Sign In

Oregon State Legislature burns-paiute-tribe

CIS Navigation
Biography
Edit

​Burns Paiute Tribe




The Burns Paiute Tribe is primarily comprised of the Wadatika Band of Northern Paiute people, but holds lineal family ties to all other Northern Paiute Bands in Oregon and Beyond. The Burns Paiute's Ancestors' carried from generation to generation the oral history of lives lived since time immemorial. The beginning of our world was a time when there was no land, only water. The other four legged and winged beings helped our people acquire our traditional language in a time when land was first created.

Since then, our people, living by a traditional understanding of existence, have practiced a reciprocal relationship with all others inhabiting our traditional lands. Every year our families predictably traveled to seasonally inhabited locations within our homelands to continue our relationships with others in our ecosystem. Our Ancestors were the last truly free Indigenous people in Oregon prior to being forcibly marched in the winter of 1879 from our lands to Ft. Simcoe, Washington. 

Our surviving Ancestors were held in exile for half a decade at Ft. Simcoe, prior to being allowed to leave. Those who returned home established themselves in a changing world and planted the seeds for the successful adjudication of a settlement claim for the loss of our Malheur Reservation. Our historic Tribe obtained federal recognition in 1969.

Today, our community, as a sovereign nation, is working to revitalize our lands, our language, and our traditional culture as we also navigate the rigors of the 21st century. We are still here as Creator intended and look forward to passing along our oral and written histories for many generations to come.

Address
100 Pasigo St., Burns, OR 97720

Discover More

Official Website
Oregon Blue Book​
Tu' Kwa Hone​



 
Tribal Contacts
Edit

​BURNS PAIUTE TRIBE​

100 Pasigo Street, Burns, Oregon 97720
P: 541-573-8016 / F: 541-573-2323
http://www.burnspaiute-nsn.gov/

TRIBAL CHAIRWOMAN
Diane Teeman
P: 541-573-8096
E: dlteeman.burns.paiute@gmail.com

TRIBAL COUNCIL VICE CHAIR
Gabe First Raised
E: Gabe.firstraised@burnspaiute-nsn.gov 

TRIBAL COUNCIL SECRETARY-TREASURER
Tracy Kennedy
P: 541-413-9910
E: tracy.kennedy@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

TRIBAL COUNCIL SERGEANT OF ARMS
Rachel Hoffman
​E: rachel.hoffman@burnspaiute-nsn.gov 

TRIBAL COUNCIL MEMBER
Charisse Soucie
E: charisse.soucie@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

TRIBAL COUNCIL MEMBER
Eric Hawley
E: eric.hawley@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

TRIBAL COUNCIL MEMBER
Dean Adams
E: dean.adams@burnspaiute-nsn.gov​

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE/
GRANTS ADMINISTRATOR
Tammi Holliday
P: 541-573-8012
E: Tammi.holliday@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

ADMINSTRATIVE ASSISTANT
Beverly Beers
P: 541-573-8016 / F: 541-573-2323
E: Beverly.beers@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

ALCOHOL & DRUG PROGRAM COORDINATOR 
Joellen Billington
P: 541-589-2380
E: Joellen.billington@burnspaiute-nsn.gov 

TRIBAL POLICE
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Burns Agency
P: 360-726-6300

CULTURAL RESOURCES
Diane Teeman 
P: 541-413-9910
E: dlteeman.burns.paiute@gmail.com​

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGER
Jason Fenton
P: 541-589-2362
E: jason.fenton@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

FINANCE DIRECTOR
Clay Guetling
P: 541-573-8017
E: Clay.guetling@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

GENERAL MANAGER
Maunka Morgan
E: maunka.morgan@burnspaiute-nsn.gov​ 

HEALTH SERVICES DIRECTOR
Twila Teeman
P: 541-573-8049 / F: 541-573-4217
E: twila.teeman@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

HOUSING DIRECTOR
Andreas C. Tziolas
P: 907-301-2160
E: andreas.tziolas@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER
Jordon Bennett
P: 541-573-8013 / C: 541-589-1709
E: Jordon.bennett@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

NATURAL RESOURCES
Trey Wall, Director
P: 541-573-8021​
E: trey.wall@burnspaiute-nsn.gov  

PAYROLL AND ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE
Tammy Holliday
P: 541-573-8012 / F: 541-573-2323
E: Tammy.holliday@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

SOCIAL SERVICES DIRECTOR 
Karen Hunsucker
P: 541-573-8004
E: karen.hunsucker@burnspaiute-nsn.gov​

TRIBAL PLANNER
Kenton Dick
P: 541-573-5622 / F: 541-573-2323 /C: 54-589-0098
E: kenton.dick@burnspaiute-nsn.gov

GENERAL CONTACT
bpt.council@gmail.com
P: 541-573-1910 / F: 541-573-2012​