to assist the Senate during session.  The Senate's Honorary Page Program is available to those 12-years-old and over and operates during the long legislative session in odd-numbered years. ​

Contact the Office of the Secretary of the Sen​ate for more information on participation in the Senate Honorary Page Program.


​There are many words and terms unique to the legislative process.  To learn more, please visit the Legislative Glossary.

In addition, for those learning about the legislative​ process in Oregon, please see our short video explaining the basics.


Note: Title of "Chief Clerk of the Senate" was changed to "Secretary of the Senate" in 1963.

George Carpenter1858 
E. E. Haft1859 
J. C. Peebles1860 
Samuel A. Clarke1862 
E.P. Henderson1864 
J.C. Peebles1865-1866 
J.M. Simpson1868 
Sylvester Simpson1870-1878 
J.C. Peebles1880 
Austin Mires1882 
J. W. Strange1885 
E. G. Hursh1887 
John H. Shupe1889 
O. P. Miller1891-1893 
Walter Sinclair1895 
S. L. Moorhead1897-1905 
Frank S. Grant1907 
William H. Barry1909 
E. H. Flagg1911 
John W. Cochran1913-1919 
John P. Hunt1921-1937† 
Elizabeth J. Glatt1937* 
Zylpha-Zell Burns1939-1959 
Carl H. Cover1959 (1 month) 
Meda Cole1959-1963 
Dale Henderson1963 
Cecil L. Edwards1965-1975 
Maribel Cadmus1977-1987 
Donna Merrill1989-1993 
Judy M. Hall1995-2011 
Robert L. Taylor2011-2014 
Cynthia Johnston2014* 
Lori L. Brocker2014-Present 

*  Acting secretary/clerk. 
†  Died in office, February 18, 1937.

​Oregon S​tate Capitol Foundation​Link to the organization dedicated to preserving and enhancing the Oregon State Capitol. 
American Society of Legislative Clerks and SecretariesLink to the organization of state legislative parliamentarians 
National Conference of State Legislatures Link to the organization of state lawmakers and support staff 

 The Secretary of the Senate's Office is the guardian of Oregon's historic Senate Chamber.  The Senate Chamber is a unique treasure within Oregon's State Capitol.  For those interested in Oregon's historic Senate Chamber, please see the following:

Current Senate Seating Chart​

Senate Chamber Photo Gallery

Capitol Names: Historic Names Inscribed Above the Senate Cha​mber

Video: Tour of the Senate Chamber


This photo depicts the main entrance to the Senate Chamber.

The double doors outside the Senate are closed 15 minutes prior to convening and opened 15 minutes after adjournment.

The doors remain closed while the Senate is in session. An exception is upon Sine Die adjournment, when the Senate and House typically open their chamber doors so the President and Speaker can drop the final gavel simultaneously.           


The record of Senate action on the Governor's executive appointments and reappointments to boards, commissions and other positions requiring Senate confirmation.​​

2021 Session Executive Appointments 
September 25, 2020 Interim Executive Appointments 
2020 Session Executive Appointments 
2020 First Special Session Executive Appointments​ 
2019 Session Executive Appointments 
November 20, 2019 Interim Executive Appointments​ 
September 18, 2019 Interim Executive Appointments 
2018 Session Executive Appointments 
May 23, 2018 Interim Executive Appointments 
September 26, 2018 Interim Executive Appointments 
December 14, 2018 Interim Executive Appointments 
2017-2018 Interim Executive Appointments 
2017 Session Executive Appointments 
2016 Session Executive Appointments 
2015-2016 Interim Executive Appointments 
2015 Session Executive Appointments 
2014 Session Executive Appointments 
2013-2014 Interim Executive Appointments 
2013 Session Executive Appointments 
2011-2012 Interim Executive Appointments 
2009-2010 Interim Executive Appointments 
2007-2008 Interim Executive Appointments 

Britton Taylor

Deputy Secretary of the Senate

James Goulding

Publications Coordinator

Glenda Nabors

Assistant to the Secretary

Suellen Scott

Measure Liaison



Oregon Legislative Information System

​Streamlined access to current and past legislative sessions.

Under Senate Rule 14.15, Senators may participate in officially sanctioned fact-finding missions to learn about important issues.

Please see the Fact-Finding Mission Application & Approval Form.

The following documents include information about approved fact-finding missions:​

Rex Hill Winery Tour 2021 
Fujian-Oregon Relations and Economic Developement 2019 
Idaho Power Dams Tour 2019 
OFRI Forest Restoration Tour 2019 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2019 
AG-PAC Forestry Tour 2018 
Mass Timber Buildings Tour 2018 
NCSL Israel Study Tour 2018 
Northeastern Oregon Ag Blast Tour 2018 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2018 
Panel Discussion on Cap & Trade 2018 
Social Determinants of Health & Social Programs 2018 
Climate Policy Fact-Finding 2017 
Mass Timber Buildings Tour 2017 
APEC Ag and Forestry Tour 2016 
Livestock Production Tour 2016 
OFRI Timber Harvest Tour 2016 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2016 
Oregon Legislative Trade Mission to China 2016 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2015 
Oregon Legislative Trade Mission to China 2015 
Internet State Policy Conference 2014 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2014 
Silvies Valley Ranch 2014 
Tour of Port of Coos Bay 2014 
Oregon Coast Economic Summit 2013 
Southern Oregon Fire Season 2013 Tour 
Water & Wolf Tour in Wallowa County 2013 

2017, 2018, 2018 Special Session Journal 
2002 Special Sessions Journal 
2019, 2020, 2020 Special Sessions, & 2019-2020 Interim Executive Appointments Journal​ 
2003 Journal 
2005 Journal 
​2011-2012 Journal 
2013-2014 & 2017-2018 Executive Appointments Omnibus Journal 
2009-2010 Journal 
2008 Special Session Journal 
2006, 2012 Special Sessions & 2007-2012 Executive Appointments Omnibus Journal 
2007 Journal 
2013-2014 Journal​ 
2015-2016 Journal 
2012 Special Session Journal