Oregon encourages citizen participation by having the most convenient voting system in the country. Consistently ranking as one of the
national leaders in voter turnout, Oregon's highly successful vote-by-mail system puts ballots in the hands of citizens weeks before an election, giving them ample time to research issues and candidates.
Residents of Oregon who are at least 16 years old, are citizens of the United States, and hold an Oregon driver's license or state ID card may register to vote. New legislation passed in 2015 will allow you to register automatically at the time you receive or renew your drivers license. However, if you are not yet 18 years of age, you will not receive a ballot until an election occurs on or after your 18th birthday.
Register online using MyVote.
Learn more about voter registration or
print a registration form [pdf] on the Secretary of State website.
Register to vote at your county registration office.
Find out about absentee voting.
The Capitol History Gateway is a project of the Oregon State Capitol Foundation.Click here for more information about the Foundation.
For more information, call Visitor Services at 503-986-1388.
In 2015, Governor Kate Brown signed into law a motor-voter bill, which allows Oregonians who are at least 17 years old to automatically register to vote when they are issued or renew an Oregon drivers license or state ID card.
Efforts of women to gain the right to vote failed in Oregon five times before passing in 1912